Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom A

Great spot at the beach and a half hour from City

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Excellent and very relaxing beach location a little north of Panama City. All inclusive and nice pool and workout d cities.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester, NY

second tier resort

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Location: Literally nothing near by.
We stayed at this hotel at the end of our vacation for two nights because it was on the ocean yet not too far to get back to Tocumen airport to go home the next morning. It is very isolated. It is dated. A little expensive for what it is. Had buffet food, which was not bad (but not notable) for one lunch and two breakfasts. There is nothing close, so they have you captive for food. We were there on a busy weekend and the pool was overwhelmed by the number of people, the visibility was about 5 feet in the water. The folks there were polite, if not warm. The majority of the staff are not bilingual (and neither are we), which made it a little harder, but they the staff treid to overcome our language deficiencies. Overall, not a bad experience, but not good either. I was a little disappointed, but had no major issues with the resort, staff, service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Get away

Posted Apr 8, 2015
My family and I enjoyed this hotel. We had options of swimming in the pool, the ocean or go on a trail hike; recommended for the adventurer. We took a trail and took a smaller trail to a secluded beach were we saw puffer fish and other fish from shore. We spent many hours looking for seashells and experience a giant evening migration of hermit crabs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom houston

couple stay

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Good large hotel. Food is basic and expensive its quality. Good facilities
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice beach but somewhat overpriced

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: The beach is very nice and the views of the ships waiting to go through the canal are cool.
Location: This hotel is basically in the middle of no where and there are no other activities without traveling quite a distance.
This is a nice hotel but is getting a little rough around the edges. Some of the hotel facilities have strange hours (restaurant and bar by the pool), closing very early. Bar prices are very high and you often get drinks in a plastic cup. The main restaurant off the lobby offers very good and reasonably priced food off the menu but the buffet is the main attraction and is overpriced while the food isn't particularly good. The staff is very friendly and willing to be helpful. Unfortunately, like many other places in Panama, few speak English and therefore communicating with everyone is extremely difficult. I understand that Panama's native language is Spanish as is most of Latin America. However, in most other countries we have visited, especially those heavily involved in tourism (e.g., Costa Rica, Puerto Rico, etc.), many people speak and understand at least some English since it is mostly a universal language. If Panama intends to establish and maintain a lively tourism industry, they will need to take steps to address this issue. Yes, I know we could learn Spanish but that isn't really practical when it would only be used maybe once a year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Deyrofrom Chicago

Nice hotel to relax

Posted Jan 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
Very nice place to have fun and relax. Nice pools, rooms, two bars one near the pools, nice and various kind of food. I recommend getting the all inclusive package, it is worth it. The beach is average and the sea is calm. There are several activities to do and they even have a gym!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2015 by PL, Hotel Management
Dear Deyro, Thanks for sharing your experiences of your recent stay at InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa, Panama. On behalf of all the staff thank you for having stayed with us and give us the opportunity to serve you. . I will share your feedback with my colleagues. It our pleasure to know that you enjoyed our nice place to have fun and relax. Thank you for your recommendations to other traveler getting the all inclusive package. We are looking forward to see you soon. Best Regards, PL
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 16, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Galena, IL

Wonderful hotel

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Amenities and helpfulness of the staff.
Cons: Getting specific directions to various places in town. Directions tended to be ambiguous, but this had to do more with the town itself.
Location: Location is right on the beach. At high tide, beach is sandy, but at low tide it is very rocky. Panama City is just a 10 minute ride away.
This hotel was an excellent choice for our vacation. Very helpful staff in terms of knowledge and setting up tours. Pools were excellent. Middle days of the week were not very busy so had the place almost to ourselves. Food was excellent in all the restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by PL, Hotel Management
Dear Terri, we appreciate that you are taking the time to letting know your opinion is very important for us. Thank you so much for your very positive review! We are glad you enjoyed this visit. I will share your comments with my colleagues; we are pleased to know that our efforts to create memorable experiences are paying off. We hope to see you back and have the opportunity to serve you once again. With warm regards from Panama, PL
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Great hotel close to Panama City

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: - the grounds and the pools - the restaurants
Cons: - get rid of bed bugs - try to remove some of those rocks from underwater on the beach to make it more swimable - location close to Panama City
Location: - you can easily go to Panama City or visit the canal - the are other tour options such as visiting the rainforest
I spent a few days for the New Years at the hotel. The rooms are clean, they are all facing the ocean and in the distance you can see the ships waiting to enter the Panama Canal. The hotel grounds are immaculate, among the best I've seen. The pools are great too. The beach isn't great though. People are saying it's too close to the canal and the waters are not clean (which I ignored, I don't think that's an issue) - but at the low tide you can't enter the water because of the rocks (which isn't a problem during high tide). The most annoying thing are the bed bugs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by PL, Hotel Management
Dear Andrey, Thanks for sharing your experiences of your recent stay at InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa in Panama. On behalf of all the staff thank you for having stayed with us and give us the opportunity to serve you, we are pleased that you enjoyed the views from the rooms were fantastic as they all face the ocean and you can see ships waiting for their time to travel through the canal. I will share your feedback with my colleagues and follow up on your comments to make the necessary corrections in order to provide a better service. Looking for to see you again. Kind Regards, PL