Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JA from Australia

Quirky Hotel

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Price, location
Cons: WIFI to rooms, more 'tourist' information in hotel would be nice
Location: close to Metro, Gare du L'Est & Nord not too far away, Walkable to main attractions and eateries. Flea markets at Clignancourt sa short metro ride aw
We chose this hotel because it was a reasonable price (for Paris), and not too far from the main attractions if you wanted to walk. The hotel is the annexe to Taylor hotel next door which is where the reception is. Our room which was the superior double was very 'French' and had period style furnishings with private bathroom. Bathroom was tiny, but clean and functional. WIFI Internet available stated as available in the lobby although we were able to pick it up in our room on 4th floor, despite drop outs. Quiet at night with minimal noise. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly.
3 out of 5
by Lue from London

Extremely small, schoolkids waking us up

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: Nice chic furbished, charming feeling, clean, has a lift, friendly English speaking staff.
Cons: Information about breakfast, checking out times, channels, etc in the rooms.
Location: Many restaurants,located on quite a dogy side street(homeless sleeping/urinating), not a too accessible area(two changes needed on metro to most dest)
- No matter until how late we slept, the room had been cleaned when we came back later that day which was nice. - Something that puts down the overall experience ALOT is that screaming kids from an elementary school across a parallel road woke us up 8 in the morning during the weekdays and as it was so warm outside and no air-con in the room, we just had to keep the window opened. We were SO tired because of this. - There were no information at all in the rooms (regarding checking out times, etc) and the phone the staff asked us to use for question was broken (mind we lived on the 5th floor and the reception is located next door). - The free wi-fi was barely working (really bad reception or no reception at all). - The tiny shower room/toilet although looking clean, smelled of a really condensed aquarium and the whole room smelled horribly when forgetting to close the door. - Our double bed standard room was more like the single room they display on their own homepage. I asked about it and it appears they even had given us an upgrade to a superior room (I then can't even imagine how tiny their standard rooms are). I'm small and I couldn't sit straight on the toilet because the toilet door was in the way. We didn't spend too much time in the room anyways so it still feels like VALUE FOR MONEY although the experience of being woken up 8 every morning when being on a holiday puts the grade down a lot!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jean from at large

two star room, three star ambience

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: The reception staff was extraordinary. I loved the common areas.
Cons: The bathroom.
Location: The hotel is within range of the train stations Nord and l'Est, and a short walk from Place de la Republique, with easy access to tout Paris.
First, the Hotel Annexe, which is rated two stars, is simply an extension of the Hotel Taylor, which is a three star hotel. For the extra star, you get a very nice common area (with wifi), a lovely breakfast area (and a very good breakfast, though that is extra), and extraordinary, knowledgeable, helpful, multi-lingual reception staff. I booked a single room, which was similar to single rooms all over Europe (a small area too large to be a closet, tucked into an awkward angle of the building), but decorated more cleverly/nicely than most, with a generous window that OPENED, and much better than expected sound insulation. The bathroom was really the only disappointment - 2 star minus, rather than plus: the small, nautical toilet had a regular sized "seat" that left one sitting on the rim anyway; the shower door wouldn't close properly (but it had one), it was impossible to fill the kettle in the shallow sink, no place to hang anything, and evidently no water seal on the plumbing, so it smelt a bit dank. But just a bit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mish from Chicago, IL

Very French

Posted May 23, 2014
I was traveling alone and barely in the room it was fine though. The internet only worked in the lobby which was a bummer. But, it was safe and clean. The location was off in a hidden corridor which was unsettling for walking back at night and a taxi driver had no idea where it was. Close to 2 metro stops. 20 minute metro rides to main attractions. The staff spoke english pretty well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeffrey from Charleston, SC

Excellent staff and a great place to stay while in

Posted May 9, 2014
This was a great hotel- the rooms were comfortable and having your own bathroom and shower is a great luxury in a budget hotel on Paris. I had never stayed in this area before and overall, it was not bad. At night, the area can be a little sketchy. Quite a few homeless folks and a few drunks hassling the patrons sitting outside at the caf├ęs down the street. The metro is right around the corner and connects to anywhere you want to go in Paris. Always keep aware of your surroundings and be aware of pickpockets. There is a great restaurant around the corner- the Republic. Really good food and great staff. A walk down rue de Temple and 15 minutes later, you are in the heart of Paris. Overall, a great experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ATT from Manila, Philippines

Hotel Annexe is Hotel Taylor

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: Staff are friendly and go out of their way to help the guests.
Cons: Room cleanliness- we found a dead cochroach under the sofa. Also, some room lights were out and we had to call housekeeping.
Location: It is far from most tourist spots. But it is close to the Gare, which is why we booked here.
The room we booked over Expedia was extremely small, even for its price. Our 2 pieces of luggage could hardly fit. When we asked to transfer to a bigger room, we were charged extra. The total amount we were charged is high, considering the size of the room and its condition. However, the staff spoke good English and were very cordial. They also offer a very filling breakfast, almost as good as a buffet in bigger hotels (their cheese selection is good, and the breads are fresh and crunchy).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dasha from Paris

Nice, clean and warm.

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: location.
Cons: Noise isolation.
Location: Perfect location.
Good location, close to city centre, to Metro, and Train Station. Welcoming staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stuart from Calgary

Beautiful and basic

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: I liked pretty much everything. Staff spoke English, and were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were cute and comfortable.
Cons: More water pressure in the shower...
Location: Close to Metro, shopping and many little cafe's. Wonderful location.
Wonderful and comfortable little hotel. Good prices, great location. No complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by B from UK

Nice little hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: The size of the room. The friendliness of staff. The location was quite good in terms of getting to other places.
Cons: Timeliness of cleaning prior to check in. The stairs up to the rooms could do with redecorating. It would be nice if the clocks were correct!
Location: The location is good for getting out and about. There is a metro stop near by, and it is within walking distance of the Eurostar.
I enjoyed my stay here, as a single female (from the UK). The room was large enough for my needs (a place to stay after a day of sightseeing). When I arrived the room unfortunately had not been cleaned, but this was soon fixed. I don't speak much French but fortunately the staff were happy to speak in English. The bathroom was slightly small, but ok for a few days. The room did get a little bit too warm especially in the evening (the window seemed to have lost its safety catch thing, so I could not leave the window a little open in the night. I did not feel very safe in the area (or in Paris as a whole), but the hotel itself was nice and I would recommend it as a base to stay if you are going to be out most of the time. The breakfast was also OK, and not too expensive. Oh, and for some reason all the clocks in the hotel show different times (and if I remember correctly, none of them were right). This is a bit disorientating when you first arrive!
3 out of 5
by R from UK

Value for money hotel in convenient location

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable
Location: Short walk to Republique metro - good central location, 10-15 min walk from Gare du Nord, easy to get to Nation for the RER to Disney
I had requested two twin rooms on the same floor - we were given two doubles on different floors. The room and bathroom were very small but clean and comfortable, fine as just a place to sleep. It's on a side road so fairly quiet. Reception for this hotel is actually next door.