Ratings based on 1,301 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dennis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Storkow/Mark

Sehr schoenes Hotel in Top-Lage

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: Sehr gutes Preis-Leistungs-Verhaeltnis, beheizter Pool, Jacuzzi, tolle Lage (Bergpanorama)
Cons: Leider hat das Fruehstueck im Vergleich zu 2012 etwas nachgelassen (keinen Schmierkaese mehr) und keine Poached Eggs (gegen Bezahlung)
Location: Sehr zentrale Lage, nahe Downtown Palm Springs, und nur fuenf Minuten entfernt von den " Indian Canyons" ( fuer Hiker und Naturliebhaber ein " Muss"
Wir waren 13 Naechte im Royal Sun Inn ueber Weihnachten und Neujahr.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Great for the price !

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: You can make your own waffles at the free breakfast.
Cons: For the price , not much .
Location: Near everything P.S. has to offer.
This hotel is just south of downtown. It is older but is clean and comfortable . 5 star it is not ! It does have balconies that offer mtn views. We have stayed here twice .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wildomar, California

Always a pleasant stay

Posted Jan 20, 2015
I stayed over the MLK weekend with our Girl Scout troop. It was a good central location between our desert oasis hike and our Mount San Jacinto hike in the snow. We had three rooms, and weren't able to get them all together, although when I requested neighboring rooms weeks earlier I had been told that should be no problem. Still, this time of year in Palm Springs I wasn't surprised they were too full to accommodate our request, and although they were full, the atmosphere was still quiet and peaceful. Staff was friendly and welcoming, even though we had a large group of (well-behaved) kids. The girls enjoyed making their own waffle breakfast, and they enjoyed the fresh biscuits, fruits etc., which are far better than the typical continental breakfast offered by many more expensive hotels I've stayed in. I love the fact that they don't allow pets or smoking. I have allergies and sometimes I wake up absolutely miserable after sleeping in a hotel/motel, but that has never happened at the Royal Sun Inn. The pool area is clean and family-friendly, too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: The most positive thing about this motel was the desk clerk who greeted us when we arrived. He was very accommodating and pleasant.
Cons: Need a lot of upgrades.
The room where the breakfast was served was small and dingy. The food lacked a lot to be desired. The room we stayed in had and uneven floor and we found a dirty wash rag in the bathroom behind the toilet, and a used straw and dirt under the sink. The telephone did not work half the time because the cord would not stay hooked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by ROBERTfrom Big Bear

Our standby hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2015 on Hotels.com
This is our standby hotel. For the price I don't think you can beat it. We walk the neighborhood and it is lovely. It meets our needs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, but probably better overall choices

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Location: Across street from Moorten Botanical Gardens, near Tahquitz canyon hike and many restaurants/shops in the core area of Palm Springs.
Pros: Quiet room with lovely mountain view in morning sun. Excellent location to older area of Palm Springs. Cons: room was gloomy (inadequate lighting). Breakfast was very modest, but more importantly, there was inadequate seating indoors (2 tables). Since it was very cold when we visited, this was frustrating and we decided to go out the last day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jamesfrom Walnut Creek, CA

Fine for a neighborhood motel

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels.com
Perfectly pleasant place to stay in Palm Springs. My only complaint is this: unless you have a car, it is inconvenient to restaurants and other attractions. With the exception of a nearby Mexican restaurant, you can plan to walk close to a mile to eat a meal. Other than that, a friendly staff, clean rooms and nice amenities. Absolutely recommended.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Not far from the airport, nice view

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: It was clean
Cons: The creaky beds, and the walls could be a little more insulated for sound. Pool was dirty but hot tub was nice
Location: Close to airport and nice view if mountains
First off, it was definitely overpriced for the one night we were there! The room was clean but the beds were horribly uncomfortable and creaky, the walls were so thin that I could hear things in the next room that I definitely didn't want to hear. For the price I had higher expectations.