Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away

Posted Aug 19, 2012
Pros: Big rooms
Cons: Everything else
Terrible place. I don't even know where to start. The hotel is quite old and smells of mildew. That alone is not enough to write a negative review IMO. Where this hotel really misses the mark is on customer service. The front desk was extremely rude. Every small request we made (such as requesting the phone number for a nearby restaurant) was met with dirty looks and smirks. The hotel's restaurant has an awful menu, and worse service. Wifi and AC were promised, but neither worked. On top of all of this, the location is quite inconvenient. Far away from the city. I hardly ever write reviews, but I had to make some comments about this hotel. Don't stay there. Please!
3 out of 5
by Axuliadorafrom Manaus - Amazonas, Brazil

just ok!

Posted Aug 11, 2012
We felt avalon has its glory in the past, but these days they can't keep it up, rooms are ok and comfortable, but all the facilities are outdated... I thank the staff for all their help, but I don't feel staying here again, besides that it is farther than I though.
2 out of 5
by Bertfrom Vancouver, BC, Canada

Beware of this Property!

Posted Aug 5, 2012
This hotel simply did not deliver. It was in the middle of no where. It would have cost us US30 each way to reach downtown plus at least 30 minutes. It was 30 minutes from the city airport and another US25.00. The "resort" is run down and passed it's prime. Albeit we were there in the off season, we could tell as soon as we entered that we had made a mistake in booking it. The rooms were very large and clean BUT there was no hot water! This is a US50 to US70 night property, don't pay twice as much as we did! The internet was also down so we couldn't even call to make other arrangements...needless to say, we were disappointed and lodged a complain with Expedia to review the hotel rating.
1 out of 5
by Sharonfrom Trinidad, West Indies

Poor choice for a hotel.

Posted Aug 2, 2012
Cons: The transportation costs.
Location: A hotel located in the middle of a forest.
First the hotel is too far from the Airport, about 30 mins and it cost me $33.00 USD for a taxi to get to the hotel and $ 30 USD from the hotel to the Airport because they do not provide a free shuttle. AC worked for about half an hour, next thing the water was just a little warm. Well don't talk about the complimentary breakfast, that was bread - white or whole wheat with butter and you could order something from the kitchen, which when I did, let me just say I had to just get up and leave the table without eating it. I do not which to say any more because it is bringing back too much bad feelings.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A Sanjur

Dont waste your time...

Posted Jul 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very poor service. Hotel seems to be going out of business. Room keys not provided as front desk clerk had to open the room for us. No Airconditioning in our frist room so we moved to another room... Electricity went out then no water for about 6 hours,,,,,,, Need i say more??
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by A verified traveler

Huge rooms, nice view, good price.

Posted Jun 16, 2012 on Hotels.com
Great but key card machine broke and could not issue keys to anybody. Had to ask staff to open room every time. Internet went down 2nd day but they offered a cellular internet stick for those with a PC. AC worked great, hot water worked. Overall, happy with stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

panama jack

Posted Mar 27, 2012
nice location service was terrible not a place to eat anything Totally ignored by staff at times.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My stay at the Avalon

Posted Feb 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
The Avalon hotel just to be a classy place where you can spect to find good service and confort, now, the hotel is lacking maintenance, the restaurant food is terrible, there are no phones in the room to comunicate with the outside world, just within the premises, and the pools, that are part of a water park, as well as and individual ones, are not being use or kept. Its a shame because, is located in the midle of a park sorrounded by trees and nature in a very private area.There are no signs to indicate wich way is the exit to the main road, so is very easy to get lost. Will I ever stay at the hotel again?, I believe this was my last time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Exc hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
Excellent service and very comfortable and spacious rooms