Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Cons: We like to get out early, so an earlier breakfast would be nice. We only enjoyed it once during our stay because we needed to leave earlier than 8:30.
Location: We were in town for the tennis tournament and the location was terrific for quick access onto the 111 taking us straight to Indian Wells.
This Inn was a lovely surprise. I was looking for an affordable getaway and this was wonderful! So much better than a large, bland, crowded hotel. The pools and grounds are beautiful, the rooms are unique and comfortable, the restaurant and bar have character and are so convenient. Free breakfast was great. Quiet and comfortable with personality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by laurafrom Cambridge, UK

perfect for a secluded sunny getaway

Posted Apr 7, 2013
Pros: Hotel grounds and pool areas
Cons: Distance from downtown restaurants and no bar service during the day
Location: Very secluded and quiet - long walk or short drive/cab from palm canyon road restaurants
Very friendly and helpful staff, good room, excellent grounds and some lovely little touches like afternoon tea!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dalefrom Carmichael, California

Great Place for Girls' Weekend orRomantic Getaway

Posted Oct 4, 2012
Pros: Ambiance, staff, pool, everything ...
Cons: A second sink in the room would be a terrific feature...
Location: Close to the main street in Palm Springs, but not close enough to walk, at least not for us in the heat.
The charm of this hotel is what influenced our second stay .... for a girls' week away. it is a small 29-room, one-story, mission-style hotel with three courtyards, two of which have swimming pools. Each room is decorated differently and the ambiance makes you think you are "back in the day" as a Hollywood star. The surrounding palm trees and beautiful foliage are so enjoyable, and the staff was friendly, accommodating, and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The only reason I gave the comfort of our room a 4 rather than a 5 is we would have liked a second sink other than in the bathroom. And as for the condition and upkeep of the hotel, we were there during intense heat which had taken its toll on some plants but the landscape was still beautifully maintained. We had dinner there one night and it was excellent. We can hardly wait for our third stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by one nighterfrom Pearblossom,CA

Lovely getaway weekend.

Posted Oct 3, 2012
Pros: the decor
Cons: it was hidden and just outside from downtown Palm Springs. We had trouble finding it.
Location: Palm Spring was not the most exciting city. The tramway up the mountain is still there. There is also a giant statue of Marilyn Monroe.
We were surprised by the coziness of this lovely inn. Our room was one of a kind, full of historical memento of the actress who had this estate many years ago. I was finally decorated, large and comfortable. The swimming pool and jacuzzi were a few steps away from the room, refreshment was available all afternoon and coffee and tea was on the lanai in the morning. The dinner was delicious served in a vintage-decorated dining room on lovely vintage plates. The breakfast was just right and was served on the terrace. It was a most romantic and wonderful w-e.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A little disappointed

Posted Sep 4, 2012
Pros: Privacy
Cons: Lack of cleanliness
First off, this is a very private hotel which makes it perfect for couples. I was looking forward to staying here but the room was very disappointing. I did not mind the "vintage" designed room, but I did mind the tiles in the bathroom were painted and peeling, there was hard mildew on the shower door, bathroom window did not stay open and the blanket in the closet had cigarette burns and a stain. While it was lovely to have a private patio area, it was dirty (unswept and dirt on chairs). Our room was toward the rear of he property and great because a pool was right outside our door. The downside was the rear pool was not clean and I actually saw other guests using the pool skimmer to clean it themselves. On my last day there (labor day weekend) a larger than life cockroach was floating in the pool @ 9:45 am. Just figured the rooms are not so inexpensive to actually tolerate that stuff ( if ever!!!). This could be a great place but more time should be taken to care for the property and rooms. It's private, which I love but I would not pay the price for a room. Maybe the villas are better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Two Crusin' CA

Sweet old Palm Springs experience

Posted Jul 12, 2012
Pros: Once you arrive at the Inn, there's no reason to venture out for food, drink or spa treatments, everything you need is available within the property.
This inn is a delightful surprise. It's like an escape to Palm Springs of the 40's and 50's, complete with pool side bar and a great European flavor restaurant. It's quiet, well appointed, lush with plants and fountains and very, very relaxing! Throw your car keys on the table and kick back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bobfrom Orange County CA

A little bit of Paradise

Posted Apr 23, 2012
Pros: Loved sitting around the pool with the free newspaper and coffee. Also, the breakfast provided for my wife and I was great and the service special.
I must say this is the best and most fun hotel we have ever stayed at in the Palm Springs. The staff was perfect and the property beautiful. Our great room was a step from the pool with lounge chairs and towels always at hand. Coffee and newspapers were set out in a neat little seating area at 7:00 every morning. The free breakfast was great and the wait staff the best. We will certainly be back soon Bob and Sue
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marilynfrom CT

Overview

Posted Mar 20, 2012
We enjoyed a week of quiet and calm, from the lovely pools to the various peaceful shady spots around the premises so perfect for curling up with a good book. Our room was not what we had initially requested, but a change was expedited the next morning by accommodating staff members. Not all rooms have been refurbished, so that is a consideration when making a reservation. Though choices were limited, breakfasts were tasty and attractively presented. The two dinners we had at the restaurant were very special. Service was good. The location of Villa Royale couldn't have been better; you felt removed from the hustle and bustle of downtown Palm Springs, yet were not far away from town, the beautiful canyons and other points of interest in the area. It is a unique place. We loved it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

My Palm Springs Favorite Getaway!

Posted Feb 13, 2012
This is a beautiful, historical, quiet and elegant property, run by a remarkable and caring staff. The restaurant is a superb fine dining expereince as well. The lovely spa under the stars was wonderful after a day of hiking and cycling, and the complimentary full breakfast was excellent. Several fountains and fireplaces within the grounds and dining rooms, and the gorgeous landscaping, renders a serene and peaceful setting My only suggestions is that our particular room needed an updated mattress, and new window treatments as they were not up to par with the rest of the Inn. I would stay here every visit to Palm Springs if I could afford it!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I would never stay there again.

Posted Feb 6, 2012
Pros: Grounds and lighting very romantic.
Cons: The rooms are badly in need of renovation. Very old and falling apart.
Booked a room with two queens. When I checked in they put us in a room with one double. The room was horrible, broken tiles, grout smeared, electrical lines put through holes in the wall. Really bad. The patio door to the courtyard was screwed shut with an aluminum strip. Tasteless. The outside grounds and pool are beautiful as is the restaurant. I will go there again, but only to eat.