Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2014
After reading all the previous reviews we expected a lot more. The room as noisy and musty. Although the staff was very friendly, it did not make up for the lack of sleep and continual sneezing we experienced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rachel from Panama

A nice place to stay

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Excellent place, the room was clean and comfortable, the food was excellent too and the hotel crew was very kind. Good location. I do recommend this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dave from Riverside County, California

Close to airport / car rental places. Hard to find

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Parking was good. seemed to be a secure parking attached to the hotel and was part of the room fee.The restaurant was convenient and had good food
Cons: The room smell.
Location: Hard to find
It was close to the car rental place so easy to return car the next morning. It was very difficult to find for us anyway. we do not speak Spanish and there are not a lot of people around there that could help us find the hotel. The Hotel was very clean and the employees were trying to be helpful. The room was clean and nice but it did have a musty smell to it. All in all it was a nice clean hotel. I would be upset if I paid that much money for a hotel room at the rate we paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Location: The location is near the center of town. But David is definitely not a tourist town. It is a commercial center.
Hotel Ciudad de David is an excellent hotel. It is modern and immaculately clean. The room was spacious, nicely furnished, and very comfortable. The staff are friendly and accommodating. Most of them speak very good English. The free breakfast buffet is very good, and the restaurant menu provides many excellent choices of all kinds and the meals were great. When I needed taxi service or wanted to go out on a tour they arranged excellent services. I am returning to David on April 22nd and I have already re-booked. I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else in the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Heidi from Gananoque, Ontario

Overall nice hotel, just needs some tweaking !!

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Best part? The staff !!!!
Cons: The air conditioning system does a great job of cooling the room, but there doesn't seem to be any dehumidifying system associated with the cooling sy
Location: In March, the fair. Visiting Boquete and the area. Beautiiful coffee, orange, strawberry, banana farms. Gorgeous, green, lush scenary
Pros: Staff -- very helpful and friendly. Really the best !! Restaurant Menu -- by no means gourmet, but a nice variety of nicely prepared food at a reasonable price. Bar in the lobby -- Great coffees, drinks whatever you want. Pool - I didn't go in it, but it was impeccable. Cleaned first thing every morning. Parking -- First two floors up from the lobby is a free parking garage. Cleanliness: Absolutely beautiful Cons: Room: The air conditioning system does a great job of cooling the room, but there doesn't seem to be any dehumidifying system associated with the cooling system. Also, the room is not powered if your key isn't in the power control. So when you're not in the room the air isn't running. The result is damp clothes, etc. Neutral: Breakfast: If you're a North American who likes eggs done right, toast and crisp bacon, their breakfast buffet may not suit you. But the selection of fresh fruits, breads & pastries, cereals, nuts, juices, plus warm dishes of meats, tortillas and the not quite right eggs will simply change the way you think about breakfast during your stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2014
Dear Mrs. Heidi Thanks for sharing you experience at Hotel Ciudad de David. We value your detailed comments and are very proud you found or Staff to be a Pro. Look forward to your next visit. Best regards, Jessica Real
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Maria from Weymouth, MA

outstanding service, rooms and food

Posted Jan 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
I am a very demanding person with mild germ phobia. I have stayed here three times and each time gets only better. The surrounding of the hotel is not that great. no views and dirty block. But, the hotel is a gem in a small city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2014
Dear Maria: Thanks for choosing us during your last three visits to David, Chiriqui. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again. Best regards, Jessica Real
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Zoraida from Panama, Panama

Very comfortable and very kind staff

Posted Jan 16, 2014
Pros: Is beautifull, comfortable and the staff is very kind.
Cons: The only thing I think could be improved is the restaurant. It is very very good, but of course, you always can go gourmet.
Location: There are beaches an hour from David, and many other attractions.
The staff is very very kind, always trying to help you and solve any problem you have.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Best part of David, wonderful staff and fantastic breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Choice!

Posted Jan 10, 2014
The service matched our terrific experience at the Waldorf in Panama City. The staff was hugely helpful and quick to meet and exceed our every need. The restaurant is delicious and well priced as well, you can't go wrong with this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tim from chicago

Great staff

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: The staff, the bar and the breakfast buffet.
Cons: The seafood salad was not good. Totally overcooked the seafood and no dressing.
Location: Nice location to get to other places, especially Boquete. Not a lot to do in David, but we did find a couple of nice restaurants.
I agree with all the positive reviews of this hotel. The staff are excellent resources and extraordinarily helpful. We even got a free ride from the airport to the hotel, which was an unexpected pleasure. It was our first time in David and we were interested in going to Boquete, and Bocas del Toro and back to Panama City and the staff were helpful in laying out our options. Plus, they got us taxis and told us the price when we went out to eat at the local restaurants.