Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt from Chicago, IL

Beautiful grounds, but very basic rooms!

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: The grounds and ability to relax in a quiet and tranquil setting.
Cons: The rooms
Location: Great tours and trips available (ATVs, Baru, etc...)
My wife and I spent one night at Escondido and enjoyed our overall time there. The grounds are amazing, beautiful, and relaxing and there was almost no one else there. We spent one afternoon in hammocks by the small river and really were able to enjoy ourselves. The wait staff brought us lunch by the hammocks as well which was nice and the food was really good. After an early flight we arrived at 9:30 am (check in not until 3 I think) and went to the spa to change and swim. The spa staff was totally fine and gave us lockers for the day. After spending a couple days in Boquete I can say that Escondido is one of, if not the best place there. Now the rooms are a bit of a different story... We had room #1 by the small and very shallow outdoor pool and the rooms was sparse to say the best. The king bed frame creaked from the moment you sat on it and I thought it might break if moved too much. The toilet seat was broken and no one came to fix it which was disappointing. The lighting in the room is also minimal which is not what I'd expect from a place like this. All in all, we'd stay here again if coming back to Boquete, but the rooms definitely don't match the quality of the grounds and facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fi from Edinburgh

Lovely relaxing break

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Beautiful hotel with excellent facilities. Lovely area. Close enough to walk into Boquete. On site restaurant excellent -service not great but standard for Panama.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing environment

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Pros: Very helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Zamira from Panama

Unforgetable Trip and stay at Valle Escondido

Posted Apr 1, 2013
Pros: the gardens, decoration and the clean look of every site of the Hotel
Cons: cant think on one
Location: just incredible, like heaven!
this was a family trip to Boquete and staying as Valle Escondido made our stay very good and unforgettable! we loved the place, its gardens, water falls, which make the place very cosy and speciall. the rooms were very nice, confortablle and most important very very clean! Hotel employee was very nice and offer a good service to us. we had a package with breakfast included, and we found a very good and complete selection of food. we really enjoyed our stay in this hotel that we did want to go. Congrats!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

a real suprise

Posted Feb 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Beautiful resort. very pleasant stay. If we return to Boquete we will definately stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Orit

beautiful place in nature

Posted Jan 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
great hotel and location in the area, but somewhat pricy food deals
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced

Posted Feb 27, 2012
Pros: landscaping
Cons: restaurant
Good property , location, nice view, friendly personnel. However, in Boquete, where dinner can cost $2 and there are no limits for B&B and decent hostels - no reason to overpay for Valley Escondido.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Valle Escondido in Boquete

Posted Feb 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
The grounds and reception area of this hotel are extremely well maintained, but the room interior and pool area were not. For a so-called deluxe room in a resort hotel the room was very poorly furnished and poorly lit. We had ants in our bathroom to boot. It seemed more a cabin environment. The location of the room by the babbling river was nice tho the rooms are so close together you really didn't feel like sitting outside. The pool water seemed a dirty and not well maintained, making it not particularly inviting to swim tho the weather was a bit too breezy to take a dip in any case. The staff tho very helpful and friendly were not particularly well informed about even the basics about the sights in the area, which was pretty surprising. One had to figure things out on one's own for the most part. There was not even a menu for the restaurant that one could look at. We had to sneak into the dining room to take a look at one, but then got scolded for it. We had no problem getting a late check out for our last day which was nice. It was rather disappointing, although it was convenient to town. The route to town though a fairly short walk away was not lit at night or lined with sidewalks making for some challenges in getting around.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Patrick from UK

OK

Posted Jan 10, 2012
Pros: Well maintained estate with golf course.
Cons: Cleanliness of room and insufficient staff to cater for the number of guests at breakfast
Location: Super
Hi My wife and I visited for 8 nights late Dec 201 with our 19 month old. Resort was well maintained and in a beautiful setting. 1. We had booked a Junior Suite but were placed in a standard room as the hotel was busy being 27th Dec and none were available. We were advised to contact expedia to arrange an adjustment in the price. 2. We had requested a cot to be available - there was not ione present but a call to reception resulted in one being provided after some delay. 3. Service at breakfast was very poor as they did not have enough staff to handle the volume of guests at this peak time. 4. I had prepaid with expedia but upon checkout noticed that they had not taken this into account in the bill so there was a 30 minute delay whilst they amended the bill. 5. No laundry forms were provided so it was necessary to describe our requirements to the member of staff who collected the items - a tad difficult as he had no knowledge of English at all. 6. There is no formal room service available, the restaurant will provide if they are not busy 7. Cleaning of the room could have been better the floor was mopped daily but if you walked on it in bare feet the soles were quickly black. Not withstanding the above (which are probably largely due to the time of year and the number of guests) overall the stay was OK and if we revisit the area we would probably stay there again as suspect that there is no better hotel in the area.