Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place all around

Posted Jan 16, 2015
The staff were all so friendly and helpful. Everything was great. I h ave no complaints. Good location. Nice little dock to swim from. Beautiful clear water. Good beds and linens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Top Hotel in the centre of Bocas Town

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: Very clean, spacious rooms, great views, super service
Location: Located in the centre of Bocas Town - walk to restaurants and bars. Water taxis are right there. Boat tours to attractions available.
Tropical Suites is an oasis of comfort in the hustle and bustle of Bocas del Toro. Most rooms are overlooking the water and are spacious with a kitchenette or full kitchen. The staff is very friendly and immediately responds to any of your wishes. They arranged our entire 3 night stay with dinners, lunch, tours, boat tours and all perfectly and we enjoyed delicious food at Guari Guari, El Ultimo Refugio and Pirates. Can highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom calgary, canada

Best in Bocas

Posted Jan 1, 2015
If you want to be Centre ice Bocas, this is it. Get the water view room, it is far and away the best hotel in Bocas town and the staff is incredible...did our laundry, booked tours, delivered breakfast to the room. also..flying pirates ATV was waaaay too much fun! Now at Red Frog Beach villas, they are spectacular as are the beaches. Service at restaurants are average, but everything else is incredible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bocas del toro - a great little discovery

Posted May 24, 2014
Cons: A suggestion for the hotel would be wire screen doors so that the glass doors to the balcony can be left open without the fear of insects coming in!
Location: Must do is the bat cave tour on the opposite island!
What a great little town set amongst the islands. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay although 3 days was too short. Tropical Suites was an excellent choice of hotel and from the look of it -one of the better ones in the area. It was close to all of the restaurants and bars, breakfast provided at Lillis cafe next door was great and the staff were all friendly and helpful even taking us to the airport when our taxi was late! The room was large witha kitchenette although being so cheap in Bocas we ate out and only used the facilities to make coffee in the morning. This hotel has individual balconies which was a pleasant place to sit and watch the activity on the water. Make sure you ask for a room overlooking the water as I think it could be noisy on the street side from vehicles by day and revellers late at night. We were there during off season so there was no spring break atmosphere just a laid back very casual relaxed environment with just enough people to keep the restaurants and bars buzzy and no crowds on the beaches. Some negatives- our tv had no reception just a message on the screen for each channel saying temporarily out of service. The staff looked at it for us and said it was a problem with the satellite in the area but every bar along the street seemed to be getting reception Our hair dryer also wasn't working but I didn't realize this until the last day and I am sure had I bought it up with the friendly staff they would have offered me another
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

on waterfront but overpriced

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: In the centre of town
Cons: no privacy on balcony can see in to other peoples room and aircondition very noisy on balcony. Could be cleaner very overpriced
Location: not much except restaurants
Very average for the price much better value elsewhere on waterfront
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by 5StarFanfrom Calgary, AB

Old hotel on water in good condition

Posted Feb 27, 2014
Pros: Fantastic location.
Cons: You have three choices for breakfast - eat at Lili's, NOT the other one on the water - charged us $2USD per coffee refill.
Location: Restaurants, bars, yoga, spa treatments, all close. Beaches biking distance. More options by water taxi.
We had a water front room, staff were accommodating, room was clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I loved the location and the staff!!!!

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Fun boat rides, beautiful beaches, great water, dolphins, caves! Or you can just sit on the deck of you room and watch the water world go by!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Très bien situé mais beaucoup trop cher

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Très bien situé mais beaucoup trop cher. Petit déjeuner plus que moyen. Wifi ne fonctionne pas dans les chambres. Chambres spatieuses mais mobilier de mauvaise qualité et sans charme.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JPfrom Rhode Island

Centrally located. Right on the water. Clean.

Posted Nov 7, 2013
Pros: Very knowledgeable and helpful front desk staff. Double as consierg. Can't say enough about them.
Cons: Voucher for breakfast in next door restaurant is included. Read reviews that it wasn't great but they must have improved. Enjoyed.
There is a new tour in Bocas del Toro yet unpublished. Green Acres chocolate farm is a 30 acre incredibly beautiful secluded site accessibly by panga taxi. It takes about half hour to get there passing through secluded mangrove coves. Your "captain" will wait for you for the two hour tour so try to team up to share costs if that is an issue. Recently purchased by an American couple, they have impeccable maintained the ecology and responsibly enhanced the beauty of this piece of jungle of old growth trees and habitats which hosts numerous animal species. Besides the production of chocolate what makes this interesting is the enthusiasm of this newly retired couple living out the dream that many of us who relate to the tropics only fantasize about. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Moon

Comfortable and convenient

Posted Sep 26, 2013
Situated downtown great for couples. Clean and modern. Great staff.