Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom A

Great spot at the beach and a half hour from City

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Excellent and very relaxing beach location a little north of Panama City. All inclusive and nice pool and workout d cities.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester, NY

second tier resort

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Location: Literally nothing near by.
We stayed at this hotel at the end of our vacation for two nights because it was on the ocean yet not too far to get back to Tocumen airport to go home the next morning. It is very isolated. It is dated. A little expensive for what it is. Had buffet food, which was not bad (but not notable) for one lunch and two breakfasts. There is nothing close, so they have you captive for food. We were there on a busy weekend and the pool was overwhelmed by the number of people, the visibility was about 5 feet in the water. The folks there were polite, if not warm. The majority of the staff are not bilingual (and neither are we), which made it a little harder, but they the staff treid to overcome our language deficiencies. Overall, not a bad experience, but not good either. I was a little disappointed, but had no major issues with the resort, staff, service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Get away

Posted Apr 8, 2015
My family and I enjoyed this hotel. We had options of swimming in the pool, the ocean or go on a trail hike; recommended for the adventurer. We took a trail and took a smaller trail to a secluded beach were we saw puffer fish and other fish from shore. We spent many hours looking for seashells and experience a giant evening migration of hermit crabs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom houston

couple stay

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Good large hotel. Food is basic and expensive its quality. Good facilities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Luisfrom Medellín

mala experiencia

Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
Muy mala atención y orientación. El todo incluido es una mentira, es todo limitado.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Josefrom Ciudad de Panamá

Descansé muy bien!

Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels.com
En realidad la pasé muy bien. El hotel es tranquilo, muy bonito y me gustó caminar en su jardín, entre las piscina y en la playa. Lo que me sorprendió al llegar fue que no había comprado una estadía de todo incluido, sino que solamente incluía el uso de la habitaciones e instalaciones. Reclamé, sin éxito por lo que tuve que pagar mi consumo....y me salió mejor que pagar todo incluido. Soy de poco tomar y poco comer. Si me gustara comer y tomar entonces si valdría la pena de pagar la tarifa de todo incluido.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice beach but somewhat overpriced

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: The beach is very nice and the views of the ships waiting to go through the canal are cool.
Location: This hotel is basically in the middle of no where and there are no other activities without traveling quite a distance.
This is a nice hotel but is getting a little rough around the edges. Some of the hotel facilities have strange hours (restaurant and bar by the pool), closing very early. Bar prices are very high and you often get drinks in a plastic cup. The main restaurant off the lobby offers very good and reasonably priced food off the menu but the buffet is the main attraction and is overpriced while the food isn't particularly good. The staff is very friendly and willing to be helpful. Unfortunately, like many other places in Panama, few speak English and therefore communicating with everyone is extremely difficult. I understand that Panama's native language is Spanish as is most of Latin America. However, in most other countries we have visited, especially those heavily involved in tourism (e.g., Costa Rica, Puerto Rico, etc.), many people speak and understand at least some English since it is mostly a universal language. If Panama intends to establish and maintain a lively tourism industry, they will need to take steps to address this issue. Yes, I know we could learn Spanish but that isn't really practical when it would only be used maybe once a year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by ARLETE

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 4, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Deyrofrom Chicago

Nice hotel to relax

Posted Jan 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
Very nice place to have fun and relax. Nice pools, rooms, two bars one near the pools, nice and various kind of food. I recommend getting the all inclusive package, it is worth it. The beach is average and the sea is calm. There are several activities to do and they even have a gym!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2015 by PL, Hotel Management
Dear Deyro, Thanks for sharing your experiences of your recent stay at InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa, Panama. On behalf of all the staff thank you for having stayed with us and give us the opportunity to serve you. . I will share your feedback with my colleagues. It our pleasure to know that you enjoyed our nice place to have fun and relax. Thank you for your recommendations to other traveler getting the all inclusive package. We are looking forward to see you soon. Best Regards, PL