Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martin from Calistoga, CA

Comfortable hotel away from the noise

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Great pool and ground, safe and quiet location.
Cons: More staffing at check out after a big wedding
Location: Located well away from Panama City in a quiet area.
We wanted place to relax after a long flight and before a cruise. The Westin Playa Bonita filled the bill perfectly. It is a very comfortable hotel with lovely pool and grounds. In retrospect we should have gone with the slightly higher rate plan that included breakfast. The full buffet breakfast is $38 and even the continental breakfast is $15 per person.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from New York, NY

Nice hotel and facilities, rude staff.

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: We liked the facilities if the rooms were cleaned a little better they would be amazing. Restaurants, pools and beaches were great!
Cons: Hotel staff were rude it was unnecessary and prevalent! Top 40 Music blasted all day started 8:30am and wired into our ocean view balcony no shut off.
Location: Great distance to Casco Viejo where there is beautiful architecture, shops, markets, restaurants, bars. Try to catch yellow cabs and avoid hotel taxis
Hotel was beautiful. Pools, restaurants, beach and rooms were great. That said the cleaning of rooms was lower than Westin standard. But the most disappointing thing was how rude the majority of the staff were. We would order a drink or meal and revive no response. Staff would prepare what we asked for without acknowledging us. We would ask for a bill after a meal and wait 20 minutes or so. Normally waiting would not bother me but when you are on vacation its annoying to be stuck in a restaurant waiting so long to sign a bill when you want to get back to the beach. Having traveled to Panama before I knew taxis were cheap! The hotel however had an 'exclusive taxi service' and refused to call us a yellow taxi. Hotel concierge and information desk said they didn't have the number or pretended like they did not understand what we wanted...they did. We hopped on the internet and got the number of 5 yellow taxi numbers and the hotel refused to place the call for us saying they had an exclusive agreement with the rip off white cabs for tourists. The trip from the hotel to Casco Viejo (the old town) should have cost $5-$7 instead the hotels cabs charged us $25-$35 making what should have been a $10 round trip a $50 round trip. This was very annoying. We managed to get yellow cabs in town to take us back to the hotel for the cheaper rates and if we could catch a cab dropping people off at the hotel we would grab it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dennis from Vancouver

Nice hotel, great staff.

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: It was clean and quiet.
Cons: The food selection, quality and the food pricing
Location: Hotel is located about 15 min cab ride to downtown Panama City.
The staff and the service were excellent. Facilities were very good. Only complaint was the food. It appears that most of the visitors were on an all inclusive package. We were not, so it was difficult to get any food service and the quality of what we did get was quite poor and very expensive. The rest of our stay was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from Washington DC

A great place to stay

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Pros: The staff and the cleanliness.
Cons: Not much.
Location: Great Access to City of Panama, shopping and the Panama Canal.
The hotel is located outside the City of Panama with easy access. This hotel is excellent, well kept, clean, and personnel are eager to assist you. Upon arrival, the Hotel staff met us at the door and had all the paperwork ready. In my many travels, one of the BEST experience overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and a nice hotel

Posted Jan 11, 2014
Pros: The staff and pools
Cons: Some kind of insect spray control
Location: Close to Panama and lots of day tours which can be taken.
The staff were exceptional, food was very good and the hotel was very nice. Only thing is make sure you take some insect repellent. The first thing in the morning and in the. Evening there is a little flying insect that has a good bite. I would definitely visit again on my next trip to Panama.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Roger from Chicago, IL

relax close to the city

Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
the hotel is hard to find. there is one sign to "playa bonita" off the panamerican highway, once you get on that road, you have to guess which way to go. However, once you get there, you'll realize it's worth it. the hotel is brand new, it's literally on the beach, but the beach is not much to look at especially on low tide. However, the pool areas are beautiful and perfect for relaxing under the hot panama sun. It looked like there was an all-inclusive package, and although we didn't have a wristband, the two of us still got free drinks at the pool bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel to have a rest

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Good memories
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Eric from Boston

Great Place!

Posted Dec 20, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: A great family hotel, just across the bridge from the city with a resort setting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful giant pool area, gorgeous resort

Posted Dec 7, 2013
Pros: Everything
Perfect stay for our family trip. The pools are amazing, warm water, right by the beach. This resort is fantastic, best in Panama City, hands down. The rooms are spotless, new, with super comfy beds. I will definitely come back, even if just for a stopover. BONUS: On the way there from the city, there is a beautiful viewpoint on the resort side of the Bridge of the Americas where you can see the entire Panama City skyline, Panama Canal, AND the bridge --- be sure to stop and take photos!