Ratings based on 980 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by janet from las vegas

Not worth the price

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Many things went wrong during a TWO night stay-overall not lmpressed-room outdated, funky smell in hallway, electrical outlet and mirror didn't work, room was not cleaned by 4pm, loud bar music kept us awake even after calling the front desk, $25 fee on top of resort fee just to use the jacuzzi!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Riviera is a winner in Palm Springs!

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Underrated hotel and constantly provides exceptional experiences stay after stay. Well done!
2 out of 5
by Russ from Boston, MA

Not a luxury hotel by my standards.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Not much!
Cons: Everything!!
Location: OK location, but transportation needed to experience Palm Springs.
Advertised as a luxury hotel, but it is far from that, i.e. 4 bottles of water in room offered at $5 per bottle. Charge of $8 to self park a car. Five to ten minute walk form room to restaurant or lobby. Circa 29 restaurant very disappointing. Meal turned back as uneatable. Spar Terre not up to luxury standards.
3 out of 5
by conspire from RVA

Eh, it'll do if there's no other real options

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Their logo.
Cons: Front desk staff needs to be more friendly and outgoing. Poolside staff needs to frequent the pool more often to keep up with towels and trash.
Location: Location was nice, fairly easy to get in and out of. Was also close enough to a lot of good restaurants (not walking distance though).
The front desk staff was a pain to work with, however everyone else was very friendly and polite (especially the housekeeping staff). Terrible poolside service in regards to ensuring towels are available for the pool. Visited the pool at various times all week and never failed to be out of towels 90% of the time. Guests didn't help the situation either by leaving their towels on poolside loungers and chairs rather than dropping them off at the baskets next to where they initially picked up their towels, so they get partial blame for that. Trash was all over the pool area as well, which again is kind of split between the other hotel guests and poolside staff. Music at the adult pool was pretty much just a repeat playlist that got repetitive pretty quickly and I was over it by the second day. Other than that I guess the place was ok. Nothing about the place really wow'ed me except the fact that the Rat Pack used to frequent the place, but that obviously isn't happening again. Nothing to really discourage me from going back, but since I know there are way better places in Palm Springs, I'll choose to spend my money at another resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ovs from los angeles

Good

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Location: n/a
Last minute booking but lovely hotel at reasonable cost.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by cynthia from san diego

Overall- nice hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2014
The room was nice, however the bathroom was tidy but not clean. Razor covers were on the floor and in the tub, demonstrating it hadn't been cleaned. Also, mirror light was out and there was hair on the floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from San Francisco

Fun,lively spot

Posted Apr 8, 2014
This is a happening place. Large, sprawling facility so please be ready to walk to your room. Staff is uniformly friendly. Rooms a large (built in another era of course), and the decor is certainly campy. Nice pool area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great pool!

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: The pool is by far the best in Palm Springs.
Location: The Purple Palm Restaurant was a wonderful place to dine.
Upon arriving to the Riviera you will feel like you are in the lap of luxury. There is a "nice" car parked outside and viewing into the windows promises a classy and welcoming resort. The staff will grab your bags and escort you to the check in desk. The lobby is inviting and welcomes you with up-to-date music, a live piano and a "hip" bar. You feel like you have made a great choice on picking this resort to stay in. After you leave the lobby and pass the pool you are in for a rude awakening. You are left to carry your own luggage through a number of doors, none of which are automatic. The carpeting and wall paper make you dizzy and the smell is not exactly pleasant. The rooms themselves are disappointing. The beds are cheesy and pillows are very uncomfortable. The water is a cloudy brownish color. They do not feel clean at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Manitoba, Cda

Very comfortable hotel very near the downtown.

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Quick and efficient check-in, very helpful staff. Quiet room on the first floor allowing quick access to our car. The hotel is at the end of VIsta Chino lest than five minutes from downtown Palm Springs. Gym a bit small but clean with well maintained equipment. Two beautiful pools. Would stay again without hesitation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tranceparent from san francisco, ca

Great pool!

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Rooms and common areas a bit beat up. Needs refresh