Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Great for the price

Posted Oct 24, 2008
I enjoyed my stay at the hotel, though it was slightly quirky. Neighbourhood near Pigalle Metro is a little sketchy, but maybe that's what you want. Lots of restaurants, stores, nearby. Friendly staff except when I checked out, there was a different staff member who was annoyed with me because I didn't bring the remote control to the front desk with me when I checked out...like I would steal a crappy remote control! But, really, they were mostly really helpful with everything.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

OK But NOT 3-Star

Posted Sep 18, 2008
There were several hotel options in the neighborhood, and I chose Caravelle because it was listed here as 3-star. While there were no problems, and the staff was helpful and friendly, and spoke English, the hotel is hardly 3-star, at least by US standards. The room key is a conventional metal key, and has an enormous heavy fob on it so you have to check it at the desk when you go out. The room was OK, and had a working window, but next time I will choose another hotel, at least for the variety. Do not be fooled by the 3-star rating; it's what you would expect from a 2-star hotel in the US.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Not 3-Star at All

Posted Aug 20, 2008
Chose this hotel over nearby options because of the 3-star rating. That is a canard - this is not a 3-star hotel. Location is great, and the staff was friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Barcelona (from Canada)

Simple and clean but noisy

Posted Aug 15, 2008 on Hotels.com
If you are looking for a well located and relatively inexpensive stay in Paris, this hotel is not a bad option. The staff was friendly and helpful and the metro was just down the street. Now the bad...There is construction going on right in front of the hotel , thus most if not all rooms are facing this noisy mess that starts very early in the morning and thank god ends in the evening. Also something to keep note of is that in Paris no person other than those renting the room may enter the room...not even to go to the bathroom. I though this was excessive, but perhaps this is the French norm. Lastly, the nearby area where the hotel located is somewhat of a red light district i.e. prostitutes, strip joints adult toy shops etc... although in general seemed safe. Paris is a beautiful city so enjoy and take lots of pictures GW
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Solna

Bra val

Posted Aug 5, 2008 on Hotels.com
Hotellet ligger nära Metro och mataffär och inte alls i glädjekvarteren som vi befarade ett ögonblick. Sängarna var bra. Det enda på helgerna, om man har fönstret mot gatan som vi hade, är lite oväsen (prat) från kaféet och pizzerian.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Very disappointed

Posted Jun 1, 2008
I've stayed in so many Expedia hotels and been impressed. This one was terrible though. The lift had been out of action for months (the night desk man told me) after I was first told it had stopped working that day. I had to climb five flights of steep stairs to get to my room. The light in my room did not work and nor did the TV remote. Twice a day I reported these, twice a day I was promised action. Nothing ever happened. My room was tiny and poky. No kettle. The staff appear friendly but have no interest in putting things right. This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and I've stayed in many.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Mesa AZ

Close to Sacre Coeur, Pigalle

Posted Dec 19, 2007
Staff was cheerful, helpful, spoke English. Room was adequate but no drawer space to unload your suitcase into, so room is a little more crowded. No shower but a hand-held shower device, big tub. Breakfast available is standard French fare, juice, yogurt, really good coffee, croissant, rolls jam and butter. Seemed expensive for what we got, but you won't do better elsewhere. TV has one English station, CNN London. WiFi must be purchased separately, and I had problems I couldn't resolve because the company, SFR, is only available for about 10 hours and closed on Sunday. This is no fault of the hotel. In spite of the limitations, we would go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Not a bad hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2007
I must admit I had low expectations, but I did enjoy my time at this hotel. Not a bad location with friendly receptionists. Standard smallish French style rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Small but pleasant

Posted Jul 13, 2007
Not a lot of room in the room but friendly staff. Some light fixtures weren't working but everything was cleaned daily. The elevator is not for the claustrophobic(!)