Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ben from Leyland, UK

Great location, needs work completing inside

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Location. Staff. Room size was good.
Cons: Bathroom facilities needing repair work. Restaurant work being completed. Could be hard work to get a taxi.
Location: Very near all the major tourist attractions such as Eiffel Tower, Arc de Triomphe, Sacre Coeur, Notre Dame.
The hotel was nice but there was renovation ongoing meaning that the restaurant was only open for breakfast. Very good location, only 30 min walk maximum to all major tourist locations such as Eiffel Tower, Arc de Triomphe. Hotel staff very nice and very good. Multi-lingual. Bathroom had issue with both showers where it would spray onto the floor but otherwise all very good in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in central Paris

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Fabulous hotel and staff - our room was fairly small but very clean and well equipped. We asked for the same room as the previous year and were given this. Great location for shopping and walking distance to the Louvre and the Opera House, Hope to stay again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, awful hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything in the hotel can be improved. Never again!
The room I was given, was unbearable due to the noise of building work next to it. It seemed that it was falling apart, there was no air conditioning and it was almost empty although they assured us it was full and therefore could not change/improve the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andrew from Bath, UK

A central hotel for visiting Paris !

Posted Dec 18, 2013
Pros: Convenient and hospitable.
Cons: Some upgrading already in progress.
Location: Close to Concorde and Madeleine metro stations. Ideal for walking everywhere and shopping expeditions(if you have just won the lottery !).
I have visited the hotel over the years for many of my stays - operas, museums and walking excursions. Very friendly staff and good value for such a good and safe position ! There has been quite a bit of work done to the rooms, and this is continuing - a bit of noise in the afternoons.
1 out of 5
by Anthony from California

Terrible stay at the Hotel de Castiglione

Posted Nov 23, 2013
Terrible experience from the begining to the end. This hotel is not worth 4 stars nor the price we paid for the room. Dirty rooms, broken fixtures and unhelpfull staff. Also, the 20 euros extra fee for breakfast is just a joke for the food you get. Stay away!
1 out of 5
Recommended
by SG

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Beth from Florida

Great location, location, location!

Posted Oct 17, 2013
Pros: The staff had a helpful attitude. The location was great and enabled us to walk every place we wanted to go. It appeared to be a very safe area.
Cons: Upgrade the power or replace mini fridges so they and AC work consistently.
Location: food market, pastry shop, notre dame, rue de rivoli, louvre, seine, saint Chappelle.
Everybody nice and tried to be helpful, however getting a bottle of wine opened for consumption in our room was difficult. The mini fridge in room did not always work. AC did not work on two out of six days. Medication that needed refrigeration was ruined because of language breakdown, but staff tried, it was not deliberate on their part. Room was clean, bathroom very accommodating, showers (two?) were wonderful after a long day.
1 out of 5
by AU from Pakistan

Terrible hotel, needs immediate restoration.

Posted Oct 11, 2013
Pros: Location is the only plus
Cons: Everything needs restoration
Location: On the most exclusive shopping street in Paris
I will not rely on Expedia anymore for booking hotels, I am moving elsewhere after this experience. This was a terrible hotel, needs restoration. Under no circumstances this was a 4 star hotel. The Ac was dripping water, hence stench in the room, bathroom had mold everywhere, beds were run down, limited tv Chanels (only French), carpet throughout the hotel wornout, terrible coffee for breakfast. When complained about this to the hotel, the response was "we have a very good location, you may pay more and go to a better hotel"
2 out of 5
by ohn from NJ

Disappointing

Posted Oct 10, 2013
Pros: Very little.
Cons: Get new carpeting - repair elevator - refurnish the room - start renovation at a later hour so as not to disturb the guests.
Location: Great location in the center of Paris within easy walking distanc eof the Lourve.
We had previously stayed there 15 years ago and at that time the Hotel was very good being centrally located in Paris and more than adequate in terms of comfort and cleanliness. Sad to say this time this was not the case. The Hotel had changed for the worse. It was run down and the wall-to-wall carpeting throughout the halls, the lobby and in our room was threadbare, filthy and in many places had completely worn trough to the floorboards. The furniture in our room was substandard being badly chipped, missing knobs on the drawers and was something that you would expect to find in a very cheap motel. The elevator did not work properly and the air conditioning was out in the entire hotel. Part of the hotel was under renovation and the noise from the construction started very early in the morning and would wake us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Buddy from NYC

Three star (not Four Star) in a Five Star location

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Pros: The excellent location and the free breakfast buffet and wi-fi connection
Cons: The hallway carpets, lights and the lobb decor!!
Location: Excellent location...high end shops, department stores (1 stop by Metro, could also walk if you want) very close to major tourist attractions.
We liked the excellent location of the Hotel, very central to major must see places in Paris, close to Metro, shopping and restaurants. The free breakfast buffet was a plus!!