Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Surprisingly wonderful and BEST decision I made...

Posted Jun 16, 2014
I had read some complaints about the Tortuga so was a little skeptical when booking for myself plus family....but it ended up being a very wise decision.... When you finally get down there you see FAST what your alternatives actually look like...and if you are with a family and not looking to party till 3AM....the Tortuga is the smartest choice. The employees were all very nice and accomodating. The pool is nice, the restaurant is great, overall we were very pleased.
2 out of 5
by katrina from london

Very disappointing, low class hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Nothing at all. Check in took a very long time, and took 2 people.
Cons: The staff attitude to assisting guests, better management organisational structure, better use of the building, example, the kids games room is silly
Location: Location is good, and they offer a free shuttle into town 4 times a day. We only stayed her one night, and are thankful we didn't stay longer
The only large hotel on bocas, it is a very disappointing hotel. We got a deal for the one night we had to stay here, only £77, but others paid a lot more per night, and I can't Understand how they justify their charges? The staff ignored us when we asked for our luggage when Waving their were several managers who were sat at the bar inside the reception talking amongst themselves, and ignoring us. They have a kids games room which is very very basic, next to the main reception area, so it is very loud when checking in and out? Not a very welcoming situation at all.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Noisy rooms.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Cons: Yes, move your water pump facilty or insulate it.
Location: Great snorkeling, diving and tours, just go into town there are plenty of places that will assist.
Playa Tortuga hotel, has great facilities, however if you stay on the north side of the hotel, especially the last rooms, these are quite noisy. There's an area with a loud water pump which runs all day, even with earplugs I wasn't able to sleep well. I asked the staff for a different room, which they changed, but weren't too friendly about it. The facilities are good, food is good and breakfast was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel off the beaten path in Bocas

Posted Mar 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful clean hotel with wonderful amenities. It's a little ways away from Bocas town. Easy $5/5 minute taxi ride over to the happening area. Centro does not have any luxurious hotels so this is a great option if you don't mind the small commute to and from town center.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No wifi

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Bad breakfast, bad Wi-Fi, we ask for Internet connection but nothing will be done.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by rf from USA

Marginal at best

Posted Feb 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean sweep poor. No functional internet, no hot water, poor water pressure, room smelled like insecticide. What more could you ask for? Oh yeah, the power went out for 4 hours!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by brian from montana

Nice place

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Bit of a mix up at check in, but they made it right. Facilities were nice. Not much for a place to swim in the ocean, but a nice pool. An easy distance from town, just a $2 taxi ride per person. I would stay here again