Ratings based on 544 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom East Whittier, CA

bathroom electrical outlet

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Décor and aura of place
Cons: electrical outlets
Location: several nearby restaurants and casino all walking distance from strip
Beautiful hotel with beautiful settings that provided a sense of tranquility. Other than havoc when electrical outlet would turn off blow dryer and electric curling iron while to get ready and depart from room in timely fashion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location, location, location

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Outside firepits and close to downtown.
Great location, large pool, hot tub and comfortable rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Great hotel for families

Posted Apr 12, 2015
The main pool is huge, and there's a kiddie pool with an extremely large sandbox. There were lots of kids so my five year old often made friends in the pool, which was great for everyone. The kiddie pool is a foot or so deep and cold, but the main pool is warmer. There was a nice hot tub, showers and a bar in the pool area. The food at the restaurant was not my favorite for lunch and dinner, though the breakfast was nice. The hotel is walking distance to downtown, which I love, but it is about a half mile. At night you may want to bring a flashlight as the last section near the hotel was unlit. Maybe the streetlights were just out. We have stayed at lots of smaller hotels in Palm Springs, but with the kids, this place is nice because I didn't have to worry about bothering anyone else like at the more serene, intimate places. We had a suite, which was great, but there was no door to the bedroom part of the room--a door would have been helpful when trying to put our two year old to bed, but that's ok. There was a mini fridge but not a kitchenette. When we checked in an hour or so after check in time, our room was not ready, but they gave us free parking and a $50 voucher to make up for it, so I was ok with it. I did hear lots of other people say that there rooms were not ready on time. Another guest said they didn't offer her the same freebies or any. My only other wish for this place is that they would recycle all those cups they serve there drinks in by the pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Whittier, CA

Beautiful but Expensive

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: I really liked how pretty and clean the hotel was.
Cons: I feel that all their staff should be trained on having a better attitude with ALL guests.
Location: This hotel was very close to plenty of restaurants and shops. Great location!
Renaissance Palm Springs is a very beautiful hotel. The lobby is very appealing and well kept. The rooms are very nice and comfortable. It was quite pricey though. The staff is not very warm and welcoming. Well, I shouldn't say all staff, but the woman who checked us in was very robotic and not as friendly. A gentleman at the front desk was rude when I went to pay my bill. The gentleman who called and said our room was ready was super friendly and the lady who gave us our room key was as well. Other staff members walked around unapproachable. The van service crew were super awesome and kind as they took us into town. Some of the guests were very rude and made not so nice comments toward myself and my daughter during breakfast at the hotel's restaurant. Overall we had a good time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Hotel is under staffed. The front desk was frequently overwhelmed by visitors. There was a chronic lack of towels at the pool. The cleaning staff worked late into the afternoon to get all the rooms cleaned.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Olympia, WA

Fun in the Sun!

Posted Apr 10, 2015
My daughter and I chose this hotel for its large pool and proximity to downtown, and would definitely come back...but not at Spring Break! But in spite of the mobs of people at the pool, difficulty finding chairs together, and long waits for pool side service, we had a great time! We were just happy to be soaking up the glorious sunshine, and went with the flow. Overall, the staff were very friendly and welcoming, especially the breakfast staff. This is a beautiful resort hotel within walking distance to downtown, but we didn't have to walk because of the wonderfully efficient shuttle service! And our room at the hotel was beautifully decorated, and very clean, with a nice sized balcony overlooking the pool. And the beds were so comfortable!! Highly recommend, but go when it's not so hectic.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Great Pool but everything else needs improvement

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff
I have actually stayed at this hotel previously and had a decent experience so I thought I would bring my family for a quick trip to enjoy the pool and everything else the hotel had to offer. I booked a pool view room however due to needing two queen beds they didn't have anything available so ended up with a view of the parking lot. The rooms were decent however the water was very murky and the sink drain was very slow to drain. The air was not working in the room so we slept in 78 degrees all night and for someone that likes a cool temp room at night that was huge issue which means I didn't have a comfortable nights sleep, I didn't bother to call maintenance as it was late and I had a family that was tired but I did inform the front desk in the morning however nothing was done. I reminded them again during check out for which the rude woman working the front desk let me know she will tell the engineers to check it out but no apology for my bad night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LA, Ca

Very nice. Things to do were walking distant.

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Perfect weather for me in April. I enjoyed the pool area during the day and at night
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ca

Posted Apr 6, 2015
I won't go to that hotel anymore. It was one of worst vacation I had from the moment I got to that hotel. Look for somewhere else.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Overpriced hotel, find somewhere else to stay

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Customer service, food was nothing special, pool was so gross we didn't go in it, and the hot tub was even grosser.
Location: Pick a different hotel closer to the main street
I have never written a review before, but feel I must since all the reviews I read about this hotel when booking it were so positive. Our experience at this hotel was very disappointing. We were only visiting Palm Springs for a couple days and wanted to stay in a nice hotel for our visit. We checked in 4 hours early and toured the town while waiting for our room. We returned to the hotel at 4 pm (check in time), got our room key, and went up to our room. The room was not what we reserved. We returned to the front desk and were told they were really busy and we would have to wait for our reserved room. We waited in the lobby for another 45 minutes for our room and no one apologized for their mistake or the delay, they just kept saying that they were really busy. The room was not clean, there weren't enough towels, the pool was murky, and the hot tub water was green, it was disgusting! One of the main reasons we chose this hotel was for its pool, and it was so gross, we never went in it. There was so much noise in the hallways throughout the night, disturbing ours and other guests sleep. The buffet breakfast was nothing special, just average. To top off our experience, when we returned to our room after breakfast, our room keys were deactivated and we had to return to the front desk so we could enter our room. Again no one apologized for any inconvenience. We will definitely not be staying at this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2015 by Mike, Hotel Management
Dear Celia, Thank you for your comments. I do apologize for any issues you experienced during your stay with us. Our front desk and housekeeping teams work very hard to make sure all rooms are ready by check-in time, but unfortunately on some occasions when we have lots of rooms to turnover, that is not always possible. We do find it unacceptable that your room was not cleaned to yours or our standards. I have addressed this with our management team so that we can continue to train our staff to provide first in class customer service and amenities to all of our guests. Thank you again for your comments, and I do hope you will allos us to make it up to you in the future. Mike - Guest Services