Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nz

Close to town

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Satisfactory tho noisey nothing more to add thanks
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Valerie from Auckland

Ticks most of the boxes

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Location, good size room, great shower, pleasant friendly staff
Cons: Heat pump was much too noisy - had to turn it off in order to sleep. Also, it would be nice to have a full length mirror.
Location: On Fitzherbert Ave - Motel Alley - and close to the Square. Distance is not an issue in Palmerston North.
We have stayed here before and find it convenient and comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Tony from Tauranga

Good service

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comfy room with all required. Parking a bit tight but overall clean and staff tops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Fantastic service

Posted Mar 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Would recommend this hotel - we stayed in the motel section which we were satisfied with for the price. However it did not have the amenities of a motel (i.e. kitchenette etc) so felt a bit mislead there but it didn't matter since the location was so central there were plenty of places nearby to grab a takeaway. Service was fantastic - so friendly and welcoming. I would stay again, perhaps in the hotel part next time if in town for longer as this looked really nice and had a nice looking restaurant.
2 out of 5
by Andrew from Brisbane, Australia

Not as good as pictured

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Pros: Proximity to city
Cons: Room and furniture are dated and need to be revamped.
Location: Pretty good central location, about a 15 minute walk to rugby museum and short walk to supermarkets.
The photos on Expedia when booking I believe were from hotel and not motel so we were a bit disappointed when we checked into a very dated motel. It wasn't terrible by any means and did the job, but just a bit disappointing as we had hoped for better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sandy

Okay overnight hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: You could walk to the downtown area
Cons: New linens and paint
I am a little skeptical of New Zealand s rating system. In Canada this would certainly be a three star perhaps 2anda half star. The room was fine but dingy. It was clean but the linens were well worn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Kiwi Jaz from Palmerston North

Very thin curtains

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good shower pressure but woke at 5 a.m as the curtains were very thin and did not block the light. The room was quiet though and wifi was good. The TV was in a strange position - side on to the bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Generally good hotel, would stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Macca from Wellington

Great location Great Breakfast

Posted May 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
The coachman is a regular stay for me. Good reliable service, quality breakfast and not too far to restaurants if I want to dine out, rather than in. This time I dined in and had a great light meal from the dinner menu That was cooked with a sensitivity you don't see very often in Hotels. A mix up with the room rate on the bill but it was quickly sorted by a very polite person at the front desk on departure. Room had noisy plumbing but I think it was just the last room available that night as booking in was a last minute thing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2013 on Hotels.com