Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

You get as much as you pay...

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Close to metro station
Cons: More considerate and friendly staff. Less misleading description.
Location: Close to metro station. Lots of bars and restaurants and little shops.
As far as location goes, it was centrally located and very close to the metro which was convenient. However the area was very loud as it was near several bars so you don't get much sleep. The room itself was clean and tidy and the bathroom was also clean. There was only one member of the staff that we liked speaking with. The one lady staff member, who checked us in, appeared to have no idea what she was doing, she had the wrong booking/reservation for us and was going to charge us for three nights instead of two. And then in the end she ended up double charging us. We asked for breakfast for the first day, but she added it for two days and when we went down for breakfast, the waitress didn't even have us marked down as paid because the receptionist didn't pass along that we paid. When we went to check out and ask to be refunded for the second day of breakfast, the hotel reception clerk (another different one) was incredibly rude to us and would not refund us the money. Anytime we asked him a question throughout our stay, he acted as though we were greatly inconveniencing him. I do not speak very much French but I tried to make an effort, he did not do the same for us. Their website said it had wi-fi, but it "wasn't working". I found their description of the hotel very misleading as were the reviews. I would not stay at this place again nor would I recommend it to anybody. The only good thing was the gentleman who helped us on Saturday during the day, he was awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, missing a few essentials

Posted Mar 13, 2014
great location, easy to get about, staff are nice, but missing a few essentials like a shower curtain.
2 out of 5
by Satya

Hotel on the road entire night we did not sleep

Posted Oct 30, 2013
Pros: Location which close to center of Paris
Cons: Insulated window to rood facing .
Location: Fantastic
The room is on ground floor on the rood front of Moulin Rough entire night pedestrian walk and there conversion come direct to room ,every time some body come he knock the door the noise come our room 101 which close to reception. Some drunk come and shouted we did not sleep entire night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

For one night is OK

Posted Jul 14, 2013
Cons: Service and facilities in room.
Location: Location is ok. Moulan Rouge is in front! Metro is near by.
Hotel is OK. The room can be very warm in summer and there is no air condition. The shower was broken and it was uncomfortable to take a shower. The staff provided us a ventilator though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by cperch from Toronto, ON, Canada

Location, location, location for Moulin Rouge!

Posted May 31, 2013
Pros: location, location, location
Cons: no shower curtain around bathtub.
Location: right across from Moulin Rouge
First, we chose this hotel because of it's nearness to Moulin Rouge since we had tickets for the 11pm show and didn't want to have to travel far to return to a hotel after the show. The location is right across the road, so you can't stay any closer. The Metro is also very close, so moving around is great from here. And, you can easily walk around Montmartre. If you can ignore/cope with all the sex shops, the area seems safe enough, and fine for a short stay. The Gold Hotel is s budget hotel, and with that in mind, it is fine. No luxuries, but a reasonably clean, comfortable nights sleep. Would be nice to have shower curtains around the bathtub/shower so you don't splash water throughout the bathroom, but, showers are much more common in North America than Europe. Otherwise, the stay was decent enough.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Rustam from Manchester

Posted Apr 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was not bad, but want to see better service and more friendly stuff working in a reception.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Palal from Lisbon, Portugal

Cheap no frills hotel. Good for short stays.

Posted Feb 10, 2013
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Rude woman at reception, street noise.
Location: Across from Moulin Rouge
Good location, right across from Moulin Rouge. Room on the ground floor may be loud due to street noise. Price-quality ratio is quite good for a no-frills hotel in Paris. As far as service, the only caveat is one woman at reception who has no notion of customer service. She is not always there. If you can handle that, then you will not have any problems. Wifi is 3 eur for 2 hrs.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Asif

BAD BAD HOTEL DONT GO THERE

Posted Dec 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
very bad hotel. dirty rooms. rude manager. no english. dont even go near to the hotel.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by arpit

hotel staff not at all coperative

Posted Dec 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
bad very bad, hotel staff
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Room not even cleaned

Posted Oct 22, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel room had not been cleaned at all and prepared. The beds were unmade and the room was very unwelcoming. It was also has hot as an oven and when I telephoned the Reception (immediately upon discovering the appalling state of the hotel room) the Reception informed me that he would need to come to check with his own eyes. This was very insulting. He should have offered me to come downstairs whilst he resolved the problem, not start questioning me on my story of a completely unprepared hotel room. Otherwise the hotel was tired and lacked any atmosphere. The lobby internet access was so slow I could have transported the data faster myself, on a back-pack. The breakfast, although a "continental breakfast" and I expected it to be meagre, was worse than meagre. The breakfast offering was sad, tired and unexciting. Oh, if there is a TV in the breakfast lobby area, then why not put something on the tv that adults may want to watch instead of useless kiddy tv at 0715 in the morning. Overall, I was completely dissatisfied with the hotel and will not be staying there again. I also have serious doubts about using Gold Hotels again. I think I shall not. I did not, finally, appreciate the feeling I had been left with of my being in the wrong for raising the issue of the room not having been prepared. Not good at all.