Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.1 out of 5
32% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
2.2 Service & staff
2.1 Room comfort
1.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Frank

Never again

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: close to a large supermarket (machetazo); walking distance to central market, waterfront, and other attractions with the Nat'l police station in front
Cons: hmmm.. how about everything?
Location: it's not the best part of town, but I found it safe. I rode the buses, ate at local restaurants, and never felt threatened
I'm not demanding when it comes to a hotel at this rate, but this one just doesn't even cut it. The room I got was moldy, stinky, and very run down. The restroom smelled foul since the drain was right there. The ceiling in the room had wet stains all over; the phone didn't work (not that I needed it, but still); wires were run on the wall as if a beginner electrician had done the job; the staff was very rude (and yes, I'm fluent in Spanish so I could easily communicate with them); even though my booking included (and I paid for) breakfast, I was denied it the first few days since the restaurant and hotel people (same owner) hadn't worked out how to deal with charge back or something weird. One person told me the hotel and the restaurant staff didn't get along while another person simply told me "sorry, we don't include breakfast anymore." On the 3rd day, I went to the restaurant and was actually given breakfast without a problem. It was someone else at that time. It just seemed like people only bickered with each other and didn't communicate with one another or cared about their customers' needs. I demanded to talk to the owner but every time I was told he'd be there, he never showed up and had an excuse. I stayed in Panama for a week, but fortunately, I didn't book the hotel for the entire week - lucky me!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by peterfrom canada

ok

Posted Sep 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
It' ok stay here
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Trinidad and Tobago

stay at hotel Covadonga

Posted Sep 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel staff not very pleasant or helpful. Service in restaurant fair. Breakfast service and quality not very satisfactory. Infrastructure in need of some repair e.g. toilet tanks, door locks, bathroom enclosure. Neighborhood and location very good. Access to places of interest, transport excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

stay away

Posted Aug 7, 2012
Maid forgot to make the room twice, the reason unknown, she might have been busy. Ask the front desk to wake me up at 5 a.m and she did at 6.15 a.m almost lost my plane reservation, staff at the front desk not very helpful, the included breakfast was terrible.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Nicholas

Very Bad

Posted Jun 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
I am in Panama for 4 days for school. This hotel is very bad the staff is very good. The bath room my toilet seat cover is on the ground. The shower is not clean; I am going to tell you that I won’t back my money. No, what I need is this sends someone to check the hotels before you book them because what happen to me is not go. Never again
1 out of 5
by Paulofrom Montreal

Never again

Posted Jan 20, 2012
Pros: Incredibly, wi-fi Internert was working perfectly (after I could explain to the receptionist what a ''password'' was)
Location: Very dangerous location. Seriously.
I was looking for something super-simple. A bed where I could crash onto after a day enjoying the city. The price of Covadonga attracted me. My first impression when I got there was scary: the police car was blocking the street, transvestites were screaming and a couple of ''soldiers'' (dressed like that) were hanging rifles. I thought to myself ''today is not my lucky day''. When I got to the hotel reception I was sure of that! the lady was nice with me, saying that she did not recommend me to go out after 6PM. I was starving... she escorted me two buildings away, in order to let me into the Cassino (through the emergency exit) to go to the restaurants area. I was a nightmare. everyday it was the same. They have pigeons living under each hotel room... and they can be very noisy at early mornings. I slept dressed the way I was. The sheets were disgusting.
1 out of 5
by tonyfrom canada

dreadful, place not safe to tourist

Posted Jan 12, 2012
Pros: nothing
Location: not safe
Dreadful..My husband and I cant believe that this is a hotel..we booked for 7nights and we only stay for s hours to get another hotel ..as tourist it was very diappointing.. but we got a nice and affordable hotel..hotel aramo its very affordable. clean, nice staffs and good breakfast.. we met a very nice taxi driver who made our vacation wonderful and marvelous in Panama..
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Brantford, Ontario

Definitely Not Impressed

Posted Jan 10, 2012
The hotel did not feel safe. Most of the advertised features do not exist. There is no private beach, no in-room safe etc. The location is rundown and seedy. The shower was a hosepipe sticking out of the wall, with only cold water. The window looked out at the next room from behind bars. Only the breakfast was reasonable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Lake Tahoe , CA

Posted Dec 18, 2011 on Hotels.com
For staying in Panama City, this was a cozy place compared to staying in a hostel. You get a nice bathroom with a shower and sink. A TV with many channels and a clean bed to sleep in. The ladies were very nice who work there. My only complaint wod be the neighborhood scene, kind of sketchy with a lot of "women looking for entertainment " but other than that we felt safe. There is a great 24 hour restaurant two blocks away that had great food and great service, I highly recommend it.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Samoa

Beware

Posted Oct 19, 2011 on Hotels.com
The hotel is in two parts, one is "by the hour". The neighborhood after dark is crawling with prostitutes. The staff speak only Spanish, with one exception. As a result three days in a row without a towel. One day they even removed the clean extra towel from the room. Air conditioning kept breaking down, and getting it fixed with limited Spanish was hard. No laundry facilities. Restaurant is fine if simple.