Ratings based on 250 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs updated

Posted Jul 5, 2014
The commode would not flush correctly, ceiling fan was about too fall down, half the light's would not work and could hear everybody in the rooms around you!
1 out of 5
by Jerry from Tennessee

Very bad experience!!

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Nothing really, other that the beachfront location.
Cons: Most everything there could be improved upon greatly
Location: Not sure , because we left the property. The event turned out so bad, we left the city all together!!
I booked this room online while traveling from another city. The rating was 3.5 out of 5, so I thought it would be ok. The photos online turned out to be very misleading. The property was very rundown and needed lots of repairs. The room was very dirty and smelled bad. There was a pull out sofa, but the springs supporting the mattress were either missing or broken and it had a bedbug cover on it that was in torn to bits. The carpet was really dirty. The bathroom was very old and in really bad shape. This room was so bad that I packed up my family and left after the first night, even though I had already been charged for two nights. I would never go back nor recommend this place to anyone. I there was a way to get my money refunded, I would really like to know about it!!! This was the VERY WORST experience ever for a room I booked on Expedia.
2 out of 5
by professional from holland michigan

Looks nice in pictures

Posted May 21, 2014
I know salt water corrodes stuff but when the inside of your room has corrosion you know it lacks maintenance. Pool was nice but had old, cracking tiles. Very nice setting but a long ways from things to do or even eat lunch or dinner. Will not stay here again as rooms just felt and looked old and outdated.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by beach getaway from florida

Average

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Hotel in right on beach which is great. Has pool and hot tub. Quiet beach for family. Place needs to be kept up a little better (painting on building, walkways to rooms) Rooms okay, but appear to be older and could be a little more clean. Beds not that comfortable. However, It was worth the price I paid. Would stay again....,maybe.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from georgia

it was ok an it was quiet

Posted Apr 8, 2014
The room could use a makeover. They need to fix the elevator an the parking lot is to small needs to b redone .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One of the worst hotels

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: It was directly on the beach.
Cons: Everything
The place was run down. There was mold in the room and our towels had black curly hairs in them. It was not even close to the description. We were scheduled for 2 nights but after checking in at 9:30 pm on Friday I could not handle more than that one night. We had paid in advance and we were not refunded any portion. I ended up moving to a different hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by love the beach from g

Took me an grandkids Wonderful time

Posted Feb 26, 2014
We were right on the beach a wonderful view full kitchen it was awesome.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice price but not very pleadent

Posted Feb 16, 2014
It was a great price and the employes were very nice but the room wasnt very clean or in good condition elevator was horrific and the beds was hard as a rock also the location isnt close to anything new on frontbeach road
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diane from Albany, GA

Wonderful surprise at Sugar Sands

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Pros: none
Cons: none
Location: none
I am normally a condo girl but since we were only staying two nights , I decided to give Sugar Sands a try from all the great reviews.The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable.This motel is right on the beach as well and the staff was great!I will definitely be back with my family in the summer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Crystal from PC

Getting away from it all

Posted Jan 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is the second time we've stayed here. We like it because it is the last hotel on this part of the beach so it's not noisy or crowded at all. It is a little drive back to more of the tourist stuff but of course that is the trade off. The hotel rooms do need some work but you know you shouldn't be spending too much time in there anyway and they aren't that bad. The rooms have a small full kitchen and there is no crazy high condo cleaning fees like some of the other hotels (we go during winter, I think they all have extra fees during spring?) so I don't think we could beat the price anywhere else. The beds were uncomfortable to us though, that is the biggest drawback to me. We noticed they are redoing some of their property across the street, the sugar shacks is what they call them, so maybe they are trying to update as they can.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2014 by Management, Hotel Management
Hi Crystal, Thank you for choosing our hotel again and for also taking the time to post a review. We are working on giving the hotel a "face-lift" in various areas and your concerns will help us improve on our weaker areas. We hope to see you next winter, so that we may show the updates made to the property over the year. Thank you again. Hotel Management