Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

There are better places to stay on the Isle!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The hotel is centrally located and it is possible to walk to most of the sights in the city.
We have stayed in Paris 6 or 7 times, including stays at other hotels on the Isle St. Louis. This was our first stay at Hotel de Lutece and we likely won't go back. Small rooms are to be expected in Paris, but this one was ridiculous! The double bed was pushed into a corner so that the person wedged up against the wall either had to ask their partner to get up or crawl on their hands and knees to get out of the bed to use the washroom in the night. The bathroom was so small that you couldn't sit straight on the toilet without your knees hitting a wall. For the room rates charged, that simply is unacceptable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Friendly, helpful, English speaking staff

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff. Clean. Convenient location for sightseeing.
Cons: nothing
Location: Little supermarket, shops for souveneirs and places to eat are on your door step. Le marais district, Notre Dame and other wonderful places are close
You could not wish for a better, central location. Rooms were on the smaller side but immaculately clean. It was very quiet - we achieved an excellent sleep each of the three nights. The lift is small but that is to be expected in Paris and you can take the stairs if you are claustrophobic! (like me)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A from Orlando,FL

Perfect Ile St Louis location.

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: We loved it! The staff couldn't have been more accommodating, gracious, helpful. Rooms small as we expected, but very comfortable. We loved it!
Location: Location the best. Such a peaceful island to return to after long hectic days on our feet! Especially liked L'Orangerie restaurant. Ice cream the best
Wonderful, warm, gracious introduction to Paris. Charm every place you look and visit on Ile St Louis. Perfect!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Louise from Manchester

Lovely location stone's throw from Notre Dame.

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Quiet location with good quality restaurants .Fairly easy walk to several Metro stops so could get to Gare du Nord on one tram.
Cons: Room was small for price but guess you are paying for location
Location: Very near Notre Dame, boat trips on Seine and short walk to Latin Quarters. Interesting shops in street with great ice cream at Berthillon.
First trip to Paris in 30 years. Loved location on Ile St Louis. Easy walk to Notre Dame on Ile de le Cite so could arrive early to avoid crowds. Good selection of bars and restaurants but not a cheap location so be prepared to pay a lot for food and drink.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dr Phil from Milan

Great location, friendly staff.

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: The bed was quite small and hard. I am not a tall person (173cm) and my feet hung over the edge. Bigger, softer bed would be good.
Location: It is Paris; if you can't find something to do, go home.
We stayed on the top floor, level 6. The room looked out over the rooftops of Paris. It was a cosy room; not very spacious, but comfortable enough for sleeping and showering etc. The bathroom was fine; loads of hot water and plenty of room. The cost was a little pricey; that was my choice. The location and facilities are fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Adrian from Surrey England

Home away from home In Paris

Posted Nov 8, 2013
Pros: This is a very professional caring family run hotel. They are experts in taking care of you
Cons: Not their fault but I would have loved to stop the building work in the next door property. The staff did everything they could to offset the problem
Location: Ille de St Louis is such a great place to stay in Paris there you are in the centre of this bustling city and you are on an oasis of calm
When you arrive at hotel Lutece you know you are welcome. The staff there cannot do enough for you and it is so genuine. I used to own and run a hotel so I have a very critical eye and my 5 nights stay was pure joy. The family have run this hotel for 40 years and many of the staff have been there for over 10 years. The character of the property and the staff is reflected in the guests, they were all my kind of people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jim from West Chester

Great location: Where Paris started

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: Location in the middle of the island and the amount of space to store things. The staff was very helpful and went out of there way to find information
Cons: The elevator is the smalllest I have ever seen it will hold 2 people plus 1 suitcase. So when you are arriving or leaving it is a 2 ride trip.
Location: Very close to Notre Dame and to the Left Bank.Take the walking tour around the island. Use the resturants on the island they are great.
We had not stayed on the island where Paris started before and found it to be charming and worth staying at at least once. You have enough resturants that you never have to leave the island for any meal, We have been to Paris 35 times and have never stayed at this location before and will probably say here sometime again
3 out of 5
Recommended
by M from New York

Fabulous location; mediocre rooms

Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
The location on Ile St. Louis is picture perfect and as centrally located as you can get in Paris. A great spot to head out in any direction you'd like on foot. The hotel itself is an old building. The lobby is reasonable but the rooms are small, minimally furnished with medocre items and it shows its age in details like the paint and occasional stains on the carpet. The front rooms are particulary small with tiny twin beds and are noisy due to the street and nearby rooms and the light construction of the building interiors. The back rooms are in a separate section and have minimal light and a 'railroad' shape are quiet.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Room

Posted Jul 9, 2013
Pros: Reception Area
Cons: The Room
Location: Great
We were given room 115 on our honeymoon which I am guessing due to our late arrival in the day was the only room left. This room was accessed through a small private hallway and as soon as the door to this opened we could immediately smell something was not right, the room was damp and had a mold like smell to it. We opened the window to let in some fresh air which was not possible as the kitchen must be below and the room filled with a smell of frying oil which was very unpleasant. The room should have been a double and although the room did have a double bed in this was against the wall and boxed in by a chest of drawers meaning my wife had to climb over me to get out of bed in the night. The reception area of the hotel and staff were very nice but they did not seem surprised by our complaint and we were booked in for 3 nights but could only stay the one due to how bad the room was. I would avoid this hotel as believe there are other rooms like this which I have to say are worse than many hostels I have stayed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Boutique style hotel full of character and charm

Posted May 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Loved this gem of a hotel. Breakfast was abundant and delicious. Hotel staff very courteous and knowledgable. Close to Notre Dame and within walking distance of St Germaine and Le Marais. Look forward to our next visit!