Ratings based on 601 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Cleanliness was not as it should have been.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: I liked the location, as it was very central, but that was all. I certainly would not want to stay at the Marquis Villas again, and not recommend it.
Cons: Everything could and should be improved.
Location: Already mentioned , the location was perfect for getting around from A to B. I don't drive, so relied on public transport.Good shops and restaurants.
My room was not cleaned every day. With a two week stay, my bed linen should have been changed at least every other day, but mine was only changed twice during my whole stay. This is not good enough, and I would have expected my bins to have been emptied again, on a daily basis. Again, these were only emptied maybe once every other day. The carpets in the lounge and bedroom were very shabby, and also, very stained. I do not expect at this sort of hotel, these sort of conditions. Also, when I checked out, I was charged an extra $130 for a thirteen night stay resort fee. This is totally unacceptable, as nowhere was this extra fee mentioned any where online when I booked this hoilday. It turned out to be very expensive, and totally unneccessary. I was very angry about this, but there was no alternative, so had to pay. I want to know why!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
We regret to hear about your stay at Marquis Villas Resort. Our guests receive a full cleaning once a week, but have the ability to request additional housekeeping services. Trash pick-up can also be scheduled with our front desk. All guests are charged a resort fee, which covers underground parking, recreation facilities, and high speed internet access. The resort is making strides in providing updates as needed. We hope you will give us an opportunity to provide you with a better stay next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2014
We had a great experience, loved everything about it,I have no complaints at all. Swimming pool was great for my daughter, the Jacuzzi was great for my husband's back, everything is close by. If you need anything you call for service and they come to bring you anything you need.I would recommend it and I'll be coming back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Oldie but goodie

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Its family atmosphere.
Cons: well the place needs a face lift all around except the grounds. The rooms could use new carpet, new furniture.
Location: It is near everything.
This property is in need of a facelift, but so are many of the old hotels in PS. Despite its age this property still provided a good escape from LA, with a huge pool deck and quiet area (sans the kids), this is definitely a family place so if you want pool party this is not the place to be. If you want a place to lay out and read, dip in the pool and relax (if you can block the many cannon balls from the kids) this would be your place. The location is great, you're able to walk everywhere and if you want a pool party you can walk directly across the street to Hard Rock hotel. Overall this was acceptable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2014
The hotel Staff was great. Hotel furniture was stained. The carpet was stained and ripped the bathroom was clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, California

"Summer Rain"

Posted Aug 4, 2014
A birthday w/end get away booked in advance, and I wasn't expecting Thunder Storms, flash flooding, and the Humidity of the deep south of Louisiana! However the indoors of the Marquis was a pleasurable experience. Walking distance to the Regal Cinema, restaurants, bars, and there was even a convenient store (Circle K) on the corner right across from the Hotel. The kitchen was extremely outdated but we didn't have plans on cooking. Nice resort !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orange county, calif.

Nice hotel close to casino

Posted Jul 31, 2014
My stay was good, except for the alarm system went off three times and woke us up twice, called front desk but no one answered. Talked with them following day and said it was nothing to worry about. The following night same thing happened😠😠😠. It would have been nice if they answered instead of going down hallways and checking for my self. The front desk people who I spoke with were A
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from red deer alberta

great hotel my wife loves it

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: location and staff.
Cons: nothing
Location: walk around
3rd time staying there. love it.geat pool, large room clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glendale ca

Hotel is in the center of the Main Street

Posted Jul 17, 2014
I like it and planning to go back next month . Staff is helpful and friendly . I like my room everything was good. The building is old but clean . The parking lot is underground which is very good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from La Habra, CA

Close to main strip

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Location and size of room
Cons: More comfortable living room furniture
Location: 1/2 block up from main strip (Palm Springs Canyon) Great Deli around the corner Casino 1 block away
Big rooms (minimal furniture though - small couch) Hugh double bathroom and tub - combination Lots of closet space 1/2 Block to Aga caliante Spa Casino Great Deli around the corner/ Movie theater 1 block away Great pool/spa and kiddie pool-No restaurant or pool service at resort Quiet and relaxing
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

nice location!

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: I like the size of the room and the location of the hotel...
Cons: I would love to see the rooms get updates to nice tile of laminate flooring instead of the dirty, old carpet....change the beds
Location: walk to downtown and walk to casino ....
I came back to stay in Marquis once again after two years, because last time I went home with such a satisfaction from my stay, but sadly it wasn't close to my previous experience ......the rooms flooring was horrible the carpet was so nasty, the room smelled so bad I hated it ......I love the hotel for the room size and the location so i'll go back there when the rooms are remodeled and clean.....
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
We would like to sincerely apologize that this guest experience was not parallel to your past stays where we did deliver on our commitment to excellence. We currently have an aggressive carpet cleaning program in place where we actually take rooms out of service when deep cleaning is necessary. As we Love to Say Yes® at all times, we would have been more than happy to assist you with any cleaning needs. Although, the furniture here may be considered dated, we work hard to ensure that each room is equipped with our Diamond standard amenities. Nevertheless, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We thank you for reaching out to us and would be honored to welcome you back during a future stay and provide you with a flawless experience as intended.