Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth UK

Good value and good location

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: cleanliness and tea making facilities
Location: Restaurant Swann near by does excellent lung at a reasonable price. Same menu as the evening but much cheaper.
This hotel provided tea and coffee making facilities in the room, most unusual for France and very welcome The room itself was small but it was just a base for my daughter and I to explore Paris and it was close to the metro, which was very convenient.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Characterful hotel on outskirts of city

Posted Jul 4, 2014
The hotel was a long way from town and we were misled by the fact that it is in the Bastille area - it is actually 6 km from Bastille station. However there is a metro station right outside the hotel. There is also a lovely park with a lake a couple of minutes walk away. The hotel itself is charming and very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by anna from fargo nd

Best value, close to Metro

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: -clean rooms - friendly staff - quiet location - comfy beds - great value - safe - cute neighborhood
Location: See review.
Hotel de la Porte Doree is an exceptionally cozy place. The beds are extremely comfortable, the rooms are modern yet maintain charm and the staff is very friendly. The Porte Doree Metro is only a few steps from the hotel, making it easy to get anywhere in Paris. A delicious boulangerie across the street is perfect for breakfast, and there is a market on the street on Sunday. It's a really great location to call home after a busy day of sightseeing, and for the price, you cannot beat it. Our room had a view of the street and it really felt like we were having an authentic experience in a real Parisian neighborhood. Many families live there, and people were helpful and friendly. There is a church next door so don't be alarmed if you see groups of people congregating. You can hear the Metro but it didn't bother us. We felt safe our entire stay. Do learn some French as not all shop owners, servers, etc., speak English.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming Hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Location,friendliness of staff and general overall appeal
Cons: Perhaps bath could be taken out and shower only.. Bathroom really tiny
Location: Lovely park and restaurants in the atea
Good hotel within easy reach of the centre of Patis via metro
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carmie from USA

Yes!

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Location, attention to detail and overall neighborhood experience
Cons: The WIFI was spotty.
Pont Doree train station exit and you have arrived. The hotel is beautifully appointed with antiques, the rooms are clean and comfortable. The hot water kettle with tea and coffee for in room service is an added bonus. The hotel provides a book with the suggestions for the neighborhood and the best patissierie is across the street! The bathroom is very nice and the shower was perfect!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wendell

Pluses/minuses: attention to detail, poor sleep

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: Location Dedication to recycling/ecology Ipod clock/radio Umbrellas at the front door
Cons: The A.C. temp. could not be adjusted in the room, and the hotel was hot There are no hanging hooks anywhere in the room/bathroom
Location: Bois de Vincennes is a great green oasis in the middle of all the urban space. The Porte Doree Metro stop is right out front.
Cute and modern, but still very small rooms, and noisy. With the inability to adjust the room temperature, the choice was sirens and trucks with the windows open, or stuffy and hot with them shut. White noise machine and earplugs still were not enough. Nice touches like water and cookies only go so far if you don't sleep well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful room & neighborhood.

Posted May 21, 2014
Near Palias de la Porte Doree. Great bakery across street Hotel is environmentally conscious. Staff friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A charming hotel in the 12th

Posted May 4, 2014
Small hotel on ave Daumesnil. Elevator is tiny! Single room is small and so is the bathroom. But it met my basic need of a clean bed in a good neighborhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

City break

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Good location, easy access to metro, friendly staff.
Cons: Space around beds is very tight.
Good hotel, easy access to metro, friendly staff, clean hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Team Buckle from London

Great place to stay

Posted Jan 8, 2014
On arrival we were greeted by a lovely lady who was so helpful. We were early so we left our bags at hotel and went into the centre for some lunch. Hotel looks like it has had a refurb with a modern twist. comfy bed and all the staff are super friendly. it also is located in a lovely area with patisseries restaurants and a McDonald's across the road. Free wifi helped us find places and look up stuff. Highly recommended place to stay