Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kevin from England

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Pros: small, private attentive staff.
This ia lovely boutique beach resort. Very attentive staff. Room more villa type really, excellent.Food excellent. Beach and bar shack on back of island lovely. Private boat crossing is pricey and in my opiion should be included in room rate however adds to the luxury of the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mohammad Jan

simply, breath taking

Posted Dec 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
my wife and I enjoyed our stay in this hotel. the smiley helpful staff, the landscapes, the wonderful nature and beaches and the quality of the service make this resort the best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Daniel from London

Very nice spa resort

Posted Oct 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice spa resort with all the facilities and lotsof restaurants
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Farid from London

Great Hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ECuadros from Malaysia

Great hotel to relax and child friendly

Posted Sep 18, 2013
Pros: The Spa and that is child friendly but also gat for couples that want to be alone or relaxed
Cons: More available timings for the boat from Pangkor to the island. Have a net on the beach in front of the pool
We had a fantastic time at the hotel. Is great for couples and families, the best of all is that there are areas separate for relax and quietness and the areas where there are more kids and "noise". The Spa is absolutely incredible, the best I have had so far and I'm a traveler (>40 countries) Fully recommended hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location!

Posted Aug 14, 2013
extraordinary location, very secluded and state-of-the-art facilities. Beatiful setting, especially the sea villas of course but also the hill villas, where the view is astounding. Only negative point for us: The transportation by boat from the mainland to the island and back is on a very limited schedule (4 pm and then 8 pm for example) and you have to be there at least 15 minutes before departure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by monz

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anon

Good, not great

Posted Aug 22, 2012 on Hotels.com
Maybe PL is better than we experienced and it just suffered in comparison to the amazing (and much cheaper!) hotels we'd stayed in while in Cambodia but to us it seemed decidedly tired and past it's best. Although the rooms are impeccably clean they are quite dated and the aircon shakes the walls at night! The food in the restaurants is good-ish but offers little excitement - tastes were diluted to suit the western palates of it's guests and anaemic compared to the fantastic food found elsewhere in Malaysia. The pool and the beach were full of kids (seriously, kids in a spa hotel???), making it tricky to relax properly and the bar prices must have scared off all the other guests as in 5 nights we were there we saw only one other couple having a drink after 7pm (maybe a happy hour would have got people in)! Finally, the £40 return ticket for the necessary speedboat trip to get to the island is frankly ridiculous and left a bit of a sour taste in the mouth from the beginning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good, but there are better for the price elsewhere

Posted Aug 14, 2012
Really nice hotel and good location. Emerald bay is beautiful. Spa is great and bathhouse experience quite unique. But, for the price, overall starting to show it`s age. No major issues, just small niggles that stop it reaching the sort of standard that can really blow you away. Such as; fully booked activities (apparently need to book before arrival), dated bathrooms in spa villas, access from sun loungers to spa pool is about 10m walk even though next to each other, mosquito net in villa would be nice (without it had to close shutters and put ac on at night, so didn't feel like a stilt villa on the sea), shuttles are cars rather than buggies which kind of spoils effect of being on a small tropical island. But it is a nice place so if in the area would still recommend, if travelling far to get there then would suggest looking around.
3 out of 5
by JoJo from Oxford, UK

Not Quite an Enchanting Island

Posted Jan 6, 2012
Pros: The Sea Villas are beautiful and the antics of the comical and friendly hornbills are fun to watch.
Cons: The murky sea, the mosquitoes, the local tripper boats, the bats, charging for everything apart from bottled water.
Location: Private island but quite close to other islands. High speed boats get you there from Lumut in 15 minutes. Mainly rainforest and steep hills.
Being on an island with no shops apart from a boutique selling overpriced clothes and jewellery, one had to eat and drink at the expensive restaurants. Nothing came cheap and only the bottled water was free - even the nuts in the room were put on the bill. The sea villas were lovely, but we hoped we could swim in the sea surrounding them, but no, the sea was uninviting and a murky colour with rubbish and jellyfish. The local trippers from the nearby island were a great irritation in their noisy speedboats, some days there were at least 20 boats coming close up to the villas and leering and jeering. Lovely swimming pool and if the weather is good its very relaxing lying in the sun. Much smaller island than we imagined and not a lot to do if it rains unless you want to work out in the gym! Wifi is only available in the library. The mosquitoes are viscious there as they are everywhere on the island. There is a colony of huge fruit bats - they come alive at dusk! Overall slightly disappointing and overpriced, but fine if you like lounging by the pool.