Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, MN

Money stolen out of safe, staff can't be trusted

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Great rooms, amazing shower.
Cons: The staff member is a crook.
I would have had a favorable review of this place, had the staff not stolen money out of our safe. Long story short, the young man working the night shift insisted we needed to leave the hotel at 4AM the next morning (this was at 11PM) in order to ensure we would reach David the next day. We thought (and were right, but couldn't verify it electronically as the bus stop has very limited online service) that buses ran to David every 75 minutes, but he insisted that if we didn't take the 5AM bus there was just one more bus at noon that may be full, and we would likely not get there. He even made a fake phone call to "verify" this. We later realized that he did this so we would leave in a hurry and not realize that while we were gone that evening, he stole 8 twenty dollar bills out of our safe. We are sure of this, as we counted this money right before we put it in the safe, and the next morning on the bus again. They smiled to our face, and stole behind our backs, knowing that taking 8 bills out of a big stack would not be noticeable until we took the time to count it. Do not stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom United States

Hidden Gem

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Location: There are some great restaurants that the hotel staff has a map of and can direct you to within walking distance. Old Town is also fantastic to visit!
The hotel has very few rooms so you feel like you are the only patrons and rarely see others. The staff are fantastic and the front desk speaks good English and was able to direct us to great local places to eat and tour. The rooms are decorated ornately and each has a jacuzzi! Very comfortable with your own air conditioning unit in each room. The breakfast in the morning is well laid out and they even include champagne and orange juice for mimosas! The location is not in the center of things and it is on a one-way street so it was somewhat difficult to find at first for our cab drivers, but this place is well-worth going to! The front of the building is all glass and I don't think the sign was very visible. There is limited parking so I would recommend using a service like Uber while traveling. Especially if you don't speak or understand Spanish fluently, it is great that the driver already has the location in their phone to go to! I would definitely stay here again! They made a great first impression on us and other friends we stayed with and we have all been raving about our experience to our friends back in the States!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Berlin

Stylisches Boutiquehotel in Seitenstraße

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: Sehr geschmackvolle Einrichtung, schönes Badezimmer, bequemes großes Bett, leckeres Frühstück und super Service! Angenehm klimatisiert.
Cons: Es wäre schön, wenn man auch draußen auf der Terrasse sitzen könnte. Dies ist aber allgmein in Panama City nicht üblich (eher klimatisierte Räume)
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich im Zentrum in der Nähe der Uferpromenade. Von dort gelangt man für wenige Dollar mit dem Taxi in ca. 18 Min. in die Altstadt
Wir (Paar w/m, 29/28 Jahre) waren für eine Nacht in diesem Hotel. Wir wurden sehr nett mit Tee/Kaffee empfangen. Die Einrichtigung hat uns auf Anhieb gefallen. Das Zimmer war ruhig, sauber, angenehm kühl und schön groß. Wir haben uns sicher gefühlt (Eingangstür des Hotels ist abgeschlossen). Das Frühstücksbuffet war reichhaltig und lecker. WLAN funktioniert sowohl im Zimmer als auch in der Lobby. Das Personal war sehr hilfsbereit. Ich kann das Hotel nur weiterempfehlen. Ich wäre gerne noch länger geblieben.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, MN

Epitome of a Boutique Hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: It's a good value for the money. After two weeks in Panama, the great style this hotel had was frankly surprising.
Cons: The room was very clean, but a higher level of maintenance and upkeep would greatly benefit this hotel.
Location: Close by (we walked but I'd recommend a taxi) is Tinaja's, which has live tipico performances. Um... there's a also a Subway like 3 or 4 blocks away.
Seriously cool style can sometimes be hard to come by in Panama, but the Panams has it in spades. The hotel is quirky and cool. A price performer that sacrifices the beige comforts of a 3–star Marriot for things like an in–room jacuzzi and goddess statues. Inside floor to ceiling glass, the lobby sports modern and traditional Indian decor, a small bar, free coffee, wine and iced tea, lots of seating space, music, and a modest book collection. The complimentary breakfast is satisfactory and in addition to the basic continental fare, the staff offered freshly cooked eggs each morning (there's also some bubbly for mimosas). The hotel isn't in the greatest area, meaning there's not much within 2–3 blocks and I felt slightly unsafe walking after dark, depending on the direction. That being said, inside and in front of the hotel felt very safe. And the metro is just a couple blocks away. The door jamb latch to our room (#8) was in slight disrepair and the door itself had some temporary adhesive foam on it's edge, presumably to take up the extra wiggle room that was allowed by the loose fitting. The light fixture above the bedside closest to the door was also very loose, so we couldn't really adjust it for reading. The room itself was gorgeous. The safe worked, and the shower was awesome. It also had hot water, which is not a guaranteed in Panama. If you're young or adventurous, you'll probably like it. If an all–inclusive Sandals resort is right up your ally, look elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Detroit

Quirky with great location.

Posted Oct 21, 2014
This hotel is a combination of the excellent and the acceptable. First the highs: the bathrooms are equipped with rainfall showers and my room had a soaker tub. The breakfast is wonderful, and the staff is great. The location of the hotel is convenient within the city. Unfortunately, the neighborhood is not great and the building maintenance was so-so (my door jammed and my safe didn't work).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by T Dreisbachfrom Costa Rica

A Lovely Surprise !!

Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
We booked this hotel at the last minute for the 1st night (very late night arrival) into Panama City for a long weekend getaway. We had hoped to find something in Casco Viejo to explore the Old City more easily, but we figured this would be fine for the 1st night only....WRONG!!....The Panams Hotel Boutique was fantastic to say the least. It turned out to be perfectly located & absolutely lovely. Small, intimate and the rooms were not only spacious, but very nicely appointed. Wonderful bedding, desk space, reading lights, mini fridge and a fabulous Jacuzzi tub right in the main room, no less. The bath had twin sinks and an incredible "waterfall" shower - very, very nice. Breakfast was more than normally found including Champagne if you so desired - What better way to start a day exploring a new city than with a Mimosa! They even had Iced Tea, hot tea, espresso, cookies & wine available in the lobby for your enjoyment. The staff was considerate, happy, smiling and just all around terrific - Needless to say, after awaking there, we bagged the idea to even think about looking elsewhere and extended our stay for the entire 3 nites.....I highly recommend The Panams Hotel Boutique..What a find and pleasant Surprise! Thank all of you (Julio, Leon, Leonard) at the Panams Hotel Boutique for "making" our spur of the moment visit to your City such a pleasure. We had a truly wonderful time! Gracias!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Georgia

Gem in Downtown Panama City

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: The location was great: near restaurants, supermarket, attractions, and a safe neighborhood. The staff went above and beyond and the breakfast was yum
Cons: We had some issues with the plumbing, but that is to be expected in third world countries and the hotel staff was quick to fix all problems.
Location: Restaurants are close, Casco Viejo is within a 30-45 minute walk, and the Cinta Costera, along the beach, is only about a 10 minute walk.
This hotel was amazing! The hotel staff was so friendly and answered every question we had. Lenert and Julio were the main people we interacted with at the desk and they were knowledgeable, helpful, and willing to go the extra mile. Julio gave us a hand drawn map to a fabulous Panamanian restaurant and made sure our laundry was done within 24 hours. The breakfast at the hotel was outstanding, as there was fruit, meats and cheese, and a delicious cake every morning. There is also free espressos, iced tea, and wine in the lobby 24/7 which was very refreshing after walking around humid Panama City. The location was great too. We were able to walk to the old city and local fish market along the ocean, and we were close to a Double Decker Red Bus city tour stop. All in all, the hotel was great! The neighborhood was safe enough to walk to restaurants for dinner, the rooms were spacious, and the décor of the hotel was very modern. We saw business people, families, and couples at breakfast so it seems to be a hotel for everyone. We had a great time and if I go back to Panama, I would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Don & Dianafrom Canada

Great place with personal friendly service

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was truly a find for us. Good central location. Not having been to Panama City before we checked online for various places. We prefer to stay in smaller, non-chain type hotels. We found the staff at The Panams very personable and extremely helpful. Our room was great - spacious with a very comfortable bed. Large bathroom with a rainfall type shower. The room also had a jacuzzi but have to admit that with the heat outside we weren't much into using it. We have to make special mention of Julio at the front desk who was great at giving us directions and filling us in with good places to go and other local information. But we would add that all the staff were helpful and friendly. Very personal service. We would definitely stay there again.
2 out of 5
by Andiefrom Houston

Yuck

Posted Mar 16, 2014
1. Room is really dark 2. Spa in room is out dated and gross. 3. Shower didn't drain; had to ask them to clean the clog; wear flip flops 4. We had to ask to have toilet turned on after it was used. ugh. 5. Room carpeting was gross.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Décevant

Posted Feb 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Quartier sans grand intérêt malgré la proximité de la Calle Uruguay (15 mn à pied) ; hôtel qui ne ressemble pas à un hôtel et que les chauffeurs de taxi ne connaissent pas ; musique assez forte en permanence dans le hall, que l'on attend des chambres, y compris la nuit ; chambre très sombre et impossible d'ouvrir la fenêtre (notre chambre donnait sur une rue très passante et bruyante) ; la douche fonctionne mal et il faut souvent attendre plusieurs minutes avant d'avoir de l'eau chaude ; personnel sympathique et serviable ; petit-déjeuner buffet médiocre (café imbuvable, heureusement qu'il y a une machine à expresso en libre accès dans le hall) servi dans une salle en sous-sol, qui donne sur une cour non entretenue