Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maria from Sam José, Costa Rica

Nice Hotel, near all facilities

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: like the character of the hotel, confortable and nice lobby and Cafeteria. Helpfull and friendly satf, I like the location very much.
Cons: The internet connection is terrible bad. Would like a water heater in the room.
Location: Excellent location: near the River, all kind of stores, tourism agency, metro, walking streets, nice neighborhood. Jazz Bar, quality restaurants, etc
I enjoy a lot the atmospher of the hotel, fancy lobby and rooms, esplendid breakfast,
Comment from
Jan 15, 2014
Dear Maria, the all team is very happy to read that you have enjoy your stay with us and thank you very much for this lovely review. We hope to see you again very soon. Kindest Regards. Eric, hotel manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert from UK

quiet street in perfect location

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Lovely helpful staff, good location just into Latin Quarter. Hotel is just what is required for Paris everything, Metro and bistros very close. Room clean but small you are in an old building, the stairs slope 3 ways!
Comment from
Jan 15, 2014
Dear Robert, Thank you very much for this very kind review about our hotel. I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again very soon. Kindest regards, Eric Desfaudais. Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jeff of Hoboken from Hoboken, NJ

Great Neighborhood, small but cozy room

Posted Nov 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Clean albeit small room on the Left Bank. Very helpful, friendly staff, gave good metro directions. Breakfast is typical French breakfast, this site listed it as "included" which is why I booked, but they wanted to charge for it, so bring a printout with you (although my word was honored,and they did not), it is served in this 15th century building's wine cellar but of course the building has the modern amenities. The neighborhood is excellent, with shopping and eateries on St. Germaine blvd., good restaurants on same street as hotel and around the corner, walking distance to Luxembourg Gardens, Pantheon, and slightly further but still walking distance to Ile de la Cite and Notre Dame. It's on a little known, hard to find side-street so note that Rue Gregoire de Tours Is very close to the Odeon metro stop and Odeon movie theaters. I had a view of across the street, opened the windows, and took photos of the beautiful buildings lining the street.). Not walking distance to Eiffel Tower or Louvre. A nice hike to the Orsay museum, also on the Left Bank.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Daniele from San Diego, USA

Excellent quality, nice neighborhood

Posted Oct 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Hotel is small but in a nice neighborhood in downtown Paris. The room was not so big but very quiet, clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast and nice personnel at the desk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

well located, quiet hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2013
Pros: Location was excellent (6th arrondisement).. ; Room faced busy side street but, was quiet. Staff quite helpful
Location: Near Odeon Metro stop, many restaurants near hotel. Luxembourg Gardens, Notre Dame, Cluny Museum short walk
Stayed there four days in mid July, very hot in Paris, but room was air conditioned, small but comfortable and attractive. Decent buffet breakfast for 12 Euros
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ian

Great digs in Paris

Posted Aug 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
It's not the friendliest hotel around but it's clean, it's quaint and it's very well located. Exceptional value-for-money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Great location! Nice Hotel, but....

Posted Mar 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
Great location! Nice Hotel, but if you are looking for a great view of Paris from your window go elsewhere. Our view was of a 40ft high wall. If what you want is a base from where to see Paris, this is ideal. Situated in a lively side street, the local area is charming and exactly what you expect of Paris.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Grand Hotel de L'Univers - perfect location

Posted Mar 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
I took my 11-year old daughter on a trip to Paris for Spring Break, March 11 - March 18. We stayed at this property upon the recommendation of my 22-year old niece who stayed here a few years ago. We were very pleased. To begin, the staff was extremely nice and very very helpful. They greeted us every morning with a smile and every night the same way. The desk clerks (there were 3 of them and I regret not writing down their names) were so very helpful. The gentleman (who worked the graveyard shift) personally made me a pot of coffee at 5:00 am even though the cafe did not open until 7:00 am. The other two wonderful ladies helped me with several times with directions, arranged for a taxi to the airport, etc. They all spoke English and were extremely hospitable. We stayed in room #5 which is on the first floor (one floor above the 'ground floor'/reception). It was very nice. Two twin beds pushed together, a little desk/chair, nice flat screen T.V. with 2-3 English speaking channels, an armoire to store and hang up our clothes, a separate toilet room, and room with a separate shower, sink, and pedestal tub. This is Paris, so (like New York) the rooms are small. But this room was very comfortable for the two of us. The clerk showed us a room on the top floor that had a nice view of the Eiffel Tower - but it was not laid out as well as (and was smaller than) room #5. This hotel is perfectly located for sight-seeing. It is on the Left Bank in the Latin Quarter just a 10 minute walk to Notre Dame, Sainte Chapelle, etc. More importantly, it is located 5 minutes to the Saint Michele metro station and 3 minutes to the Odeon metro station. The Louvre, Musee Orangerie, Invalides, Centre Pompidou, and Musee Orsay are also within walking distance -- but honestly, it is easier to take a short metro ride over there if you've got a young child or someone who doesn't like to walk a lot, i.e. my daughter. We took the RER train from the airport (CDG) to the Sainte Michele station and walked to our hotel (cost for the 2 of us 7 Euros vs. 65-70 Euros by taxi). We used the metro to go to just about everywhere, including Versailles. It's cheap. Buy a 10-ticket packet for about $15US. The metro is amazing and always on time. I can't underscore the importance of this hotel's location to the metro stations. Right across the street from the hotel are several restaurants, cafes, a few gelaterias, a flower shop, etc. One block away is a grocery store - where I would go in the morning to stock up on water, juice, and snacks for our day trips. Also, there at several places across the street (and just down the street) to buy fresh croissants, bread, etc - which of course we did every morning. And for my fellow coffee addicts, the little cafes and croissant shops all open early and serve delicious espressos and cappuccinos. (Yes, there is a Starbucks less than 100 yards away from the hotel!). I could write at length about all of the wonderful places within walking/metro distance - but this review is about the hotel. The only thing I cannot comment on is the food in the cafe. Every morning at 7 a.m. the cafe has a breakfast - juice, coffee, eggs, breads, cereals, etc. We did not eat there as my daughter loves chocolate croissants and there were fresh ones at the bakery right across the street! Short story: I'd stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Forest Hills, NY

charming, great location

Posted Oct 31, 2011
charming hotel with small rooms, but modern bathroom. However, NO HOT WATER IN SHOWER did make for an inconvenient cleaning. great breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 20, 2011 on Hotels.com