Ratings based on 1,228 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, B.C.

Pictures make hotel look much nicer then it is.

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: Staff was great, very helpful and the restaurant had good food!
Cons: Room and hallways need updating. Need to check rooms before renting them out.
Location: Location is only good if you have a car. nothing is walkable except 711. But everything you need is 8 to 12 min away car ride.
Pulling up to the hotel started out great, lobby was very nice and staff was very pleasant. It goes down hill from there, we had to switch rooms on the second day because our first room was terrible. In the first room the toilet wouldn't flush, the A/C fan vent was making a real loud noise (needs to be serviced) and lights kept going out. Other than the deficiencies the room was still terrible.. Bed sheets were ripped, carpet was gross and overall room felt real old. The Second room was exactly the same minus the deficiencies. Wifi signal is horrible - wasn't able to get a connection even once. The room had only 1 spare outlet!! Had to rotate plugs for Coffee maker, Phone Charger, Computer Charger and camera charger! Definitely wouldn't stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2015
We were in need of a quick weekend getaway and ended up at the Riviera. The staff was really nice and accommodating, and the hotel is just a quick jaunt from some nice restaurants. We used the Riviera as a jumping off point to spend a day in Joshua Tree and spent another afternoon doing some light hiking after taking the Palm Springs aerial tram (which is just a couple of minutes away from the hotel). The room we had was spacious and clean. We didn't really use the pool area, (it looked like it would be a nice place to sit, though they seem to like to pump semi-obnoxious music into the pool area). We only had one meal at the hotel, but it was a nice breakfast and they have a pretty patio space.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oklahoma City, OK

Time travel

Posted Jan 16, 2015
The hotel was above expectations! Lobby decor was spectacular. The rooms were 50's chic and so fun. The spa was lovely and very relaxing. Pool area with fire pits topped it all off for a grand visit. No complaints at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom La Jolla

Not what I expected

Posted Jan 15, 2015
I decided to get away from my remodel at home and spend a few nights in lovely Palm Springs. I booked a suite at the Riviera hoping I would love the resort! The Marquee suite was large but had a funny smell, and the A/C made a loud clanking sound when it turned on. I requested a different room the next morning and was upgraded to another more expensive suite, sadly, this suite had a view of the pipes and plumbing for the restaurant below my room. The water that ran from the tub was brown and this new suite had the same smell. Since it was my last night I didn't call for another room. The resort itself was not very well maintained, wallpaper was peeling, and overall just not as glamorous as advertised. On the day I checked out, they were drilling into the wall, (yes, the wall) right below my room to address a leaky pipe issue....which had managed to soak the staircase landing....On a positive note : Food was amazing, appetizers and breakfast were delicious, wonderful customer service and a real willingness to please and make my stay as comfortable as possible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Luis Obispo

Quiet stay in January

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Good site for a low key get together. ResponsI've friendly staff. Clean sunny swimming pools and gym. Would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, California

Charming!

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: The prompt response to requests, the cleanliness AND the decor.
Cons: Nothing.
Lovely hotel, beautiful grounds, outstanding staff! We were upgraded to a lovely Junior Suite because of walking difficulties. I will certainly come back next January. BTW, January is a great time to visit because it is quiet in the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom fort worth,tx

For the price, it didn't live up to the value.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
The room walls are way too thin, you can easily hear what people are talking in the next room. Apart from being annoying in needing to find your building among the many there are, the rooms try to make up for the lack of space and comfort for decorations.which is the least I'm concerned about. Overall, there are better places to stay for the ridiculous price this hotel asks for.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No service standards

Posted Jan 4, 2015
We were there for a week and didn't have have a dresser until they finally delivered one several days after complaining. Room service never delivered... Would have to call several times to get room cleaned... No pool service. I could go on and on...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad rooms with decent amenities

Posted Jan 4, 2015
We stayed for 4 nights. The room had 2 queen beds. The room was not great. The a/c did not work the 1st night. Subsequent night was too hot. By the checkout time we were not happy wih the rooms. The swimming pool is good fun place with firepits and jacuzzi. These amenities were good and enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

An Enjoyable Experience

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: The view from our room was great; the cleanliness of the whole facility was pleasing.
Cons: Though we parked in the handicap spot (my spouse is 94 1/2 and uses a walker); the distance get to the building and elevator was quite far.
Location: We relaxed; I used the spa which was wonderful; we ate out within the city.
This was a vacation/relaxation/celebration trip. We enjoyed the facility; the staff were wonderfully attentive whenever we would see them (in the halls; elevators; pool area, etc.)