Ratings based on 620 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but rooms are small

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: clean and newly renovated. Nice to have a water boiler and tea/coffee. Well done!
Cons: Pillows and covers are thin and could be improved. Will be great if you can offer hair conditioner and comb. Invest in better/whiter towels too.
Location: Plus point for being close to Gare du Nord: direct train to London and CDG airport
Rooms are smaller than what was advertised. Photos are nice but far from reality. Pillows and covers are thin and could be improved. Nevertheless, clean and newly renovated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pfalz

Sehr günstig gelegenes Hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: Die Lage.
Cons: Nein, war o.k.
Location: Bahnhof und Metrostation sowie Bushaltestellen direkt vor der Tür.
Überraschend kleines Zimmer. In den Stockwerken darunter Baustelle. Keinerlei Lärmbelästigung. Sauber. Frühstücksraum zu klein.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hobart Tasmania

Good value, excellent location.

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Across road from Gare de l'est, so excellent for late night arrival. Good basic, modern and clean hotel facilities at reasonable rates
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

bonne situation en face de la gare de l'Est

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Location: Très bonne situation en face de la gare de l'Est.
Hôtel en travaux. Prix très intéressant, mais n'est pas un 4 étoiles actuellement. Petit déjeuner très bien.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by smita

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Choose a room in the renovated part, very nice !!

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Location: Central, in front of the Train Station Gare de l'Est
I always choose this hotel when I'm for business trips in Paris, well located, good price/quality relation. Choose a room in the renovated part, very nice !!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Omar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Vfrom London

Great location, very standard room.

Posted Nov 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room is at a great location in Paris. We travelled from London so it was 15minutes walk from Gare du Nord. The neighbourhood from that direction is not the best, but walking towards the other direction - Republique, is much nicer. There are some nice bars and restaurants around the hotel, nice bakery, supermarket, etc. The room itself is standard. The reception made a mistake that we booked a room with double bed and were given 2 single beds. That was very frustrating; yet the hotel did nothing to compensate.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Edinburgh, Scotland

Stay at Hotel Gare de L'Est, Paris

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: The staff were pleasant, courteous and helpful. The bathroom was good and everything provided in it worked. Housekeeping was good.
Cons: The decor, furnishings in bedroom, i.e. chest of drawers. Towels worn out. If you provide tea/coffee making facility milk should be an essential.
Location: Right across busy road from Gare de L'Est,within walking distance of Gare du Nord. Buses and metro nearby, all useful for getting out of area fast.
This was my first ever trip to Paris. We booked this hotel as a four star super saver deal, and therefore were not aware of the actual hotel until we had paid for the booking. We were disappointed that in fact it was a Holiday Inn. There is no way this is a four star hotel. The decor is tired, the carpets were stained and badly need upgrading, particularly in the corridors. Our room was small, dark and looked out on to a building site. We were staying for 5 nights and there were no drawers, so had to live out of suitcases. Only four hangars provided between the two of us and we had to ask for more. Although coffee and tea-making facilities were provided there were never any sachets of milk, and we had to request tea spoons. From photographs in reception we understand that the hotel is undergoing upgrading, but until that is completed it should be down-graded to a maximum 3 star, and potential guests should be advised of the ongoing works. This was our first experience of "super saver" and we would not repeat this method of booking. Unable to change the booking until payment is made we were unable to view other reviews. Had we been able to do so we would not have chosen this hotel.