Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Hotel is close to Gard de Nord train station.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The hotel location was convenient to the Gare de Nord train station to return the hired car there and catch the Euro Star to London.
Cons: Definately to employ better calibre staff at the reception who can assist with simple questions and fix the lift which seems to be an ongoing problem.
Location: Convenient to Gare De Nord train station.
Our one night stay at the hotel was unpleasant. We had to park our hired car overnight and the hotel staff could not provide clear instructions of where to park in the nearest parking station. The lift stopped working after 7 pm that night and was still not working at 8.30 am when we left and the hotel staff were making no attempt to rectify the situation particularly when guests have luggage to carry up and down the stairs and the lift when working only stops at each alternate floor. In the morning when we asked for bath towels as the room only had hand towels for use, the hotel staff were not obliging to provide the bath towels. Also the surrounding area near the hotel is seedy and rough.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pa

This place sucks

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Crappy breakfast, grim old place, dirty hallways, do not go there. It is going to RUIN your Paris experience
2 out of 5
by ahyan from uk

disappointing hotel

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Cons: everything
stayed at the hotel for 1 night..no air conditioning...curtain was broken...floor not clean..when requested for hot water when checked in,told to be wait..then, we have to heat the water in the microwave ourselves for baby's milk when we came back after 11pm..asked for another payment when checked out...
2 out of 5
by Ben from Records

Booking issues

Posted May 28, 2014
Turned up to find they had taken it upon themselves to turn my 2 rooms into a 1 room booking. And they could do nothing about it. Not cool. Not cool at all.
3 out of 5
by Phil from Toronto, ON

Hard to review...hotel full...sent to another!

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Not much...reception was in pure panic, but was treated OK...it was the hotel's mistake.
Cons: The dog is still lying in the lobby!
It is hard to review this hotel, since when I arrived, they had no room for me! I was sent to another hotel a few blocks away....Hotel des Voyageurs. This hotel had an even better location, and from what I saw at Hotel du Brabant, was a bit nicer. Was right across the street from Gare L'Est. Reception could only speak French...rooms very clean and quiet (I was on the inside court).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sarah from Washington, DC

Safe but shabby budget hotel close to transport

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Safe area (across from 4 star hotel and a school.) Good value for location. Able to get room with a private bath. 5 min walk to nice bar "Les Animals"
Cons: Only got one full size towel/day (two hand towels.) Must reserve for breakfast the day before. Bathroom wall didn't extend to ceiling! No WiFi in room
Location: Very close to three metro stations/major train stations. Walking distance to the Canals. Farmers' market, grocery store, and bakery within one block.
We reserved this hotel due to proximity to Gare de l'Est where we arrived (and Gare du Nord where we departed via RER to CDG airport) and on price. For price and location near several transit hubs, a decent value. It was definitely a budget location though, a typical slightly shabby Parisian non-chain, low-priced hotel. If you have stayed in one before, you won't be surprised by the quality here. While everything was clean, sheets and towels were clearly well-worn, and there was virtually no soundproofing. The private bathroom in our room wasn't fully separated from the bedroom: wall didn't go all the way to ceiling! The owners' German Shepherd hung out by the front desk. He never gave us any problems, but clearly disliked the night desk man and growled at him the entire time we interacted any evening--and was muzzled the next morning. While we were told the front desk/lobby was "24 hours," when we tried to sit in the lobby when we returned late one evening so we could use the wifi (only accessible in the lobby) we were asked if we could please go up to our rooms because "it's late." We never had the breakfast (which was an additional charge on top of room fee) because it wasn't a great value for the (admittedly typical) French hotel meal of bread, juice, and coffee. Instead we paid less to get provisions from the bakery and the Monop' grocery store at the end of the block and were easily able to eat that in common breakfast room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 29, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Leanne from London

location location location!

Posted Nov 29, 2013
Pros: Location, friendly staff services.
Cons: Maybe the big dog can keep away as it is quite scary...
My friend and I booked this hotel as we were on budget. Surprisingly, we love this hotel and agreed that we should book this hotel going forward. The room was quite spacious (we have been to Paris several times and alot of room was tiny!) and the shower room was new and clean. The bed was comfortable. The most important is that the hotel is close to Gare Du Nord train station and we basically walked around the Paris for 2 days of staying. When we checked out, the staff kindly offered us if we would like to leave our suitcase in the hotel. Though we didn't need it, we were quite pleased with their friendliness.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dan from reston, Va

Located Walking Distance from Gare Du Nord

Posted Sep 27, 2013
Pros: Close to train station, and seemed like a safe area too.
Cons: everything, starting with breakfast, they charge but is not worth the price for a piece of bread and coffee.
If your goal is to just spend the night you can get by, as for the price that is what you get. Nothing fancy, old furniture, tiny elevator, that stops between floors, so count on lugging your luggage up or down the stairs even if you use the elevator. Also there was no heat in the room. They said heat doesn't start until 3 more weeks and the night temp was 45 Degrees F.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Rooms were OK but 4 Euros for a cup of coffee too steep Personnal were not knowledgable about the area. The day shift women was not at all helpfull and quite arogant