Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Great location, but that's about it

Posted Apr 4, 2015
This is barely an acceptable accommodation for spring break. Its close to Club LaVela and party spots on the beach, however there wasn't much going on inside the "resort". The blinds in the room don't really keep out the sunlight in the morning, so don't expect to sleep in. For your own health and safety please don't open the compartment under the stove...
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Hillaryfrom Bowling green, ky

Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed the stay! The e-mail I recieved wasn't clear on where to check-in at so that was a little bit of an issue since we wasn't sure who to check in with. The view was gorgeous and the room was nice. Overall satisfied with our stay! :)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DON'T GO THERE

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING
Location: The only advantage to this location was the surrounding restaurants.
We had confirmation on two queen beds, we only had one and a pull out sofa. Verticals didn't work, the room stayed too bright. The room smelled really bad. Bathroom too small it was hard to even close the door. Hair dryer, which should be mounted to the wall, the whole thing was under a cabinet as if it had come off the wall. Sample shampoo and conditioner had a coupon inside which expired 12/31/2013. The workout room is a joke. It's very small, dirty and smells. The cleaning fee of $150.00 is ridiculous. Overall, I'd like some sort of refund to my credit card.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom TN

Vacation

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The space was very good. Loved the walk in storage space
Cons: The bath room could use some repair such as the cabinets and the door opened in the room and was crowded.
Enjoyed our stay and the staff was great. The only problem was the distance we had to walk to our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chattanooga, TN

Comfortable Rooms, Great Pool, & Beachfront

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Basic but clean, comfortable rooms.
Location: Great location just off the main drag but easy access to all the attractions. Love the beach access and the on site snack/drink bar.
Some of the reviews that I’ve read for Top of the Gulf are less than glowing and I’m not sure why. Those reviewers must have had a much different experience than had. I last stayed in this facility in 2006. So, based on my previous positive experience 8 years ago, I booked this condo again using Expedia though Blowin’-N-the Wind Management for unit 319 in June 2014. I’m very pleased with the condo and my experience with the property management company. BECAUSE I READ THE FINE PRINT, I was not surprised by any “hidden” fees nor was I disappointed in anything the condo offered. I easily found the management company offsite and after hours, and because I can follow directions, I got my keys and paperwork and made it to the room in less than 15 minutes. The room was spotlessly clean, the towels and amenities quite adequate and exceeded my expectations and, except for a running toilet that was easily fixed by jiggling the handle, I didn’t experience any problems. The pool area was spotless, there were a LOT of chairs in the pool area, and there were no parking fees. I’m sort of bewildered by the negative reviews. So, the facility is not a five-star resort and yes, it has a few years on it. However, it is clean, well-maintained, is beach-front, has a poolside drink/snack bar, and on the week of our stay, offered a crawfish/corn/potato boil for a nominal fee. I had an awesome vacation experience and I’m sorry that my stay is over. I’ll book this facility again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach will return

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Good vacation a lot going on everything close by good security enforced
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not waste your money!

Posted Jun 14, 2014
I believe in forming your own opinions but please listen to my review and don't waste your money on this place. Room 613. The bed was from the 80s, at the most. Could not even sleep on it. Had four pillows, two which didn't have pillow cases in the room at all. The other two were extremely flat. The dresser fell apart in my hands because the glue holding it together was so old. my second Queen bed was a sleeper sofa, no thank you. Very old hotel turned into condo. Everything lined with tin foil so you can't see the grime and rust. Had to switch rooms. Luckily, the rental company did that for us. The second room was better but still wouldn't recommend.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by L_Johnsonfrom Georgia

Senior Trip (Room 116)

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
I went on a senior trip with my best friend and my germaphobic sister several weeks ago. It wasn't that bad. Until we got a "to-do" list. Before we left at 9 AM on Friday, we were required to take out the trash. So, I made a trip to the trash chute, which was a horrible room full of stinky trash. We were provided by our units owner with ONE roll of toilet paper, and let me tell you...one week full of spicy and different types of food, three women, and one roll of TP was NOT enough! We were also provided with about four towels, and could not get anymore. We were told to wash them. Why would I go on VACATION if I wanted to wash clothes? I can do this at home. I was not prepared at all for these requirements. We were also told to leave the room at a certain temperature and load the dishwasher. This brings an entire new meaning to "home away from home". I could have just stayed home and cleaned house all week. If you're looking for a party place, this is directly beside Club La Vela, and night-time beach parties are two hotels down. It's right in the middle of everything. The room is a great place if you're planning on partying it up, and not being in the room much...at all. Moldy curtains, lack of towels and toilet paper, and a black shower-bottom.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible!!!!!!

Posted Apr 22, 2014
The whole experience was horrible! I would never book a room there again! Nothing was right and this was my first spring break attending panama! And this is what I have to remember
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2014
May I ask what was wrong with your stay we were not informed from my understanding of any issues?
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst stay ever rude staff

Posted Oct 18, 2013
Will not stay there again 200 in hidden fees they charged
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015
There are no hidden fees when booking a condo room. There are extra fees for a departure cleaning fee, one parking pass, arm bands and accidental damage insurance. In the past these fees have always been listed on Expedia as an additional fee due at check in. These fees are now included in the total collected from Expedia. The property itself also emails a list of rental policies to each guest in advance so that there are no surprises about fees or services provided.