Ratings based on 559 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by SanDiegoFam from San Diego, CA

Don't stay there over a crowded weekend!

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Staff, breakfast buffet
Cons: Better system for the pool area, pool bar drinks awful. chairs in balconies
We stayed here over the Memorial Weekend when the hotel was packed. It pains me to provide a bad review because the hotel staff was very nice and the hotel facilities decent. However, the whole point of our trip was to go on a vacation with our kids where we got couple days to relax, unwind and enjoy the pool. We quickly realized the pool experience would not be a relaxing one. The pool for this hotel is not nearly large enough to serve the full capacity. It was a dog eats dog world out there. People were coming in at 7 am to reserve lounge chairs with towels and going back to sleep. The pool attendants did nothing to enforce the "no reserving lounge chairs" rule. On one day we ended up finding 1 empty chair for the 4 of us and then a lady came 45 minutes later and started screaming at us in front of our kids that it was their chair (they had 5 chairs for a family of 4). The pool attendant sided with this crazy woman because I think he was afraid. Our kids were pretty traumatized by this experience. The next day we had to cancel our outing to Jackinto Mountain tram so we could go early and secure a conflict-free spot at the pool. Also, we selected a hotel/room with a balcony so we could hang out there after our kids go to bed. Unfortunately, there were no chairs on the balcony. Other than these unfortunate incidents, the staff was very nice, the hotel really caters to families with kids so I would not recommend it for a romantic getaway. Despite all this, our kids had fun.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2014 by Tom, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and we so appreciate your kind words about our team. Memorial weekend was indeed a busy time and we are sorry that there were challenges with finding lounge chairs for your family. It sounds like your pool experience during this time did not live up to the experience we strive to provide and we are very sorry about the altercation with another guest. With regards to seating on your guest room deck, we apologize that the chairs were not available. Please know that in the future, if ever there is anything we can provide to make your guest room more comfortable, any one of our front desk ambassadors will do everything they can to assist. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back one day soon so that we can showcase the resort to you at its best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kevin from Diamond Bar

Great hotel!!

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was great!! Food, Room, Bar and the Pool was great!! I will return again. I've stayed at the hotel for business and decided to bring the family and they enjoyed. My kids even told me they liked it better than the MGM pool in Vegas. I'm not sure about that but they loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice long weekend with small children

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a perfect spot for a long weekend with young children. The hotel is very family-friendly with daily kid-friendly activities, and our room was clean and vacuumed every day. Multiple options for dining onsite was also a plus. We went to the pool area only during late afternoon each day which was much quieter but if you're the type who plans to spend the whole day poolside know that it can get very crowded. Hotel staff are very good about preventing guests from saving pool chairs and will remove towels that have been "abandoned" for longer than 15 minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by alina miles from los angeles

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
did not clean the room until 6pm because I think they were full and maybe not enough stuff. The stuff were very nice and helpful, did everything they could to satisfy the gests needs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by amy from corona

you are on parole!

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
About a year ago I gave 5 stars to this hotel and been going there ever since. However this time, my experience at this hotel was horrible. we were told we can bring ice chest to the pool but no alcohols. which was fine with us. However, we were harassed by pool boy 4 times in one afternoon to open up my ice chest to check for alcohols. Every time we told him we only had water and juice for the kids, he wanted us to open it up so that he can check for himself. when we complain to general manager, he offered is a free drink next time we come. I'll NEVER go back to this place again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2014 by Silvano, Hotel Management
We so appreciate your five star rating from previous visits and are very sorry to hear that we fell short during your recent visit. Unfortunately we did not handle the situation correctly as it is our policy not to allow coolers at the pool. We do however have exceptions for medical situations and baby care needs. We understand the disruptive nature of how this was handled and we take full responsibility. We do not want to lose you as our guest and hope that you will reconsider and join us again one day soon for a return visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by The Morriyonts from Calgary

Good Spot

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
All was great. Nice pool area. There was a small mix up in whether the resort fee was included in our Hotels.com package (upon checking the rep said it was, when we checked out another rep said it wasn't), but they still credited us back the internet charge which is included in the resort fee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by EP from Wells Inn R&S

Just a weekend getaway

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Getting to the room was like a maze and far from the reception area. I suggest getting a pool view and not a resort view. Although it was closer to pool elevators and vending. All else was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Emory

Indian Wells best resort for the money

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Room, pool, amenities are all top notch.
Cons: Beds are a little worn and the Cava restaurant is not the best for breakfast but overall a great value.
Location: Wet n' Wild for the kids, Ruth's Chris.
We've stayed at other resorts in the Palm Desert, Indian Wells area and this place is hands down the best value for the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lainey from Long Beach, Ca.

Posted May 11, 2014
The staff at the Esmeralda were particularly accomodating. The sweet gentleman who checked us in listened to my story of frustration about my making reservations at the wrong Esmeralda location and having to "eat" the $270 for the night because I didn't catch it within the cancelation period. I was laughlingly telling him about how this room turned into the most expensive overnight stay because we had to pay for two rooms and he immediately offered to upgrade us and waive a small fee. It was absolutely not required of him but he stepped up to assure that we were not disappointed again. I have noticed this kind of service on other occasions at other Marriott locations and I want to commend the training that allows for this kind of "over and above" care for the customer. I will always recommend this hotel and I left feeling like we were truly taken care of
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jill from California

Posted May 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful hotel. The only problem we had was getting any type of service at the pool. We waited 5 solid minutes at the pool bar for a bartender to notice us. When he did and we asked for drinks he said " ya I see you it's gonna be a few minutes" after which he cleaned the bar and talked to other customers and the other bartender completely ignoring us.