Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

this hotel was not in a nice location.

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: the hotel itself is ok
Cons: better understanding of where this hotel is located
Location: there is nothing to do in this area. The city of Colon is not safe
We did not have a good experience. The hotel is located very far and not in a very nice part of town. When we arrived, we called EXpedia to assist us with finding another hotel. We stayed one night at Melia and left the following day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2015 by Antonio Ochoa - Revenue Manager, Hotel Management
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to express your comment. The hotel is located in a strategic location on the shores of Lake Gatun, which is the lake that provides water to operate the Panama Canal. We are surrounded by an ideal ecosystem for nature lovers. At the same time we are only 10 minutes from the Colon Free Zone and cruise ports. We hope to receive in the future and show you the best of us. Best Regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2015
The food it's too Expensive!!! and is not good food!!! I think the room should be 60 dollars per night!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2015 by Antonio Ochoa - Revenue Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comment. We very much regret that you could not enjoy our food. We constantly review our menu to ensure that will please our customers. We will take into consideration your experience and hopefully you enjoy our food at your next visit. Best Regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from la seyne

hotel decevant

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: sa situation, son style
Cons: le personnel qui est peu motivé
Location: hotel situé au bord d un lac; l hotel propose quelques sorties dans les environs
accueil glacial, les boissons du repas sont servies lorsque vous avez terminé votre repas, eau trouble de la pisine, tables et transats rarement nettoyés autour de la pisine
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston MA

Nice building, not so nice location

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: When it wasn't so busy, we loved the food and staff. It's nice to see the pool filled. It's ultra quiet, the interior is beautiful but deteriorating
Cons: attention to detail, the lobby windows were dirty and need a cleaning. the hallways were consistently unattended to and the public restrooms unstocked
Location: The Gatun Locks are a short drive, and there's not much else to do. The immediate area is safe, but the drive to it is sad. Trash lines the streets.
So the place is beautiful, the building is very well maintained for the area standards, tho the lawn is non existent. The pool deck is seldom cleaned, the room advertises mini-bar but there isn't one in the room and the sign indicates that. The restaurant service and food was excellent, but as the weekend approached the quality of both quickly deteriorated. It was Holy Week, so not sure if that had anything to do with it. Definitely the all inclusive is well worth it, and there's nothing within a 20, 25 minute drive anyway that we could see. Hotel staff were non-responsive when my pool towel was taken. It's a $50 charge if you don't return the card. I guess they think you're supposed to keep it on you at all times, even when you're in the pool. Two hours later I finally got someone who understood, but it was a frustrating two hours, not what you want or need on vacation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from panama

Nice hotel , clean enough comfort for short stay

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: The environment
Location: Visit the gatun locks and san Lorenzo casttle
Normal, Good kitchen and nice natural environment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Carmen Lourdes from Lima

Buen hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2015 on Hotels
Respecto al hotel falta que le hagan algunas renovaciones. En el cuarto habia enchufes que no funcionaban. El personal estuvo excelente (no me acuerdo como se llama el que atendia el bar pero era un excelente personal... totalmente atento). Lo unico que no me gusto era cuando nos llevaban a la zona libre. Uno de los chicos que nos llevaba y recogia era excelente te ayudaba con las compras; sin embargo, uno de los choferes que poseia una camioneta negra nos pidio 5 dolares para darle al policia y nos dejara sacar nuestras compras (que en realidad eran pocas) pero nunca le dio y el dinero se lo quedo el. El dinero no es tan importante porque solo eran 5 dolares;sin embargo, fue la conducta del conductor que me molesto. Ese tipo de empleados deja mal al hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Buenos días Sra. Carmen, Muchas gracias por sus comentarios. Desde el año pasado tenemos un proyecto de renovación total del hotel, lo estamos haciendo de forma que no afecte a los clientes, es como un mantenimiento continuo. de igual forma estamos capacitando a todo el personal de servicio al cliente y nos alegra mucho que usted haya lo haya notado. En referencia al tema de la Zona Libre, lo tendremos en cuenta. Nuevamente muchas gracias y esperamos recibirle pronto en nuestro Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 4, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Efforts for improvement, but lack of supervision.

Posted Apr 1, 2015
We checked in early by 2 pm, and waited for our "Deluxe room" to be available at 3 pm (normal check in time). Hotel was empty. We've been here many times, and been assigned great & spacious rooms, but this time we received the smallest room in all our visits (i doubt this could be called a 'Deluxe room'). Must mention we could see a much better maintenance at pool area (no matter showers were not working). Also improvements on kayaks & lake area, more attractive menu for all meals (we had an incident with a waitress, when after 20 minutes we had starting our lunch, and requested drinks for the family, we were told that we had sitted in a 'area that was closed', only receiving service after I went to the front cashier claiming on service. They did apologyze, but issue was due to absence of supervision. As said at start, no doubt that efforts for offering, at least, same service level as other vacationing hotels, but there is lack of constant supervision to meet the, I hope, desired level (gym opens at 9 am, bikes available after 10 am, no activities planned from Mon-Fri, even ping pong table is stored away (only weekends), etc. Hotel building is huge, lot of potential, but it seems management haven't found the proper strategy for maintaining occupation, and optimize service and orientation to guests satisfaction.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paul Werner from Piriápolis

Buen sitio, precisen mejor educacíon del personal

Posted Mar 27, 2015 on Hotels
Muy bueno hotel. Las mucamas precisen mas educacíon y/o control. Explicé una en el secunda dia para reglar un foco arriba del espejo del bano y di la la lampara rota. Nada hasta la salida 4 dias despues. Un dia faltan toalla, los vasos en el bano no limpió
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, poor dining room

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: The grounds, the pool, the room.
Cons: Reception, a menu in the dining room, lighting in the reception and lobby areas.
Location: Visit construction of the new giant canal lock; cross over the canal - a unique experience, and spent a lot of time in the rain forest.
Reception very slow. Three counters, one employee, and a group of 10 arriving in front of us! Check-in starts at 3 pm and we arrived at about 3:15 pm, so they should have staffed up the reception for the arrivals. Building is old but generally in good shape. Staff were ok, but a smile occasionally would not go amiss. The most pleasant staff member we met was the "bell boy". Location of hotel is great if you are wildlife lovers like us; howler monkeys, sloths, birds etc, all in the hotel grounds. From the point of view of meals the location is not so good, particularly if you don't have a car. In the hotel dining room the breakfast buffet was ok, the dinner buffet was edible but uninteresting, and for seniors who are used to sharing a single a la carte meal because our appetites are not what they used to be, the lack of a menu made dinner quite expensive and not worth the cost. If you do have a car however you might want to think twice before venturing into Colon after dark!