Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, Oh

Nice hotel on beach

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Hotel was nice and a good bargain. Restaurant was good. Unless you have a car there really isn't much to walk to. Wide black sand beach. Good for walking. Would have liked a mini fridge. Coffee maker. BYOB coffee and filters or pay 2.00/day if you want coffee in room. Biggest issue was a/c which was too cold and only had an on/off switch. Great nature preserve next door. I think they said it took several hours to get to it or 1/2 hr in 4 by 4. More to see and di in Boqueta.
1 out of 5
by Pam from Palm Beach, FL

Not the place to stay

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Cons: Update the rooms. Old furniture, bedding, tv, air conditioning, etc. Clean the pool and other cement areas.
The hotel was not at all as pictured on-line. The rooms were old, dirty and not kept up to date. Old tv's did not work. Air conditioning could not be adjusted - only on and off. The pool area had not been cleaned in a long time! Beach was mucky and more dirt than sand. We planned on staying 3 nights but could only last 1 night. The food was fair.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by brian from kc mo

Nice place

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Great place great people beautiful views close to many shops / restaurants etc....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Raul from Florida

Very pleasant surprise.

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Very quiet and family oriented spa with all that you need for a pleasant stay. Great deal for the price.
Cons: The bathrooms are not big and are tiled a red clay color which makes them feel smaller than they are. Showers are huge and have great flow of water
Location: Haven't explored yet.
The hotel is very clean and well appointed with a great restaurant and terrace for eating outside. Service and attention by staff is the best I have encountered in all Panama. Smallish but very nice pools. The rooms are nice. They are equipped with window style ACs that are so powerful I had to turn mine off at night. The ocean is beautiful. The sand is volcanic grey but has a nice texture and doesn't stick to your skin. A great place to spend a few days of quiet. The City of David is a 30 minute drive away if you want noise and restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK HOTEL ON BEACH QUITE FAR FROM PANAMERICANA

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: Nothing specific - may be the friendlyness of the reception guy!
Cons: Quite a lot but mainly restaurant service and Wifi speed
Location: Not easy and not fast to be reached from the main road. Nothing to do near by.
Facilities are OK but service (amount of staff and their efficiency) reminds of the Eastern Block Countries during communist times. Almost an hour until breakfast is served. Even some Russians that sat next table lost their nerves. And evening before for dinner was not much better. And the Wifi quality and speed was from the middle ages.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Stay if seeking Beach and/or seclusion

Posted Feb 8, 2014
Pros: The internet connection was fast and perfect. Only wired internet is available to you in the room via ethernet cable, wifi available by the pool
Cons: the layout and overall condition of the rooms and if the restaurant must be so pricey purhaps they could consider increasing the serving sizes
Location: Must be a beach lover or someone seeking seclusion, there is nothing else to do nearby
The staff here is friendly and eager to help.The beach is absolutely beautiful, I loved the corse black sand. The hotel restaurant staff is also very friendly but the prices are much higher than what you will pay in town and the servings are very small you are even charged for water so you may want to rent a car if staying here as a cab ride will be at least 30. Be careful to negotiate prices up front for cab rides to and from the hotel our first night there we did not negotiate up front and the cab driver charged us $70, hard lesson learned. Typical price is $30 each way so with that and the expensive food at the hotel (you have no other options within reasonable distance as you are 20 minute drive from the city and they know it and are charging you accordingly) the cost to stay here gets very expensive if you do not have a rental car so please consider that when booking here. The hotel has beautiful common ground area but we were very disappointed with the layout of the room itself. The television only had one channel CNN so if you love to watch the news great if not you may want to bring your laptop or tablet so you can watch movies when not out sight seeing or on the beach. The room left much to be desired you get a table with 4 bottle of water, that cost if you drink them, a basic alarm clock, an old coffee maker the bed and the tv stand and that is it. This was ok since we spent most of our time outside the room anyway but my first impression was "is this it?"
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Large facility on beach

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: Staff was nice, glad to have some beach-time at an affordable rate.
Cons: Interior of the room was dark in the evening. It would have been nice to have wifi in the room but at least it was available in public areas.
Location: Right on the beach, private beach for the resort. Going to the right brought us to the public beach which was fun for people-watching and dining.
We drove to Las Olas; following the directions on the website made it easy, though slow because of narrow roads, some potholes to watch out for. The room was on the small side, with 2 queen beds, and it needed more light. We got a room on the second floor with a balcony, fairly good view of the beach. We didn't go into the water as we'd been warned about the undertow but did enjoy walking to the right down the beach to where the locals go. We had a fish lunch sold by one of the palapa-type restaurants--a delicious whole fish shared by the two of us. Also ate at the hotel's restaurant which was fine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by dw from ca

on the beach

Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
we chose this hotel because it was on the beach and within a drivable distance to the airport in david so we could make our morning flight. the room was clean but the towels were threadbare, pillows lumpy and the mattress uncomfortable. lighting was poor and no adjustment on the air conditioner just on or off since there were no screens on the windows we had to use it even though it was very noisy. The bathroom was extremely dated and dark it looked dirty but i think it was as clean as they could get it. the out side had a fresh coat of paint and looked good from a distance but up close the grounds were need of alot of work,sand covering all the walkways . we had dinner at the restaurant since it was the only real choice and it was decent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by firetwirler from California

Beach setting was beautiful. Service was lacking

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff was hostile to Americans, and the service was horrible, but our stay was enjoyable anyway. We spent hours walking on the beautiful beach. We enjoyed the perfect weather and breath'taking sunsets. The food at the hotel restaurant was outstanding! The best margaritas I have ever had. On our last night there, we went to bed early. Around 11 pm a hotel staff member knocked on our door and woke us up to ask for our ice bucket. Apparently it was needed for a party they were having on the beach. We could only laugh at how ridiculous this was because if you tried to get any type of service in your room they would ignore you for hours or blow you off entirely. We ordered a pot of coffee through the room service menu but it never arrived. When we called to ask about it they told us they didnĀ“t have room service and suggested we come get it. I guess the room service menu was just for giggles. I must say we enjoyed our visit anyway despite the lack of service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dave

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2013