Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando

never again

Posted Oct 27, 2013
worst hotel I've ever been. the building is old and not maintained. almost everything in the room doesn't work.
1 out of 5
by kate from medellin

The park was not working and the hotel was very ol

Posted Sep 20, 2013
The park was not working during the week or weekend there was a power outright so there was no air conditioning
1 out of 5
by NIKKI from JAMAICA

WORST HOTEL EVER

Posted Sep 18, 2013
Pros: THERE WAS NOTHING EXCITING ABOUT IT, CAUSE WE WERE TOLD THAT THE FACILITIES DONT EVEN WORK!
Cons: IF THE PLACE IS REFURBISH IT CAN B VERY NICE
Location: THE LOCATION IS FAR FROM CITY CENTRE AND THERES NOTHING TO DO CLOSE BY.
THIS WAS THE WORST HOTEL I EVER BEEN TO, ITS DIRTY, SMELLY AND THE SHEETS VERY DIRTY. I COULD NOT STAY THERE FOR MORE THAN 20 MINUTES. IT LOOKED NOTHING LIKE THE PICS ON THE WEBSITE, WE WERE SO DISSAPOINTED WE HAD TO BOOK ANOTHER HOTEL THE SAME NIGHT. THIS HOTEL NEEDS LOTS OF FIXING UP BEFORE IT CAN BE BOOKED AGAIN.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and moldy!

Posted Aug 1, 2013
Cons: One word, renovation!!!
Not in a great area, both far away and misleading. What is advertised, is far from the truth! Only positive comments would be about the staff.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Aruba

Avalon Panama City

Posted Jul 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
I'm sorry to say but this has to be the worse hotel I've ever been in. It took me over an hour to get to it. There is no cable and the two or three channels you can hear are not to be seen. There is a telephone installed but it does not work. The bathroom has dirty tiles. There is no indication as to how to get to the lobby. I spent about 15 minutes stepping in and out on of the elevator in order to find the lobby. They do not even have bottled water for sale. The bed and the ac were great but that is all I can come up with on the positive side. This hotel is a definite NO for me and anyone who wants to hear my opinion will hear the same. I'm a very frequent Panama visitor but have yet to find a hotel like the Avalon. On a scale of 1 to 10 I would surely rate it a 1.
1 out of 5
by Gilles from Costa Rica

Abandoned hotel

Posted May 18, 2013
Pros: the bed was confortable.
Cons: the hotel itself.
Location: Not great, pretty far from everything.
The room was clean and confortable. But the hotel itself, seems abandonned. I would compare it to a sleazy motel, where you might want to go for a "siesta". Service was very poor. I would suggest that you take this hotel off you expedia site. They changed my room, because they tought I left. I did not leave any luggage, while visiting Panama city. But they did throw away my toothbrush, toothpaste, and mouth wash.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Kim

Horrible

Posted Mar 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Do not stay here. Run down! Mouldy! Horrible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by yvonne

visiting panama

Posted Jan 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
People were friendly and helpful, rooms very big and nice, 2 king size beds. Towels and linens nice and clean. AC worked great and it was very quiet at night. Food in restaurant good. Difficulty getting internet access. Out of water for a while, but they fix things fast. Room key did not work, but got fixed later. Water park in back was open Sunday and it is very nice for kids, it was busy, but friendly atmosphere. Overall a pleasant stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Bates Hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2012
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING
This hotel is VERY, VERY run down. The grounds are extemely uncared for, and the halls were kept dark (no lighting). The pool and its surroundings was dirty. The walk ways were littered with falling tree leaves and lems. Also looks as though the green allergy/mold had not been washed away in years. The rooms smeld old and moldy. When we checked in the computer system to the rooms did not work, so we had to be escorted to our room, which by the way had no hot water. The internet service was unbelievably poor if worked at all. It felt like I was in a horror movie (The Shining and/or The Bates Hotel in the movie Psycho). I would NEVER recommend this hotel; not even to my enemies. Their website is TOTALLY. to say the least misleading.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away

Posted Aug 19, 2012
Pros: Big rooms
Cons: Everything else
Terrible place. I don't even know where to start. The hotel is quite old and smells of mildew. That alone is not enough to write a negative review IMO. Where this hotel really misses the mark is on customer service. The front desk was extremely rude. Every small request we made (such as requesting the phone number for a nearby restaurant) was met with dirty looks and smirks. The hotel's restaurant has an awful menu, and worse service. Wifi and AC were promised, but neither worked. On top of all of this, the location is quite inconvenient. Far away from the city. I hardly ever write reviews, but I had to make some comments about this hotel. Don't stay there. Please!