Ratings based on 542 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burbank, CA

Would go again , again , and again!

Posted Aug 19, 2014
This hotel has a great staff and facility. Price is very reasonable. We loved our stay so much. Thank you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burbank CA

Great getaway if you only have the weekend

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Very nice resort that is family friendly. Next time we'll be returning without the kids!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hermosa beach, ca

Nice hotel, great pools

Posted Jul 29, 2014
The swimming pools are wonderful for families, but the overall hotel views are a bit blocked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Good, clean hotel for weekend getaway...a bit pricey for drinks...but worth it
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for family with children

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Bar very expensive Buffet is nothing to eat Supervizor very Ruud ! Check out is 11 am and no way to extend check out Bar is close at 11 and than the hotel is like ghost hotel Over night parking $25$$$$$&
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Silvano, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your recent stay. We're sorry that you found our bar and parking expensive and that the dishes on the buffet didn't entice you. Please also accept our apologies regarding an ambassador who was less than polite as we truly pride ourselves on providing exemplary service. We're very sorry that we were unable to fulfill your request for a late checkout this trip but really hope we can provide that to you on a future visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from huntington beach, ca

Great for kids!

Posted Jul 8, 2014
We stay here a couple of times each year. The pool is very large with a nice beach and walk in area. Food is pricey, drinks are pricey. However, resort is huge, underground parking, and kids activities. Excellent location with a nice golf course.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great Resort, Great Staff, Lots of hotel guests!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Cons: Adults only pool
Great Resort, Fantastic Staff, Interesting Summer Crowd and tons of children.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by barb from los angeles

Palm desert getaway

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: THe lay out is nice, the rooms are very clean and comfortable, everything is close and convenient! We loved that there were nice bicycles available.
Cons: crowded pool--but what can you do? build another pool?
Location: nice restaurants, movie theaters, el paseo shopping, walking, bicycling, Cabazon outlets, Fantasy island has some interesting performers
we threw together a trip with three couples just to "get away" to the desert. we had such a nice time at the esmerelda! We loved that there was a reduced rate, and there was a 50$ credit to use! It sure enticed us to be a little more free spending with incidentals, since we thought we were getting a good "deal". The pool was a little crowded, but that was OK. We still had a great time. Very nice facility!! Very accomodating to small groups to sit around, watch the Kings, and visit with friends. Cant wait for our next getaway weekend to the Esmerelda.
1 out of 5
by SanDiegoFam from San Diego, CA

Don't stay there over a crowded weekend!

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Staff, breakfast buffet
Cons: Better system for the pool area, pool bar drinks awful. chairs in balconies
We stayed here over the Memorial Weekend when the hotel was packed. It pains me to provide a bad review because the hotel staff was very nice and the hotel facilities decent. However, the whole point of our trip was to go on a vacation with our kids where we got couple days to relax, unwind and enjoy the pool. We quickly realized the pool experience would not be a relaxing one. The pool for this hotel is not nearly large enough to serve the full capacity. It was a dog eats dog world out there. People were coming in at 7 am to reserve lounge chairs with towels and going back to sleep. The pool attendants did nothing to enforce the "no reserving lounge chairs" rule. On one day we ended up finding 1 empty chair for the 4 of us and then a lady came 45 minutes later and started screaming at us in front of our kids that it was their chair (they had 5 chairs for a family of 4). The pool attendant sided with this crazy woman because I think he was afraid. Our kids were pretty traumatized by this experience. The next day we had to cancel our outing to Jackinto Mountain tram so we could go early and secure a conflict-free spot at the pool. Also, we selected a hotel/room with a balcony so we could hang out there after our kids go to bed. Unfortunately, there were no chairs on the balcony. Other than these unfortunate incidents, the staff was very nice, the hotel really caters to families with kids so I would not recommend it for a romantic getaway. Despite all this, our kids had fun.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2014 by Tom, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and we so appreciate your kind words about our team. Memorial weekend was indeed a busy time and we are sorry that there were challenges with finding lounge chairs for your family. It sounds like your pool experience during this time did not live up to the experience we strive to provide and we are very sorry about the altercation with another guest. With regards to seating on your guest room deck, we apologize that the chairs were not available. Please know that in the future, if ever there is anything we can provide to make your guest room more comfortable, any one of our front desk ambassadors will do everything they can to assist. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back one day soon so that we can showcase the resort to you at its best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by EP from Wells Inn R&S

Just a weekend getaway

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Getting to the room was like a maze and far from the reception area. I suggest getting a pool view and not a resort view. Although it was closer to pool elevators and vending. All else was great.