Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vermont

Nice, quiet resort not too far from everything.

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: A quiet resort. The pools were great! The food was delicious and the staff was excellent.
Cons: Each meal for a couple runs between $50-$75. It adds up fast. However, the food is excellent. Not the greatest beach in the world.
Location: Drive or take a taxi to Allbrook Mall, Old Panama City, Panama Canal and the city waterfront where you can see all the skyscrapers!
Not one of the nicest beaches in terms of sand quality. Also, the ocean isn't the turquoise blue color like you would find in other tropical locations. When it's low-tide, there are lots of rocks. But you can see the ships in the distance waiting to go through the canal and a few mountains. So, the view is more interesting. It's still nice to be on a beach. They offer FREE kayaking. The ocean is calm there, so it's safe. The pools are excellent. There is a swim-up bar. The hotel is a great facility. Clean, comfortable rooms. The staff is helpful and greets you with a smile. Not all of them speak English, so it wouldn't hurt to brush up on some basic Spanish. The meals are not included and they are expensive, but the food is excellent. There is a nice gift shop for souvenirs. A bar where you can dance or karaoke. I was only there for three nights. I spent my time at the beach, in the pool or in Panama City. You need to drive or take a taxi to go anyplace because there is nothing within walking distance. If you love to shop, go to the Allbrook Mall. A very colorful and attractive mall with lots of great stores. Visit Old Panama City and spend time on the weekend down at the waterfront park. Lots of people walking around and there are vendors selling food, drinks, snacks and souvenirs. Of course, go to the Panama Canal! A must see! In my opinion, this resort is ideal for young familes, couples or those who enjoy a quiet place to take a vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bogota

Great hotel, amazing staff

Posted Apr 6, 2015
1. Rent a car! 2. Get the all inclusive premium package at the concierge 3. Go to the spa 4. Don't bother reserving a kayak, the lifeguards who handle the reservations don't abide by them (only downfall of the whole experience). Enjoy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, New York

Lovely pools with scenic views

Posted Mar 23, 2015
We originally had a green view room, but it seemed small and the view left something to be desired. We upgraded to the ocean view and it felt larger and was much nicer (even considering it was only a $30 upgrade). You could see large ships on horizon, nice sun rises, hotel staff was accommodating, overall the facility was lovely with a good mix of guests. Could use a few more vegitarian and vegan options, but decent mix of food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Moms and daughters trip

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: The staff. So nice and so friendly. Our rooms were also wonderful, as was the Concierge Floor (19), the spa, & the Asiana and Fuego restaurants.
Cons: The beach and the music around the pools. I would given 5 stars had the beach been swimmable and if at least one of the pools was music free.
Location: The location is very remote but we enjoyed just staying at the resort. We did go into Panama City one day for a canal and city tour, which good.
From the minute we arrived at the Westin Hotel Playa Bonita it was obvious the hotel staff is well-trained and so friendly and that we had picked the right hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Pool bad Beach

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Cons: Ocean trip
Till you get to the beach everything its perfect, froma that part something its missing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bristol, RI

Nice place

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: Large, clean, comfortable room with terrific balcony.
Cons: Too many mosquitoes.
Location: Out of the way location. Dining/shopping out side the hotel requires a 20-30 min cab ride.
Large modern hotel over looking a wide and narrow beach onto a beautiful bay. About a 30 min drive from the airport. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable with a wonderful private balcony that looked over the pool and onto the bay where you see multiple ships cued waiting to pass through the canal. We ate at the buffett and two ala carte restaurants: the food was average and a bit on the pricey side. The gym has all the basic equipment, we didn't use the spa. The hotel is outside the city and requires car/bus travel to visit the Casco Viejo, downtown, canal museum, Gamboa etc. There are plenty of tours available through the hotel which provide pick uo/drop off service. Beware of mosquitoes.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom lA

A soda in the glass with ice cost $3.50

Posted Feb 11, 2015
The beach is good from 6am till 9 am and then from 4pm till night The food is low class and expensive The help does not speak English
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Nice hotel, but customer service is disappointing

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Pools were nice and beds were very comfortable. I appreciate the free wi-fi in the rooms as well.
Cons: Improve customer service and train staff to be more responsive to requests of the customers.
Location: Panama City is a great place to visit. We particularly enjoyed visiting the Miraflores Lock visitors center.
Rooms are very comfortable and the property is quite nice. Food at the restaurants was generally good. However, customer service of the hotel staff is poor. We found this to be the case in several of the hotel restaurants, the bar, and the front desk. For instance, check-in took over 20 minutes and check-out took 30 minutes. At the restaurant, it wasn't unusual to wait 15 minutes to get our check after we asked for it. Several times, we would ask the waiter to bring us something, and we would go the whole meal without ever receiving it. Ordering a drink at the bar, would take at least 10 minutes, not because it was crowded, but because the service was just slow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 29, 2015
The hotel & pools are nice but didn't care for the sink in the room. It drained very slow & I could barely get my hands under the faucet to wash.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

UN MARAVILLOSO HOTEL!!!

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: TODO!!
Location: LAS ALBERCAS ESTAN PADRISIMAS, EL GIMNASIO MUY COMPLETO. TE DAN CLASES EN LA ALBERCA Y HACE TU DIA MAS LIGERO.
UN HOTEL SUPER BELLO, CON TODAS LAS COMODIDADES PARA DISFRUTAR TUS VACACIONES. TODO EL PERSONAL ES UN AMOR!!!