Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

small but comfortable

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: nothing really except possibly the size of the room, which would be impossible.
Location: being near the ile de Cite, and the metro, it was fine
The hotel was in a good location. Room was okay,but a bit small. The room was always clean. It had good A/C and it had an in-room safe which was ok. The hotel staff were helpful. For our needs it was fine. If I return to Paris, I would not return to this one, not because it wasn't satisfactory, but because I would want to experience other facilities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Good 3star hotel in quiet road close to metro

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: A good value for money hotel in a good location.
Cons: A wider bath, though recognising space constraints.
Location: Close to metro and a wide variety of eating establishments
Though the room was small it had all that is needed, with a good bathroom (with bath), double glazing and most efficient ans easy to control air conditioning. Very comfortable beds. Lift and free wifi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Nice Hotel in great location

Posted Aug 1, 2014
This hotel is in a great location for getting around Paris. Near three metro stops. The rooms are comfortable, the beds great and the staff was very helpful. The breakfast was a bit lame with cold croissants but passable. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, Petite Hotel with Friendly Staff

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: The friendly and helpful staff.
Location: We enjoyed eating at the neighborhood bistros and brasseries; and enjoyed strolling in the "Place de Vosges" a charming square.
The Castex Hotel, right in the heart of old Paris, fit our needs perfectly; it was clean and quiet, and the staff was friendly and helpful. We were able to walk to any location in central Paris or walk to a subway or a train station within a few blocks. Their breakfast which included delicious crousants and French coffee was a great way to start each day, and the complementary bottle of wine in our room was welcoming. The staff at the front desk was always eager to answer our questions, make reservations for us, and they all spoke English. When we go back to Paris we will be happy to stay at the Castex Hotel again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tanya from Western Australia

Nice, small, Parisian hotel.

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Nice and quiet. No real issues.
Cons: Pillow comfort the only issue. You cannot underestimate a good quality pillow for enhancing your stay.
Location: Lots of restaurants nearby and good metro access. Good shopping in nearly Marais.
Typically small, Parisian hotel in heart of Paris. Close to Bastille Metro and Marais. Staff speak English well. Upgrading to fridges in rooms as I left which will be a nice addition. Rooms of typical size in Paris which is small. Situated in a nice, quiet side street with minimal traffic.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adequate, but not spectacular

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Charming architecture
Cons: Don't charge for breakfast, considering what it is - some bread, croissants, and lunch meat? why did you charge me for that? seriously?
Location: It's "real Paris?" I don't know - the streets smelled of urine and there was a lot of dog poo around.
I understand that Paris hotels are expensive, but I'm seriously disappointed at paying so much yet having such a small room and being charged for a rather mediocre breakfast besides. The hotel manager was very kind, very patient with my terrible French that I insisted on inflicting him with. And he tried to be helpful, which I greatly appreciated. I had a really rough experience with one of the staff in the breakfast room though. When I went down for breakfast my first morning there, I sat at the only clean table left, and this woman started yelling at me in French and gesturing for me to move. I don't know what she was saying or why she wanted me to move, but she insisted that I sit at a dirty table with someone else's old dishes still stacked there. Also, if you're looking for someplace quiet to retire to after a busy day of sightseeing in the city, this isn't it. It borders some kind of a school that has constant yelling and playing going on, which is great for kids, but had I known about this I would surely have picked a different hotel. So to sum up... it's expensive, small, and service is hit or miss. Honestly, if you're going to Paris, spend the few extra bucks and stay someplace else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chuck from Stuart, Fl

Anniversary Celebration

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: Clean, quiet, staff spoke English, staff VERY helpful, breakfast on-site.
Cons: No skid surface on the tub.
Location: Centrally located in Paris. Metro is easy.
My wife of 46 years and I decided to celebrate our anniversary in Paris. After researching many hotels in Paris we decided on Hotel Castex. The reviews are an excellent way to judge the quality of a hotel. We stayed for 7 nights and were totally satisified with the hotel and its staff. We had room #1 which was spacious (by european standards), clean, comfortable, and quiet. Being on the courtyard offered us convenient outdoor seating for a bit of evening vino. The hotel is located on a quiet street with easy access to the metro, resturants, and is within walking distance of Norte Dame. The Marais neighborhood is both safe and historically interesting. I would also like to thank the staff for their assisatnce. They were most helpful in acquiring flowers and wine for our stay. Need a cab? Need affordable transportation to/from airport? .... just give them a call/email? Small hotels are the way to go. We also stayed in a small hotel in Rome which was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by norm from california

getaway

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great value excellent service at front desk Easy access to metro norm
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by S. Campbell from Nova Scotia

Loved it!

Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Small hotel with courtyard close to Bastille and St. Paul subways making it easy to get anywhere. Staff were courteous and attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Easy to find. Great location near Bastille Metro.

Posted Apr 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
I travel to Paris on a regular basis. The Marais area is my favorite location. Castex is easy to find from the Bastille Metro stations. Great access to Paris from lines 1, 5, 8. From the front of the statue at the Bastille, just walk straight down Rue San Antoine and turn left at the corner with a church and a café (good) with the red awning. Cute street. Area is busy, but hotel was quiet. Easy walk to Place des Voges. Rooms are small, but typical for Paris. I've spent more near the same location for a room that was not near as nice. Would stay here again.