Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, now temporarily living in Costa Rica

Wonderful Experience!!

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: Service, convienence to business district, and resturants, shopping.
Cons: At some times there was not hot water in the shower.
Location: Great
Had a great stay here; staff was wonderful and treated us very nice. I called to get a corkscrew to open a bottle of wine in the room and when the bell hop came I told him we were celebrating my wife's birthday and he returned with a nice serving of flan with a candle. How nice and unexpected. Overall service was extremely gracious.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No service for 5 stars

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: The room confort. The swimming pool and restaurant views.
Cons: The cleaniness in restaurant. The staff in restaurant. They are rude and they hasn't any training in attending.
Location: The location is good.
When we arriving we asked for a friend reservation and insist with their all complete names but the recepcionist said he didn't found the reservation and they had it, but in meantime we were very worried thinking what happened to them... On the check out the recepcionist has no experience and didn't know to attend us and he was allone in the reception and that it's not acceptable in a five stars hotel. The restaurant staff was rude, very rude... The room cleaniness was ok but the restaurant cleaniness was terrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario, california

Nice hotel still under construction

Posted May 2, 2015
We stayed in the business suite at royal sonesta which is a HUGE room with seperate living room. Comfortwise this is a beautiful place to stay. The pool over looks all of Panama City, which is awesome if you dont mind looking at all the construction. The staff..oh the staff....besides Jesus at the bar in the restaurant, customer service is the worst ive ever experienced. Nobody smiles, and nobody cares. Takes about a half hour to get a drink, so better order everything all at once cause youll be waiting a while. However, we began to see that this type of service was pretty typical in all of Panama City. Locationwise is decent for Royal Sonesta. Its on a busy street that has everything you need: gift shop, pharmacy, restaurants, bars, and casino. Although the actual Royal Sonesta casino is not yet open. If you're looking for a "happening" place to stay this is not it, but if you are a married couple just looking to enjoy yourselves and some peace and quiet, i strongly recommend. There is nobody anywhere. The pool, restaurant, and gym are always empty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by MONICA BEATRIZ from Buenos Aires - Argentina

Hotel y servicio excelente

Posted Mar 26, 2015 on Hotels
Excelente ubicación, el personal muy amable, el desayuno con muchas opciones y abundante. Totalmente recomendable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Matthew from Santa Monica CA

Ideal for business

Posted Mar 14, 2015 on Hotels
FREE: full breakfast, meeting rooms, wifi. Good central location, great dining within walking distance in a safe and quiet area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Overall the hotel is good, clean; staff is friendly and always ready to help. The worst of all are the elevators, it is a nightmare if you in a hurry to go out, consider at least 7-10 min from mid-top floors to the lobby, or pool at the 27-th floor. Very safe area around. Finally you get what you've paid for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mike from Seattle

Very Nice

Posted Mar 1, 2015 on Hotels
This is a very nice hotel. It is still being finished, so the casino and bar are not yet open. The staff was attentive to my needs. The reception staff speak English and are friendly and helpful. The restaurant has great food, but a bit on the expensive side. The included breakfast has just about anything you want, from special order omelets to cereal, and a wide range of pastries. The rooftop pool is small and only 4 feet deep. The water was a little too warm for cooling off in the hot sun, but still better than no pool at all. The views from the pool area are great. They have a nice gym, with sauna, jacuzzi, and a salon. This is a pretty nice place to stay and I will stay here again if I return to Panama City.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 25, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by ANA DEL V from Argentina

Lo recomiendo sin dudas

Posted Feb 2, 2015 on Hotels
Excelente!!! Nos dieron una habitacion superior espaciosisima.Zona muy buena Cerca de todo.Recomiendo para comer un restaurante chiquito q se llama "du liban"a media cuadra del hotel. Servicoo de.mozos malo ( en especisl sr. Antonio: no contesta cuando se le habla) Room service no contesta, recepcion muy tarde tampoco