Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sebastopol, CA

Vista Ventana

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: The woman in the front office was nice. (She was an employee, not an owner).
Cons: Needs major remodeling.
The first overall impression is very poor. It was very dated and shabby looking. On entering the courtyard, there was a large blue tarp blocking the view of the pool and the hot tub. Not my idea of a spa. We were charged for one night (two rooms), even though we told them that the hotel did not meet our basic standards and we could not stay there. I can't believe this place is up to code. I have photos but I can't figure out how to attach them to this review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Large rooms with full kitchenette

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Overall this is a cute hotel. The rooms are large and basic kitchen supplies are included. There is no microwave. The tubs are great, but not exceptionally warm in the am. I would return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom B

Cozy and quiet. Great water!

Posted Nov 18, 2014
I love Desert Hot Springs for the mineral water and that it's quieter then it's cousins south of the 10 freeway. Vista Ventana is a converted apartment building so the rooms are large and very comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Seedy 1950s Hotel with 2007 Paint Job

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Nothing but the Caribbean colors.
Cons: Everything
Location: Seedy Spa Townhouse next door. Dark area. Lots of fast food down the street. Homeless and potential addicts walking up and down the street.
After driving through a seedy area with homeless pushing shopping carts up the street, I knew it wasn't going to be a place I could stay. I was so shocked of the area that I almost drove past the hotel. The outside hotel looked like a residential apartment turned into a hotel. Parking was very limited unless you park on/near the street. Pics were pretty true though the patio furniture were faded from the desert sun. The guest service/counter rep called me by my sir name which was good. I had to have her open the room door because it was stuck or freely painted and sticking. Pics inside the room were the same as the website, however the materials, linen, decor were very cheap. Once I heard another's room door shut and him walking down the stairs, then cars driving up & down the street, I told myself not to unpack. I returned the key ( which wasn't a card to scan but a regular house key strapped to an office binder clip) and told the rep, I will not stay. Don't waste your money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2014 by Vista Ventana, Hotel Management
We do apologize that Vista Ventana Spa & Resort did not meet your standards; but we also understand that pleasing everyone--is just not possible. we understand your concerns about our City, yes, Desert Hot Springs is a funky desert town, and as far as who pushes what, up and/or down the streets of Desert Hot Springs--those circumstances are completely out of our control; and most certainly, we never promised or compared our City to the giltz and glamour of Palm Springs. However, what you will find in our City is like nowhere else--is the beauty of healing mineral waters--found almost nowhere else in this world! That we can promise! That is what makes Desert Hot Springs special and for those who come, that is what they come here to experience. We take pride in newly renovated 1950's mid century motel's clean rooms decorated in happy vibrant hues--each room includes a fully equipped kitchenette, and are spacious; we would like to thank you for noting that our rooms are just as they have been pictured on the internet. We have a mineral pool and spa, as well as a indoor mineral spa. Our spa features a sauna and a full service spa. It's a cute little place and we contantly try to improve our serivice(s); in order to better meet the requirements of guests. Once again thank you for your comments, we hope someday you will reconsider and give our healing minerals a try! Respectfully, Vista Vetnan Spa & Resort
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Someone elses hair between the sheets.

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Bedding not washed from last guest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

AWESOME.

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Security
My girlfriend and I stayed the weekend here and it was well worth it. Upon arrival we were greeted by a young lady at the check in who was so very friendly and helpful and hag us in our room so fast. After driving for 3 hours that was great. The. The room was bright and spacious and oh so nice. multiple living areas. A wonderful kitchenette with a working fridge and freezer. A full stove and oven (so if you'd like to coo k a meal it's there).A sink with everything for cleaning (Soap, Sponges everything. I like the nice little seating area with a nice large comfortable couch and a large table also.A TV not a flat screen but it worked and the picture was good (needed to watch some Sunday NFL football). Sleeping area was large with a very large bed. The bathroom was large with a shower and full bath tub (my girlfriend loved that). Lots of closet space. And best of all everything was so clean which( I'm picky about). Pool area was awesome. Clean with lots of comfortable seating. The pool was great since it was so, so hot there. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. For myself I came here to get away from Los Angeles for some peace and quiet and that's what I got. Nights were wonderful, very quiet surroundings(LOVED it) But if you want stuff to do it's all close by. from shopping to nightlife and lots of good restaurants .. If you're thinking of staying in the area give this pace a try. My girlfriend and I will definitely be returning to this gem in the desert..
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Dan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Near San Francisco

Nice Hotel close to everything

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: clean environment, studio style large room with kitchen and furniture.
clean, spacious, fully furnished, friendly staff, well kept, highly recommended to anyone. definitely want to stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Scottfrom Bakersfield

Awesome Experience

Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
My wife and I were visiting family and needed a place to stay. This hotel was beyond awesome! The room was clean and cozy like a studio apartment. Very spacious and had everything we needed and more. Plus, it was also one of the cheapest options in town which was a plus. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay again and again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Pattifrom Texas

A tiny jewel in Desert Hot Springs

Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
This totally cute, upbeat boutique hotel has a vibe that is part desert, part historical hot springs and a little South Beach! The location is tops for playing golf or other desert activities. The revamped rooms are full of great touches such as kitchenettes, bathroom night lights ( thank goodness), Philosophy bath products and more. The outdoor patio has a nice pool and hot tub perfect for a little R & R and the spa area has a mineral pool, sauna and soon to come expanded spa services. Right now you can have in-room services. Great place to stay and explore the sights.