Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Guatemala

Very quiet and out of the way (in a nice way)

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Quite and comfortable, nice food, good staff
Cons: some way of heating the large pool, its really really really cold :-)
Location: The location is ok, in front of the lake, but there is almost nothing to do local to the hotel, you have to get away for other activities
The hotel is very nice, 2 pools, one heated the other not. Our room was really basic, but nice, no safe, no phone, no room service, but a great view to the lake and volcanoes. The restaurant serves very good food, I can only imagine that the other reviewers are a bit snobby about food, don't pay them too much attention. There did not appear to be any local (i.e. walking distance) restaurants anywhere, you would need a car or taxi to go to the nearest local town where there are plenty of restaurants available. If you want a really quiet time, no discos, no loud intrusions, this is a great hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Cons: Beds
It was beyond our expectations, the setting, hotel views, gardens, charm, the staff, cleanliness, restaurant were all very good. The only thing that could be improved upon was the bed. It was too hard but because everything else was so wonderful I was able to compromise......The village of Santa Catalina was also very charming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA, USA

Paradise in Santa Catarina

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Glorious setting especially from room 25, sounds were amazing (music, rain, children, birds, roosters), nice restaurant, beautiful courtyard
Cons: door was opened twice while I lay sick in bed...without a knock. uncomfortable....causing me to use deadbolt more often. add room safe for valuables
Location: I did not get to explore, since I was there to assist my daughter get medical care, but the excursions you could book in Panajachel were plentiful.
In spite of negative blogs that I read, my experience was fabulous. I used the hotel, not for vacation, but for an emergency purpose to check on my daughter's welfare (UCD student) after a dog bite. My room #25, could not have had a more breathtaking view of both the volcanoes and the lake. It was clean, had hot water, was serviced well and one night the maid even dressed up my towels into an animal shape. I had all that I needed....and if I were there on vacation - I still would have been satisfied. There were still some natural challenges that were par for the environment....a quiet stream of ants and one other annoying insect creature - but it is Guatemala! I took pictures of the beautiful courtyard and enjoyed the birds that also seem to love the balconies and court pleasantries. I never got the pleasure of using the pool or hot tub....but next time when I bring my spouse, I shall. I felt safe there most of the time from outside, more sinister nighttime activity...as the gates seemed to be shut each night. The restaurant was well staffed, colorful and had the same glorious setting as my room. the music from both the church and central square in Santa Catarina could always be heard lending to the ambiance. The children's voices...at the school nearby was such a happy sound...loved it. Can't wait to stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Fedefrom Guatemala

Nice hotel, with a warm little pool, enjoyable.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
The only thing that was disappointing was a noise church that didn´t let me sleep a nap. everything else was excelent... acording to the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel & grounds, but not worth the price

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: Beautiful grounds, staff and restaurant. Great hot chocolate!
Cons: The beds and room decore
Location: Great location to lake Atitlan!
Beautiful hotel, great location and great grounds. The food is great and staff was also very nice. The beds were pretty uncomfortable, unless you like hard mattresses. The room decor was very sparse, so I don't think the room was worth the price paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2013
2 out of 5
by Merlinfrom San Pedro, CA

Not Happy

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Pros: Nothing. I have stay in many, many hotels in Panajachel and have enjoyed my stay every time with the exception of this time.
Cons: Everything.
Location: There was nothing to do around. We had to drive far away to eat and do some shopping.
I went to this hotel expecting to see a beautiful place with great accommodations. My room was ugly with a strong musty smell. It ugly vinyl floors that were crooked from humidity and ugly popcorn cielings. It had twin beds and my sister and her husband had to sleep in separate beds. My brother-in-law complained of not being able to sleep all night because the beds were uncomfortable and too small. They had very old 13 inch TVs in each room with bad reception and remote controls did not work in either room. My room got flooded after a heavy rain. We only had a view of the swimming pool. The next day we were told that we did not qualify for a free breakfast because we had a discounted room. We did not even qet a receipt after checkout because they did not like that we booked with Expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Paulinafrom España

La suite con vistas al lago y volcanes es genial

Posted Aug 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
El hotel es muy bonito y vbien cuidado. El personal amable. La comunicación con Panajachel se puede hacer a través de taxis o pick up, pero el hotel no tiene un servicio específico de transfer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by José

Lejos de todo, buenas vistas y piscina

Posted Apr 10, 2013
Pros: La piscina y vistas del lago
Cons: La distancia a Panahachel para tomar los barcos de recorridos por el lago y el servicio de desayuno y comidas tan deficiente
Location: Muy lejos de cualquier sitio sin facilidades para nada
Lejos de Panahachel, buenas vistas y piscina Desayuno muy deficiente para el precio que tiene. Lejos de Panahachel, tienes que desplazarte para todos los recorridos por el lago Atitlan. Los encargados de recepción no facilitan ninguna información sobre visitas turisticas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom London UK

Hotel Villa Santa Catarina Guatemala, lake Atitlan

Posted Apr 16, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel is at a quite position at the lake Atitlan perhaps 15 minutes with a tuktuk from Panajachel. It was a relaxing place and recommend it. Boat hire to goto more lively places are available.