Ratings based on 528 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for family with children

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Bar very expensive Buffet is nothing to eat Supervizor very Ruud ! Check out is 11 am and no way to extend check out Bar is close at 11 and than the hotel is like ghost hotel Over night parking $25$$$$$&
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Silvano, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your recent stay. We're sorry that you found our bar and parking expensive and that the dishes on the buffet didn't entice you. Please also accept our apologies regarding an ambassador who was less than polite as we truly pride ourselves on providing exemplary service. We're very sorry that we were unable to fulfill your request for a late checkout this trip but really hope we can provide that to you on a future visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from huntington beach, ca

Great for kids!

Posted Jul 8, 2014
We stay here a couple of times each year. The pool is very large with a nice beach and walk in area. Food is pricey, drinks are pricey. However, resort is huge, underground parking, and kids activities. Excellent location with a nice golf course.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great Resort, Great Staff, Lots of hotel guests!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Cons: Adults only pool
Great Resort, Fantastic Staff, Interesting Summer Crowd and tons of children.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by barb from los angeles

Palm desert getaway

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: THe lay out is nice, the rooms are very clean and comfortable, everything is close and convenient! We loved that there were nice bicycles available.
Cons: crowded pool--but what can you do? build another pool?
Location: nice restaurants, movie theaters, el paseo shopping, walking, bicycling, Cabazon outlets, Fantasy island has some interesting performers
we threw together a trip with three couples just to "get away" to the desert. we had such a nice time at the esmerelda! We loved that there was a reduced rate, and there was a 50$ credit to use! It sure enticed us to be a little more free spending with incidentals, since we thought we were getting a good "deal". The pool was a little crowded, but that was OK. We still had a great time. Very nice facility!! Very accomodating to small groups to sit around, watch the Kings, and visit with friends. Cant wait for our next getaway weekend to the Esmerelda.
1 out of 5
by SanDiegoFam from San Diego, CA

Don't stay there over a crowded weekend!

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Staff, breakfast buffet
Cons: Better system for the pool area, pool bar drinks awful. chairs in balconies
We stayed here over the Memorial Weekend when the hotel was packed. It pains me to provide a bad review because the hotel staff was very nice and the hotel facilities decent. However, the whole point of our trip was to go on a vacation with our kids where we got couple days to relax, unwind and enjoy the pool. We quickly realized the pool experience would not be a relaxing one. The pool for this hotel is not nearly large enough to serve the full capacity. It was a dog eats dog world out there. People were coming in at 7 am to reserve lounge chairs with towels and going back to sleep. The pool attendants did nothing to enforce the "no reserving lounge chairs" rule. On one day we ended up finding 1 empty chair for the 4 of us and then a lady came 45 minutes later and started screaming at us in front of our kids that it was their chair (they had 5 chairs for a family of 4). The pool attendant sided with this crazy woman because I think he was afraid. Our kids were pretty traumatized by this experience. The next day we had to cancel our outing to Jackinto Mountain tram so we could go early and secure a conflict-free spot at the pool. Also, we selected a hotel/room with a balcony so we could hang out there after our kids go to bed. Unfortunately, there were no chairs on the balcony. Other than these unfortunate incidents, the staff was very nice, the hotel really caters to families with kids so I would not recommend it for a romantic getaway. Despite all this, our kids had fun.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2014 by Tom, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and we so appreciate your kind words about our team. Memorial weekend was indeed a busy time and we are sorry that there were challenges with finding lounge chairs for your family. It sounds like your pool experience during this time did not live up to the experience we strive to provide and we are very sorry about the altercation with another guest. With regards to seating on your guest room deck, we apologize that the chairs were not available. Please know that in the future, if ever there is anything we can provide to make your guest room more comfortable, any one of our front desk ambassadors will do everything they can to assist. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back one day soon so that we can showcase the resort to you at its best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Emory

Indian Wells best resort for the money

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Room, pool, amenities are all top notch.
Cons: Beds are a little worn and the Cava restaurant is not the best for breakfast but overall a great value.
Location: Wet n' Wild for the kids, Ruth's Chris.
We've stayed at other resorts in the Palm Desert, Indian Wells area and this place is hands down the best value for the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lainey from Long Beach, Ca.

Posted May 11, 2014
The staff at the Esmeralda were particularly accomodating. The sweet gentleman who checked us in listened to my story of frustration about my making reservations at the wrong Esmeralda location and having to "eat" the $270 for the night because I didn't catch it within the cancelation period. I was laughlingly telling him about how this room turned into the most expensive overnight stay because we had to pay for two rooms and he immediately offered to upgrade us and waive a small fee. It was absolutely not required of him but he stepped up to assure that we were not disappointed again. I have noticed this kind of service on other occasions at other Marriott locations and I want to commend the training that allows for this kind of "over and above" care for the customer. I will always recommend this hotel and I left feeling like we were truly taken care of
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Comfort in the desert

Posted May 5, 2014
Nice weekend getaway. Rooms were nicely remodeled and bathrooms are large. We were there for Stagecoach and the staff handled the crowd very well. Don't miss breakfast!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mel from California

Comfortable and convenient

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: comfortable
Location: Sorry, just went to Stagecoach Concert
Attended the Stage Coach Country Western Concert. Very convenient venue and with nice rooms and easy access to buses. Good value with comfort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by shannon from S

Perfect for our weekend needs

Posted May 3, 2014
Check in was easy, hotel was busy with Stagecoach travelers. Room was ready, clean and large. Bathroom was big, clean and nothing negative to say. The service was very nice and professional. This hotel is not luxurious like a Four Seasons or Ritz, but for a cheaper price it was very nice. Only criticism is that the pool's lounge chairs are like slabs of concrete and hurt to sit on them. Ouch! Would go back and stay again, but would not want to lounge by the pool without a cushion.