Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bocas del toro - a great little discovery

Posted May 24, 2014
Cons: A suggestion for the hotel would be wire screen doors so that the glass doors to the balcony can be left open without the fear of insects coming in!
Location: Must do is the bat cave tour on the opposite island!
What a great little town set amongst the islands. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay although 3 days was too short. Tropical Suites was an excellent choice of hotel and from the look of it -one of the better ones in the area. It was close to all of the restaurants and bars, breakfast provided at Lillis cafe next door was great and the staff were all friendly and helpful even taking us to the airport when our taxi was late! The room was large witha kitchenette although being so cheap in Bocas we ate out and only used the facilities to make coffee in the morning. This hotel has individual balconies which was a pleasant place to sit and watch the activity on the water. Make sure you ask for a room overlooking the water as I think it could be noisy on the street side from vehicles by day and revellers late at night. We were there during off season so there was no spring break atmosphere just a laid back very casual relaxed environment with just enough people to keep the restaurants and bars buzzy and no crowds on the beaches. Some negatives- our tv had no reception just a message on the screen for each channel saying temporarily out of service. The staff looked at it for us and said it was a problem with the satellite in the area but every bar along the street seemed to be getting reception Our hair dryer also wasn't working but I didn't realize this until the last day and I am sure had I bought it up with the friendly staff they would have offered me another
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

on waterfront but overpriced

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: In the centre of town
Cons: no privacy on balcony can see in to other peoples room and aircondition very noisy on balcony. Could be cleaner very overpriced
Location: not much except restaurants
Very average for the price much better value elsewhere on waterfront
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by 5StarFan from Calgary, AB

Old hotel on water in good condition

Posted Feb 27, 2014
Pros: Fantastic location.
Cons: You have three choices for breakfast - eat at Lili's, NOT the other one on the water - charged us $2USD per coffee refill.
Location: Restaurants, bars, yoga, spa treatments, all close. Beaches biking distance. More options by water taxi.
We had a water front room, staff were accommodating, room was clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I loved the location and the staff!!!!

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Fun boat rides, beautiful beaches, great water, dolphins, caves! Or you can just sit on the deck of you room and watch the water world go by!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JP from Rhode Island

Centrally located. Right on the water. Clean.

Posted Nov 7, 2013
Pros: Very knowledgeable and helpful front desk staff. Double as consierg. Can't say enough about them.
Cons: Voucher for breakfast in next door restaurant is included. Read reviews that it wasn't great but they must have improved. Enjoyed.
There is a new tour in Bocas del Toro yet unpublished. Green Acres chocolate farm is a 30 acre incredibly beautiful secluded site accessibly by panga taxi. It takes about half hour to get there passing through secluded mangrove coves. Your "captain" will wait for you for the two hour tour so try to team up to share costs if that is an issue. Recently purchased by an American couple, they have impeccable maintained the ecology and responsibly enhanced the beauty of this piece of jungle of old growth trees and habitats which hosts numerous animal species. Besides the production of chocolate what makes this interesting is the enthusiasm of this newly retired couple living out the dream that many of us who relate to the tropics only fantasize about. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Moon

Comfortable and convenient

Posted Sep 26, 2013
Situated downtown great for couples. Clean and modern. Great staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jillian from Scotland, UK

Little known diamond!

Posted Apr 27, 2012
Pros: The view and the bed.
Cons: Price - but you get what you pay for!
Location: Bocas Town is a lovely place to chill out for a few days, the tropical suites are centrally located but not too close to the noise of the main street.
Beautiful place to stay, very clean and nicely decorated room. Staff very pleasant and helpful. We met the hotel owner the day we were leaving and she was very friendly. It's an expensive place to stay but you definately feel like you get your money's worth! Really like that the hotel teamed up with two local restaurants to provide breakfast. The food at Lily's was delicious and had the bonus of being able to watch the tropical fish while we ate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Take the oceanview

Posted Mar 13, 2012
Had an oceanview room on the ground floor next to the small on-site bar area, which was never used during our four days there. Paid extra for the oceanview and it was definitely worth it. Saw dolphins cruising by and lots of boat activity. Chip and Jamie and their entire staff could not have been more gracious or helpful with any requests we had. Expensive but if you want to treat yourself stay here. Centrally located to nearly all of the restaurants and bars and water taxis are only steps away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a perfect peace of heaven!!!

Posted Feb 23, 2012
I was a picture of one of my dreams. I got engaged there, it was amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! perfectly romantic and it is near every thing! It is really really good, the view is amazing the sea sight form the bedroom its fantastic!.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BOQUETE CANUCKS

BEST HOTEL IN BOCAS !!

Posted Jan 28, 2012
Pros: THE MANAGERS AND STAFF..AND THE SPACIOUS CLEAN ROOMS
Cons: NONE
Location: IN THE MIDDLE OF TOWN ...A CLOSE WALK TO EVERYTHING.... ON THE WATER WITH A DOCK FOR WATER TAXIS !!
GREAT STAY. ABSOLUTELY FIRST CLASS !!! V. FRIENDLY AND GRACIOUS STAFF AND MANAGEMENT.....CLEAN,COMFORTABLE ROOMS....BEST HOTEL IN BOCAS !!! WE'LL BE BACK !