Ratings based on 1,246 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: Clean, spacious.
Cons: Missing soap in the shower/ bath tube.
Clean spacious room. Nice view to the pool in the garden. Ok continental breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom o

Well located hotel in Palm Springs

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Stayed here for a week, comfortable room near the pool. Reasonable free breakfast but easier to take it back to room. Only criticism was not enough chairs. Excellent Billy Reids restaurant opposite recommended by hotel staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, B.C. Canada

Two pools available - adult and family.

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: The pools, spa, breakfast and friendly staff
Cons: some of the furnishings in the room and lobby area could be updated
Location: good location - restaurants near by - Buz the shuttle bus was excellent and free
Found it very pleasant - reason we would not recommend is other people had problems with their rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SF, CA

Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: The staff members were all very pleasant and helpful.
Cons: Some repairs and updates are needed to make this facility a 3-star resort.
Location: Billy Reed's, Cowboy Way BBQ and Rick's Diner are all within a block. All have good food; Rick's has great old Hollywood photos.
This appears to have been a 3 or 4 star resort at one time, and may have been recently purchased as the name Shilo is still on the bottom of one of the pools. It is in need of some updating or remodeling (for example, the steam room and sauna were inoperable during my recent stay). Regardless, the staff is courteous and helpful, and the rooms are clean and spacious. The continental breakfast is no frills but ample and a bargain throw-in, considering the cost per night for a standard room. The hot tubs are nice enough, and the workout/exercise facility is small but clean and functional. As it stands this is a nice, family and budget friendly location, but with just minor adjustments could be much more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom houston

Great place.

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Great staff, made the mistake of booking at the Palm Springs inn. This hotel is great! Love the staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Holding my money hostage!

Posted Jan 6, 2015
I had a really pleasant experience up until checkout. Hotel was fine. Room was clean. I got a late checkout no problem, and the room rate was reasonable. They told me they would charge $100 dollars for incidentals, but they would give it back after I checked out. Ok, fine. But 3 to 5 days after? Really? I don't see why they have to hold my money hostage like that.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Orange County, CA

Under expectations

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Not sure how other people gave such great reviews! This is an old Shilo Inn which probably hadn't been renovated in a long time. Just the reception area is nice and the receptionist. The room was pathetic, dirty carpet that you did not want to touch it even in socks. Long black hairs from previous customers still hanging on the upholstery of chairs! Uncomfortable pillows. No individual Shampoo/ lotion etc... In the dispenser for lotion was probably shampoo. Definitely not lotion. Only decaf coffee by the coffee maker... Guess I should stop here. I'm sure you can spend your money better somewhere else! :(
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

An older hotel that was great in the 50's.

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Close to Air Port And had character.
Cons: Bathtubs, TV, Breakfast area,
Location: Good restaurant across the street, close to airport.
Bath tub was Not Clean. NO butter or Mrg for toast and only 1 Pkg. Of jam for toast or bagels. A lot of people looking for places to sit and eat.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Location and grounds.
Only one night. Good location. Room was fair. Grounds were very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom confidential

Overall good hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Overall good hotel. Very neat. Bathroom needs more soap/shower gel though.