Ratings based on 265 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Hotel on beach and great view.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Beach View was great. Rooms were clean.
Cons: Elevator Service needs improving. When checking out it is very hard to get a luggage cart and long waiting time on elevators.
Location: Location was great.
We had no problems with the hotel except that it has 30 floors and the elevators were very slow. Hotel is really to large making it hard to get elevator service and luggage carts when checking in and out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from atlanta

Close but no cigar

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: room was nice
Cons: elevators, beach cleanliness
Our rooms themselves were quite nice and the view was wonderful. However, the condo has a serious problem when it comes to the elevators. My mother-in-law is handicapped so we weren't always able to take the stairs. She waited up to 30 MINUTES!!! for an elevator on more than one occasion.! Also, even though there was a staff of three at the beach chair cabana all day the beach was never cleaned. There were cigarette butts in the sand, empty bottles and cans, fast food wrappers and even feces on the beach. I asked the boy if he had a rake to clean the sand. He said yes but he didn't think it was that bad. The beach should be raked clean every morning! Except for right before a heavy rain the three guys stayed put, chatting away.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ga

Beach front

Posted Jul 4, 2014
It was a pleasant stay for the most part. I think it was a little expensive for what it was. There was a wait on the elevators but not bad considering its 30 floors. There could have been more pots/ pans in the room. The smell of carpet fresh was overwhelming especially since there was no carpet! The only cleanliness complaint I have was the sleeper sofa, it was old faded and stained and really nasty! Other than the sofa the room was very clean! The free movie rentals were nice. I would stay here again, it was very close to pier park and right on the beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

The location is great but could use some attention

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Relatively nice rooms
Cons: Service, Mattresses on all beds, other than the master bedroom, need to be upgraded.
The elevators are the greatest frustration of most of the visitors I spoke to including my group. Wifi exists but doesn't reach the majority of guests; even the staff complains about this. The luggage carts are none existent. When we arrived hotel security directed us to park in the parking garage and asked us if any check-in staff told us not to unload our luggage at the front door but rather park across the street in the parking garage and walk back across to retrieve a luggage cart. When I mentioned that I was unaware he complained about the staff not letting us know this and then complained about the guests not following instructions to return the luggage carts after use. The staff is not attentive to the guests whatsoever. Staff is rarely seen unless you walk by the check-in counter. Last note: when we were at the 1st floor bar we had to flag down a staff member to order another drink. When we arrived at the bar there were at least three staff members watching a World Cup game but once we sat down they all dispersed (including the bar tender). Although the hotel itself is relatively nice, I'll look for an alternative next time. There is plenty to choose from. My only fear is the majority of the hotels in the area of Front Beach Drive Tidewater was in, seem to be owned by the same group. Blahhhh!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sherri from Benton, Ky.

Very nice with awesome view of ocean.

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Friendly employees. Rooms spacious and comfortable. View from balcony in the rooms are breath taking. Will return very soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jesse from Columbus, GA

Great experience, wonderful view.

Posted May 27, 2014
All in all, staying at the Tidewater was a great experience - I would definitely return there again. The only caveat I would add is the potential for extended elevator wait times. While the elevators themselves were relatively fast between floors, there are not enough of them for a building this large; when busy, expect to wait at least 10-15 minutes or hit the stairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Randall from Knoxville

Great Views

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: The room size and view of the ocean even on a non beach front room. We enjoyed access to the fitness center and parking garage.
Cons: Elevators were having issues while we were there. Also, having an available restaurant and bar on site even for non peak times.
Location: There were plenty of shops and eateries within a mile. For the fisherman, a pier to fish off of is within a miles walk along the beach.
We went on vacation to celebrate our 2nd year wedding anniversary. We found the staff to be nice and approachable. We also found the room to be well kept and clean. If you are a person who is looking for a relaxed atmosphere and doesn't like room service to bother you, then this is the hotel for you. There were plenty of pools and hot tubs and the access to the beach was easily accessible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lee from Conyers Ga

close to Pier Park

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Staff and free movies
very clean, staff make us feel so welcomed!! Our room was clean and well stocked. Easy to get to and from. Loved the Beach chair rentals. Great parking and you can walk to eat. I would like the beach chair rental company to use a different method in chair section. Let us pick where we want to sit!! Because people without small kids dont want to sit with near guest with small kids. Or if the beach is not full, dont sit everyone so close, Everyone is at the beach to relax!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michael from Waterloo, IA

Great Hotel next to beach

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Bigger bed is all....
Location: Everything was reasonably close to where we were. Walk or short drive.
It was awesome! We have only one thing we needed changed/ We needed a king size bed. I'm 6'4" and we thought it was going to be a king.....Otherwise it was great. Thanks
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

only the view wAS GOOD

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: view of the gulf
Cons: everything in the room needs to be updated
Location: well located to the malls, beach
The room was dirty, broken furniture, light bulbs missing, lumpy mattress.