Ratings based on 235 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel close to the Louvre

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: updated interior
Overall the hotel was fine for the money. The staff were very nice, the room we were in was average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A different experience

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The staff is the highlight of this hotel. They were warm and welcoming at all times and they handled all of our requests.
Location: The hotel is only about 2 blocks from the Louvre and 3 blocks from 2 different metro stations. Good restaurants and shops abound in the area.
Having little experience travelling in Europe in the last 20 years, I found a wide variety of places to stay available for my trip. The reviews of Hotel Crayon were very helpful and I thought I would give it a try. The hotel is a little ways off the beaten path and I am glad we took a cab there from the train station but quickly found my way around the area and had no trouble accessing the metro system from there. The hotel is situated on a small side street that is quiet except for some construction in the area that wasn't a problem since we stayed over the weekend. The lobby was tiny by US standards but the staff was incredibly welcoming and helpful. They handled every request instantly. The rest of the hotel was also very small, as are many in Europe, but very clean and well kept. My daughter and I barely fit in the elevator together and the hall and room were equally small but completely functional and very clean. I would have no problem giving my full recommendation to friends heading to Paris.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Great Hotel in Paris

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: I really enjoyed the art work that was in evidence everywhere. The ambiance. Breakfasts were also very adequate and saved time. Great location.
Cons: The only negative here is the size of everything. The rooms, halls, etc. are very small. They do really make the most of the space they have.
Location: The hotel is in an excellent location. It is close to the Louvre, the Bourse de Commerce, Les Halles, the Royal Palace, cafes, grocery store.
The Crayon by Elegancia was a real delight. The staff were all marvelous. They were extremely helpful in introducing me to the hotel and its services, giving information regarding the city, telling me about Bastille Day and what to expect regarding street closings, etc. They confirmed my transportation to the airport and printed my boarding pass. There was always someone available who used perfect English. I read French but my speaking skills are very limited so this was wonderful to have their assistance. There were numerous cafes nearby. The Louvre and many other museums were within walking distance. The size of the rooms would make it difficult for families. However, for someone traveling alone it is perfect.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't believe all the positive reviews

Posted Jul 7, 2014
nano seems to be the new term for everything and to describe the rooms here it would be accurate
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly environment and staff, great location

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Very good location and very friendly staff! Great rate and nice and unique rooms!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from warren, michigan

nice hotel, within walking distance

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: using American Tv stations
nice place to visit, I had a great time. The only problem I had was the tv stations were all in french
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Deb from Suquamish, Washington

Wonderful artistic hotel close to the Louvre

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Style, comfort, friendly staff, close to restaurants and Louvre
Cons: There was a slight unpleasant smell in the room with the breakfast and also in some of the landings after exiting the elevator.
Location: Paris, France near Louvre, park and many wonderful cafes and restaurants
We stayed on the 6th floor and enjoyed our stay very much. The room was small but is to be expected in Paris. The bed was super comfy and the shower was awesome with water pouring out from above your head as well as a removable shower head and enough room for two to shower together:) The hotel staff was wonderful, helpful and friendly. Our room was also quiet and we weren't disturbed at all and got a great night sleep. We also loved the honesty bar with cafe and croissants in the morning. We were walking distance from the Louvre and many other attractions were close enough to take the metro or a cab. We really enjoyed our stay and will come again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anthony/Pia from Brampton,ON

Great location and Room

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The bathroom size needs to be 4" wider.
We stayed at the Hotel Crayon on May 25 to 31/14, we had Room 204, the room size is small but we were not in it for long, the only complaint is the bathroom size, I would give this room a full 5 stars if the bath room was 10cm/4" wider. This would allow me to enter the shower without opening the sliding door. The location is absolutely perfect, we were able to walk from the hotel to the Eiffel Tower, Notre Dame, and the Champs Elysses in one afternoon. It is located 5 minutes to the Metro, the Louvre, and the Cafe's and Restaurant's around the area are all great. My wife and I went to the restaurant Les Relais d'Alsace - Taverne Karlsbräu every night for drinks and coffee, which was amazing, and they are open 24h. Again you can't go wrong with this hotel. Anthony/Pia
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel crayon

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Good location, small rooms, facilities cramped Staff poorly informed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bed for the night while on a business trip

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: People, décor, clean, happy, friendly, location
Cons: Either make the rooms bigger or find a way to may guests smaller
Friendly staff when I arrived and with perfect English. Everything in good order. My room was very small (smallest room I have ever stayed in) , not an issue for a one night business stop but had there been two in the room it would have been very tight. Nice (but again very small) bathroom with small sink and just a shower.