Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: Pretty
Cons: spices and pan spray and things like that should be in the kitchen
Location: shopping was nice. I liked palm desert probably more than palm springs.
My 1 bedroom apartment was very nice and the kitchen was nice. The kitchen didn't have any spices or pan spray for cooking which I guess I am used to from other places so just know that you will have to buy those things.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Lovey Place to Stay

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Almost everything!
Cons: See above "Write about your experience."
Location: Honestly, we pretty much remained on the property . That's how much there is to do on property. Everything is provided for without going off propert
This is a beautiful property. The Villas I accommodations are spacious, well-appointed and very comfortable. In the double-double room (2 beds to a room, not an apartment or suite) the fact that the maids do not clean your dirty dishes, etc. is not clear. First morning, breakfast dishes were left as I left them ~ not cleaned, just with water in them. The 2nd morning's dishes were cleaned by housekeeping and a sponge and small bottle of dish washing liquid was left for me. This should be made clear to guests when checking in. My other complaint is not unique to Marriott. In all hotels/resorts, Housekeeping staff should be trained to clear/delete all alarms set by departing guests on the clock radios. My first morning there I was awakened at 3:20 A.M. by the previous occupant's clock radio alarm. At 3 in the morning in the darkened room, I was not prepared to start resetting the clock radio alarms!!!! Housekeeping Supervisors should be responsible for checking all cleaned rooms of departing guests to make sure that the staff has followed through on this check-list item.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Last minute get away

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Setting is beautiful. Hotel is inviting.
Cons: See above. Also, in this day and age, much of the grass should be replaced. Too much water used.
Location: The Coachella Valley is an old friend to us. There are many things to see and do and the area magazines have good selections and directions.
Check in process was excellent. Quick. Friendly, Very informative. Room (One of the "Villas I" group) - disappointing. Room layout awkward. Dishes/silverware down under the sink/bar. Room lighting more like Motel 6 - yellow and dim and in the wrong places. Shower - wonderful!. Pool area nice, but the music on from 7 am to after dark was loud and not pleasant. (We came for quiet - and this was not.) AC and heating were very good and quiet. It took a little time to figure out the adjustment process. Nice walk to the Hotel for dinner. In the fish place on the north side - food was very expensive. we were placed with a large loud TV and basketball game. We moved to another room and were soon followed by 15 very loud younger adults. The food was not particularly tasty. Our host apologized for it. Soon after going to bed (10 pm), the smoke alarm began chirping - and telling us its battery was low. A phone call to the desk went unanswered. Subsequent visit to desk produced maintenance people after about 45 minutes. The maintenance person was very helpful and quick to repair. General impression - the rooms are inadequately maintenance and not maintained sufficiently often.. A general upgrade would be in order.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom santa barbara

Not worth the money

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Excellent location, spacious rooms and baths
Cons: Staff training, front desk especially and maid service. Room Maintenance.
Location: great location, near all the desired shopping, movies and restaurants.
We planned a two week stay at the resort, one week on a friends time share the second booking through Expedia as she could not obtain two consecutive weeks. We had stayed several times before with mostly good experiences. This time the hotel did not alert guests to the massive tree trimmings taking place. On some days the buzz saws and trucks began at 7 am and lasted all morning. So much for a peaceful stay. I did complain to the front desk but the woman was not terrible concerned, blamed it on Marriott. Excuse me, are you not a Marriott employee? She said someone would get back to me, no one did. The room was very shabby, seriously broken dresser draw, chipped paint on furniture and kitchen cupboards, loose handle on the fridge door, broken light switch and it all looked pretty dirty. We watch a lot of tv, it is the way we relax in the evenings but the tv guide on the screen never matched up to what was actually playing. When I checked out, the desk person never asked how I enjoyed my stay, which is standard practice. I volunteered all of my complaints but he never even said he was sorry to hear all of this, only put on a sad face and looked at me. It is a good buy with a time share or special promotion but to pay the rate card rates, even with the Expedia special pricing is not worth the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, AB, Canada

Perfect for a family!

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Our recent stay was great. We asked for a room that was close to one of the larger pools which really made getting around easier. The resort is very large but it's really well kept and quite scenic. The weekly access to the J.W. Marriott pool was really nice. If you have dinner that the J.W. Make sure you take the Gondola, it's really neat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2014
It was nice a quiet facility. The only down side was the lack of parking. We had to search for placed to park every night. We were not told until we complained that we could park on the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Dianefrom Fantastic

Great place to vacate too.

Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was absolutely fantastic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Luciefrom Costa mesa

Fabulous

Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
It waa great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom s

Great getaway

Posted Oct 21, 2014
I've been coming to the desert for 40 years. I love this location. Great value. Close to everything, clean and cimfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Wonderful stay with my family. Many activities !

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Wonderful stay. Super relaxing .. Many pools around the facility. We even participate in a relay to help children's hospital. It was great!