Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Elizabeth from New Jersey

Gotham City-We checked outed early!

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Pros: Pool area
Cons: Honesty.
There is a scam going on with the hotel staff-bellman and "their" appointed cab drivers. When they got us a cab to go to Fort Clayton it was $25.00 one-way. When "we" got our own cab, it was $8.00 one-way! The showers dripped randomly in the middle of the night, the TV did not work properly during our entire stay, the walls in our room were painted black and the rooms were very dark. There wasn't one picture on the walls, there was not a full length mirror in site, and the worst of all, there were small windows near the ceiling. There also appeared to be stains that looked like blood behind the curtains. When we had dinner on Saturday night, It took 30 minutes for them to take our order. Under staffed. Sunday morning there was no one in the pool area to service you until 3:00pm. You had to go downstairs to get food/ etc. We checked out early and booked another hotel. That was the best move we made!
Comment from
Jan 22, 2014
Dear Elizabeth, Thank you for your recent visit to the Manrey Hotel and thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am sorry your stay was met with unexpected disappointments. We will certainly check on those situations and see what happened with the service we are used to offer. Once again we greatly appreciate your honest review and look forward to welcoming you back and changing this experience for you. Eric Franco Operations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Traveler from Chicago

Great location and service

Posted Jul 6, 2013
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Shower room. .
Location: Many restaurants, e.g. Habibi, Brickhouse, El Gaucho, etc
The hotel is located across the street from many restaurants and walking distance to Balboa Ave. Rooms are pretty clean and the only thing kind of weird is that many of them do not have windows. The showers are "different" also. Both rooms we stayed in, had the showers way high and cannot be adjusted. The water is coming from above and there's no place to hide for the 10 minutes that it takes for the water to get hot. AC is great and the staff were very nice and ready to help with questions or directions. We stayed there for two nights, then drove to Coronado where we stayed for few nights and when we came back to Panama City, we stayed for two more nights. The second stay, we asked the receptionist if all the rooms are windowless and she upgraded us with no extra charge to a room with some sort of windows and gave us coupons for free breakfast. I guess, using "por favor" and "gracias" when communicating with the staff helps. Overall and all considered, my wife and I we enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Erin from Oakland, CA

Halfway between the old cities.

Posted Jun 15, 2013
Pros: The beds were incredibly comfortable, the service and atmosphere were modern and excellent.
Cons: Nothing, it was a perfect stay.
Location: There are lots of restaurants nearby and the hotel is halfway between Ciudad Viejo and Casco Viejo.
The hotel staff was great for information and the hotel amenities were excellent. There was a 20% discount at the bar and I loved the pool area. The location is in a great, hip area of town near the waterfront. The hotel was excellent in itemizing bills and absolutely organized and on top of everything. The beds were incredibly comfortable. I would absolutely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Manrey

Posted Jun 14, 2013
Pros: Quiet.
Cons: Steps into Hotel from street.
Location: Convenient.
Quiet, comfortable, convenient, excellent valet parking - terrific hotel.
3 out of 5
by GW from New York, NY, USA

Hipsters and swingers only hotel...

Posted May 25, 2013
Pros: nice front desk staff; bartender made terrific pisco sours
Cons: noisy throbbing techno music 24/7; taxi driver robber out front
Location: party central
If you like throbbing electronic music pounding out in the lobby 24/7, yes at breakfast too, then this is the place for you. Hotel is located in nightclub area, so if that is your thing, stay here. Rooms are trying to be very hip, but walls look like they were painted by a third grader, with drips and splotches, unless it is supposed to be "art" and we just didn't get it. Open bath concept with glass door for the toilet stall that provided minimal privacy. Rain forest style shower head was clogged. Hair dryer was broken. Avoid the "garden" rooms unless you like living in a terrarium. "Garden" is a room with plants - a little claustrophobic for us. Biggest problem was the free lance driver (or should I say 'rip off artist') out front, who seemed to be there with the hotel's blessing. A cab ride to Amador that should have been $10 tops was on his "paper" as being $35!!! We gave him $15 and told the hotel that such thieves looking to rip off tourists should be run off their property. Yet he was there the next day, thus my making note of it here. Lesson learned... Ask price for ride before getting into the car! La Posta restaurant just around the corner is a gem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jane from nebraska

well located to restaurants, promenade, casco viej

Posted May 25, 2013
Pros: The desk staff was excellent. The food in the hotel was also excellent, and we ate there several times. Courtesy breakfast had many choices.
Cons: The pool was almost unusable because of the party-like atmosphere at night and a sample sale. Room was dark with no windows.
Location: Very good restaurants are just across the street. Promenade along waterfront is also very close. Casco Viejo is also close.
Hotel is very contemporary; rooms are large and nicely appointed. rooms on first floor do not have windows. excellent restaurants near-by--best food we had in Panama. Staff was very helpful, friendly and professional. It is within walking distance to Casco Viejo. Lack of windows is the reason it is four-star and not five-star.
2 out of 5
by Larry from Arkansas, USA

Would not recommend.

Posted Apr 27, 2013
Pros: The desk people were quite helpfull.
Cons: Drinks were quite expensive.
Location: Two blocks from main street and most hotels. Only view was from the top bar on forth floor.
Lots of disapointment. Bathroom was small, pool was two feet deep only, hotel had only one server in morning and did not speak English. No coffee in room, had to wait for waiter to bring. Key cards would malfuntion all the time (others complained also). Had to call for ice (no on floor ice). Did not like no window room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Amy from San Diego, CA

Manrey

Posted Apr 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
I really like this hotel. I just wish it had a gym. Also the complimentary breakfast isn't a hot breakfast which would be better. Nevertheless, great place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by gin from London, UK

Good hotel for panama city

Posted Apr 3, 2013
Pros: Pool bar
Cons: Small high windows
Location: Good area with bars and restaurants nearby. Also good supermarket 5 mins walk
Staff friendly overall but at times was an effort to get things resolved. We had high, small windows that we couldn't see out of but were up by the pool most of the time we were in the hotel so not much of an issue. Very clean and tidy hotel. Good location. Enjoyed our stay and would recommend. We were 3 adults but were families staying, mostly couples though.
1 out of 5
by chris from LA & Panama

stay away dreadful service and no windows

Posted Apr 2, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: service
Location: great area close to restaurants
great location. i have stayed in hotels about 300 night over the last five years in latin america and the Manrey service was at the very bottom of the list. Also very rude and many operational issues.