Ratings based on 356 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, Cananda

Great!

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: Great value for money!
Location: Near Centro; try fish dinner at Machu Pitchu restaurant- 5 min. walk
Great hotel with efficient staff; No deficiency- expectations were met.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

One of the nicest we have been in.

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing. It was all we could ask for, for the price we paid. Great value.
Location: It was in the center city.
The desk people were very helpful per our lost luggage. The room and bath was beyond our expectation. The buffet breakfast was well laid out and had great variety of food and fresh fruit. The staff was very helpful per our questions about the area and attractions. They were very friendly when we checked out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Lewes, DE

City center with family

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: We had the best tour guide right from the hotel.. Ask for Mario if you want a great tour from an English speaking expert on Panama! He was so nice!
Location: El Trapiche for traditional Panamanian food, yum! Playground on Via Argentina. Hike in Parque Nacionale Metroplitano (short cab ride).
We stayed five nights. The hotel was perfect for our small family. The pool was a great amenity to have for a break from a morning/day of touring around before going out to dinner. The staff was nice. The location convenient to many things, restaurants, shops in walking distance
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a prendre!!

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: la reception,le service taxi
Cons: le petit déjeuner leger
dommage que le centre de Panama soit aussi délaissé sur le plan de la propreté, les trottoirs défoncés et quelques commerces détonants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Good Location

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: Location and the baggage storage service after the check out as we still have some time to spend before our flight.
Conveniently located in El Cangrejo area. Plenty of restaurants nearby. About 2 blocks to the Iglesia del Carmen train station which at this time only has limited distance ( Albrook mall to San Isidro) 3 stations down is "5 de Mayo" station where you can walk to Mercado de Mariscos for cheap seafoods, and a few more walks down can take you to the old town. The hotel has a rooftop dipping pool, a gym, sauna and steam room. Breakfast buffet is included with good food choices. The reception can assist you with taxi service, as they are just waiting outside of the hotel. We took a taxi ($20 each way) to Miraflores locks (a must see in Panama) and our driver Jeronimo had waited for us on our way back which made it more convenient. He even sort of toured us at the museum which took us in all just about 2 hours as fortunately had two ships passing at that time. The short movie is also very good. Afterwards we asked Jeronimo to take us to the mercado for some ceviche, calamari and fried fish. After a couple of beer with the hot weather we decided to return back to the hotel to rest but then on our way back Jeronimo took us for a glimpse of the old town. I'm not sure how much the tour would cost, but we just treated our driver for lunch and gave a generous tip on top of the cab fare.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas

Nice, but it's too far from he airport and city.

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: Frienlyness.
Cons: "Concierge desk" at the front, so that private travelers like us, we can arrange the city tours, etc..
Location: Too far from the airport, and city. There is no place to go anywhere by foot.
Hotel people did try, but I think they need more English speaking employees.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom springfied va

Posted Jan 27, 2015
People were very anxious to please. resteraunt staff helpful but most very limited in understanding or speaking English. The room service limited menu was only one in English. Only vanilla ice cream and one other dessert item any and every day.. Greeters at the front door great and also people at reception desk..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Orleans, LA

So nice the first time we came back

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: big comfortable beds plenty of space in the room.
Location: There were a number of good bars and restaurants.
We initially stayed for one night after flying into Panama City. The stay was so nice. The room was big and there was space to put all our bags. The bed was very comfortable. The shower was huge and the bathroom roomy. There was a refrigerator, but no mini bar. That was fine because we bought our own drinks outside. We went to a few other sights in Panama and instead of trying another hotel we were happy to come back to the Tryp. We missed the breakfast the first night because we had an early ride for a trip. When we came back and had the breakfast we were delighted. There was homemade pie at breakfast. All of the fruit was fresh and it was just a great way to start the day. We would definitely come back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2015 by Jose, Hotel Management
Dear MSC Thank you so very much for your outstanding review and awesome recommendation! That is very high praise indeed!. It is good to know that our profesional staff made you feel comfortable, secure and with extra mile that we always encourage them to perform!. It is good to know that you could enjoyed our morning premium breakfast and many fresh bread specially made by our Pastry Chef Rolando. Hope that the travel bring you back to Panama again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom M.B.D, North Beunswick, NJ

Nice Hotel but front desk staff...?

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Hotel was comfortable, clean and relaxing pool area. Front desk staff was less than honest he fraudulently charged my account after room fee, if i wasnt checking my account i would've not known till i got home. When confronted he gave no explanation but proceeded to cancelled the unauthorized charge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2015 by Jose, Hotel Management
Dear Maritza We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel. However, we apologize for inconvenience you experience with the overcharge, we just recently change to a new credit card bank we new procedures but we already processed the holds as a charge, we already corrected this and made the proper adjustment for this operation, this is not a normal situation we have at our hotel. Your comments have been shared with our management and team for follow up Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2015 by Jose, Hotel Management
Dear Maritza We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel. However, we apologize for inconvenience you experience with the overcharge after check out, we do have a problem with our local bank that processed some hold amount as a charge, we already correct this with them and we are more than happy for you too . This is not a normal situation we have at our hotel. Your comments have been shared with our management and team Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sweden

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Topvalue, nice rooms with excellent views of the Panama City-skyline, good breakfast included, roof-top pool, helpful staff, I strongly recommend this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2015 by Jose, Hotel Management
Dear Chister Thank you so very much for your outstanding review and awesome recommendation! That is very high praise indeed!. It is good to know that our profesional staff made you feel comfortable, secure and with extra mile that we always encourage them to perform!