Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from louisville ky

wonderful! best time I've had in many years.

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: a little cheaper if staying more than one night.
the hotel receptionist was extremely helpful, it was my husbands first time in Florida and I haven't been since 1997, we had a very wonderful memory in Panama City Beach 2015, we will see you again beautiful beach. We definitely are telling everyone we know how great the stay was at Top of the Gulf.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Lots of hidden fees and rules everywhere room was old and outdated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The towels were dingy, sand in bed

Posted Jun 8, 2015
got the had to pay extra fees, sheets were not change from guest before, sand in bed... Paying extra 160. I'm not very happy, plus our room was supposed to be ready when we got there, it was not until 3pm... I was told it would be when we arrived about 10am-10:30am. I'm never booking with Expedia ever again. One other thing mold in bathroom roof
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Don't stay at Top of the Gulf!!!

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Pros: It was close to the beach was the only positive thing I can say.
Cons: better communication between the mgmt company and the condo. Their policy of 1 towel per person per stay is crazy when you have to share laundry room.
Location: We went to the beach and the pool. We went to Pier Park and walked on the pier. The view was beautiful on the pier.
This will be the last time we stay in Panama City Beach. This was the worst experience I have ever had on vacation. For starters we were suppose to check in at 4:00 pm. We went to the hotel and they sent us to the management office. There we were told our room was not ready. Go to dinner and wander around for awhile and they would call us when it was ready. We had left Tennessee at 7:00 am and were tired and just wanted to relax but we left and ate and shopped some. We never got a phone call so we went back to the management office and they kept trying to call the condo office to check if it was ready but no one would answer the phone. At 9:00 pm they told us to just go to the room and if it wasn't cleaned to call them back. The room was not what we booked for starters. We asked for 2 double beds and got 1 bed and a pull out couch that was very uncomfortable and had 1 sheet and no pillows with it. We had 3 towels to share between 4 people. When we asked for more towels we were told that you only get one towel and you have to wash them. The laundry room we had to share with the 1st and 2nd floor and there were only 2 washers and 1 dryer. The 2nd dryer was broken the whole time. We complained to the hotel staff and were told they couldn't help us to call the management office. When we called the management office they didn't answer the phone and we couldn't leave a message because the mail box was full.(Probably full of complaints.)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from panama city florida

Left early

Posted Jun 2, 2015
No DVD player as told. Had a gym that was a empty room and no game room as told. DVD player did not work. My party was ready to leave early.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't waste you time and money.

Posted May 27, 2015
Cons: Make sure you treat your customers right and give them the correct information about room rates and addresses.
I booked this hotel despite bad reviews. First I didn't get any confirmation email with the correct address where to check in. We arrived at the hotel and spend about an hour trying to figure out where to check in. Finally somebody gave us the number of the front desk. The front desk is located in a different hotel where we needed to drive:(Second the front desk receptionist gave us absolutely different additional fees from what Expedia sent me in its confirmation email. So I had to pay extra fees what I didn't expected! Also, I wanted to check out earlier and receptionist in the front desk told me before I was checking in that it will be possible to cancel my last 4th night if I call to Expedia but actually Expedia couldn't cancel it because the hotel management didn't give their authorization. Why would she told me this?? She gave me incorrect information. The bottom line is that the beginning of my trip was spoiled! I spent hours calling to Expedia and hours on worthless conversations with management of the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Great location, but that's about it

Posted Apr 4, 2015
This is barely an acceptable accommodation for spring break. Its close to Club LaVela and party spots on the beach, however there wasn't much going on inside the "resort". The blinds in the room don't really keep out the sunlight in the morning, so don't expect to sleep in. For your own health and safety please don't open the compartment under the stove...
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Hillary from Bowling green, ky

Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels
Enjoyed the stay! The e-mail I recieved wasn't clear on where to check-in at so that was a little bit of an issue since we wasn't sure who to check in with. The view was gorgeous and the room was nice. Overall satisfied with our stay! :)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DON'T GO THERE

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING
Location: The only advantage to this location was the surrounding restaurants.
We had confirmation on two queen beds, we only had one and a pull out sofa. Verticals didn't work, the room stayed too bright. The room smelled really bad. Bathroom too small it was hard to even close the door. Hair dryer, which should be mounted to the wall, the whole thing was under a cabinet as if it had come off the wall. Sample shampoo and conditioner had a coupon inside which expired 12/31/2013. The workout room is a joke. It's very small, dirty and smells. The cleaning fee of $150.00 is ridiculous. Overall, I'd like some sort of refund to my credit card.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Vacation

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The space was very good. Loved the walk in storage space
Cons: The bath room could use some repair such as the cabinets and the door opened in the room and was crowded.
Enjoyed our stay and the staff was great. The only problem was the distance we had to walk to our room.