Ratings based on 229 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Time Capsule

Posted May 24, 2015
A fun, throwback Palms Springs experience. The hotel, bar and restaurant are a throwback to the 50s and 60s. Things have been updated enough to be clean and comfortable but retain the charm of yesteryear. Don't come here if you are looking for upscale resort amenities. Do come here if you are into the cozy comfort and convenience of a traditional, small, intown Palm Springs boutique hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Downtown Palm Springs

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: Character, and staff.
Cons: Could be modernized.
Location: As above.
Excellent location for access to downtown. Interesting history. Very good food at Melvyn's Restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hidden Retro Gem

Posted May 4, 2015
I hesitated to write a review on this hotel in fear that if word gets out on what a fabulous find it is that it may become difficult to get it. The old time feel and nostalgic charm is from a day before my time, but I felt like I was reliving a different era. You want to dress to impress at this fine establishment and live it up. The restaurant "Melvyns" was magnificent from the bar to the dining room and the perfect spot for any special occasion. The servers definitely take pride in the history and reputation and aim to please. I would recommend this place especially for anyone in their senior years as they will appreciate the nostalgia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newport Beach

Nostalgic and Renowned..

Posted Mar 30, 2015
I grew up in PS and this Inngleside Inn has always been a popular place for Celebrities. I have never stayed because the it has always been out of my budget to do so.. This was my first stay and it was fantastic. It was a trip down memory lane and worth every penny. I will be back..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Old school Hollywood near downtown Palm Springs

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: it's old school...great bar / restaurant in the Inn (Melvyn's)
Cons: fixing the closet doors
Location: near downtown palm springs for restaurants and bars and shopping
great place to relax and be near all attractions in Palm Springs. liked the welcome basket as well
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver

Blast from the Past

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Ambiance.
Cons: Nothing,
Location: It is in the middle of Palm Springs - close to everything! We went to the Indian Wells Tennis Tournament and Joshua Tree National Park.
This hotel is still owned and operated by the same guy who entertained Frank Sinatra, Marilyn Monroe and many entertainers throughout the years. Ingleside was a hot spot back then and is a wonderful place to go to today. The waiters have been there 40+ years and have a million stories. So do the patrons! It is like being in a 1940s movie - absolutely wonderful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Riding on Ambiance

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Overall I would give this hotel a 3.5 if the rating system let me, but I think it also very much depends on which room you get. The location is outstanding, it is totally peaceful even though you are just a couple of blocks from all the action. Also outstanding is the pool area, quiet, part shade part sun. And clearly there is lots of old Palm Springs charm and history to this hotel, so if you're looking for that you will love this place. However, I would recommend you spring for the upgrade to one of the suites that has its own patio. We initially had one of the rooms in the courtyard, and although the courtyard itself is beautiful & that was supposed to be a 'deluxe king' unit, really I'd have to say it was bordering on shabby. Nevertheless we would have been ok with it but actually the bed was so saggy we had no choice but to ask to be moved. I would give that room a 3 at best. But, they promptly moved us to one of the suites in the back of the hotel with its own little patio/walled-off courtyard, and that was really nice & I would give it a solid 4. I would give the staff overall a 4 as well, they were clearly willing to do what it takes to rectify the issue. I would stay there again depending on the price for one of those suites in the back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old noisy room, but excellent hotel staff.

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Staff and grounds.
Cons: Rooms.
Location: Within close proximity to shops and restaurants on the main street.
We booked the standard room, queen bed (room 133). The room was adjacent to the restaurant several doors down from the reception area. We had the windows open at first. But we could hear the restaurant patrons talking (and smoking) while waiting for the valet at the bench. Due to the noise and smell, we shut the window. It soon became stuffy and hot. We put on the air conditioning unit. It sounded like a jet airplane engine. We turned it off and tried to sleep in the heat. The interior is tired, not quaint and overpriced for what you receive. I do have to say the pool area was lovely. We bought a bottle of champagne and enjoyed a drink by the pool. The hotel staff was amazing--responsive, nice and helpful. Parking was included, as was wifi (although it was not the best). They provided us with a welcome platter upon arrival and we enjoyed the snacks while relaxing at the pool. The location is in close proximity to local restaurants, which we preferred to Melvyns. I don't know about the other rooms villas, but I would certainly upgrade if you are considering the hotel as we were not happy with the room provided.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

$276 a night wasn't worth it.

Posted Mar 11, 2015
The condensate cooler was too loud to keep on. The bedside clock-radio alarm went off at 12:Midnight and I had to get up and pull the plug to stop it. The clock ticked so loudly that I had to get up and cover it with a pillow, as it was battery operated. I tried to make coffee in the AM. but it was only colored water, not coffee. The restaurant was average. I'd never stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Harrisonburg, VA

Quiet, secluded and near eveything

Posted Mar 5, 2015
You never know what to expect from an older hotel like this one. I've seen some bad ones, but this was a great experience. Check in was easy and there was both a complimentary gift basket of fruit and goodies waiting in the room and a mini fridge stocked with complimentary drinks, which they replenished for no charge. My only issue was I could not get a wi-fi signal at all in room 139. I think the walls may be too thick. If I walked outside about 15 feet closer to the lobby the signal was great. In the end, the thick walls made for a quiet room, and it didn't hurt me any to not have Internet access for a couple of evenings. Lots of shopping and restaurants just a few blocks away, and Melvyn's restaurant at the hotel itself is first rate. Definitely recommended.