Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Excellent Value

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The two pools are very nice, and we especially liked the variety of restaurants at the resort.
Location: El Valle is a beautiful area close to Playa Blanca that offers a canopy tour, a natural pool, as well as a fantastic zoo and hot springs.
My husband and I stayed at Playa Blanca Resort with our two children and the whole family enjoyed the trip. The food was better than other all-inclusive resorts I've visited, and our room was nice and right on the beach (even though we did not request or upgrade to beach-front). The staff is very friendly and accommodating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: lots of bars and pools, and on the beach
Cons: hot water in the rooms, internet that extended to the pool area and not just worked in the lobby...which was NOT air conditioned
Location: nothing close by, everything we needed was at the resort! relaxation, pool, beach drinks...nothing more needed
Ok hotel for the money, long drive from the airport...$100 each way. Although the staff was nice, hardly anyone spoke English. It was ok, it gave us a change to practice our limited Spanish. There was no hot water, but that was ok because it was so hot there anyway. good inexpensive vacation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brampton, Ontario

Wonderful resort, terrific people, amazing time!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Wow! We had an incredible time! The food was terrific, the pools awesome, the beach was fun. The sand wasn't white this time of year, but who cares. It was still beautiful. The entertainment at the resort was awesome! The entertainment staff work really hard practicing daily for the nightly shows. The have a kids show that starts off the program. Our kids really enjoyed it. We really enjoyed all of it. And all the people that we encountered went above and beyond for us. I can go on and on! We will definitely go back one day. I am sad we had to leave!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eric from Arizona

For an all-inclusive, it lacked

Posted Mar 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was supposed to be a couple of nice days away with the wife; it was ok. The first problem was the front door - the handle was loose and required just the right touch to get it open. Asked maintenance to take care of it, they made it worse. Coffee maker in the room, but no coffee. We had to ask housekeeping for coffee. The next day, no coffee in the room again. Meal quality was hit and miss; some food was good, other not so much. Nearby beach was clean and filled with chairs and shade. Bad news - they let quad-runners, horses and dirt bikes run around in front of you. The hardest working people there were the show crew and bartenders; unfortunately, the building we were in was right next to the show area, bar and disco. Blah, blah, blah and music until 3 a.m. Anyone looking for quiet at this place, try to get buildings 100 through 500; buildings 600 and 700 are too close to the noise. One brand of beer on tap, but a lot of liquor, mixed drinks and sodas. This place could be so much better with some attention to detail by management, maintenance and housekeeping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mickey from Panama

Nice hotel, good food.

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: Food and personnel attention
Location: Good location
Good hotel, beach clean. Air conditioner in the room not very good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Christine from Chicago, IL

Nice, but we expected more

Posted Feb 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
We took the intercity bus from Albrook bus terminal in Panama City to Rio Hato ($3.90/person) then took a cab from there ($5), and it took about 2 hours. We took a cab back to Tocumen airport for $120. The surrounding area is very poor and you wouldn't want to leave the resort to explore it. The resort is large, but it is still under construction so there is a lot of noise by the big pool. It's fine by the other pools though. The food was pretty good and there was always a good variety, which changed from day to day. They have a buffet, a sushi restaurant, and a Thai restaurant -- we weren't impressed with the restaurants and thought the buffet food was better. There weren't enough bathrooms in the main areas so there were frequently lines; the toilets in the main areas often didn't flush! The room was nice but the walls are thin and you can hear every time someone walks by or closes a door. If you're staying in the Suites, there is a different check-in desk, in a separate building than the main one. Unfortunately, we didn't know that and had to wait in a chaotic lobby where there weren't lines, just people standing around the front desk. The Suites are farther from the main action, but not a big deal. We had our do not disturb sign in the entire time and the cleaning staff still went in -- we were very frustrated by this! You should know some Spanish if you're going to go -- most guests are Latin American and most of the staff only speak Spanish.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ryan from Canada

Not really much around to do outside of hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was ok. No hot water in room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Duncan from northern California

Great for families with children..

Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
it was fun and definitely a worthwhile four day escape. This resort does an amazing job of accommodating the needs of several hundred guests. It was very inconvenient, and expensive, to get there. The web site mentions a shuttle service - which does not exist. A resort map and information sheet was not offered at check in - and was not available in the room. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Music at the "adult" pool was very loud, with lyrics offensive to some. The evening children and adult shows were terrific! We look forward to returning for a second visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Katherine from Panama City

Good for what you pay for

Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed two nights at this resort. We had a good time overall. There isn't much to do other than the pool and the beach. My husband got stung by something (thinking it was a jellyfish) within 5 mins of being in the ocean, so we avoided that the rest of the trip. The ocean has a lot of rocks at the bottom. We only saw a handful of people there, most were at one of the two pools, which were nice. This resort does not have access to the large pool (billed the largest in the Caribbean). That is only for residents and people staying in the town center suites. The food is ok. Just ok. Some days we said, "this isn't so bad",however one morning I didn't eat anything. The hard boiled eggs were still liquid, the hash browns were extremely greasy, and nothing else looked appetizing. It is buffet style and usually you can find something, but do not expect high quality food. But, remember how much you paid-this is not a ClubMed or Royal Decameron, The rooms were nice and clean. We would probably stay again.