Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Buster from Illinois

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: Quiet, good value, great location, friendly staff. I know only a few words of French but communication in English was no problem.
Cons: There was some confusion at checkout as their records evidently did not show that I had payed in advance; fortunately I had the confirmation email
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from New Mexico

In the heart of the Latin Quarter.

Posted Oct 6, 2013
Pros: Location and a private bath with shower.
Cons: The smell.
Location: The Louver, The Musee d'Orsay & Notre Dame
If you are looking for a deluxe 5 star hotel, keep looking because this place ain't it. This is a classic French hotel. Small, no elevator, narrow staircase and postage stamp rooms. And the place has a certain odor to it, but you get use to it. However, it's blocks from the Louvre, the Musee d'Orsay and Notre Dame plus there is a main line Metro station within a reasonable walking distance. It's quaint and charming and on a nice quiet little street with several small bistros and a great bakery, plus a money exchange at the end of the block. The most important thing is it has a private restroom, sure it's only 4 feet wide but it's your own shower, the size of a phone booth by the way. This is a great asset for the location. So, if you are willing to haul your suitcase up and down a flight of stairs, that seem to lean to the north, and are willing to ignore the smell coming from the ventilator shaft, and the only window opening into the ventilator shaft, and no air conditioning, and are planning on spending your days running around Paris and just coming back to sleep at night, then this is the hotel for you. If ever I get back to Paris I will be booking with them again. BTW I had trouble with the phone and the guy at the front desk, a small little stand in the middle of the front hall by the way, was more than happy to help me get through.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

excellent location; nice simple small hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice. No elevator may be a problem for some.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, but watch the stairs!

Posted Sep 24, 2013
We were allocated the last room on the very top floor.... no elevators!! Upon reaching the room we were horrified at the site... they don't advertise that room on websites! Completely unsatisfactory for what you pay for. We complained to the manger/owner and whilst we had to stay in the room for 1 night, he did accommodate us in a room on the 1st floor for the remainder of our stay. This was a room that is advertised online and so much better. So, watch the stairs and room 49!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Guelph, Ontario

Stay off the street side.

Posted Jun 23, 2013
Pros: location and ease of entry, etc.
Cons: Noise.
Location: Perfect, close to Notre Dame, Louvre, D'Orsay, Luxemburg Gardens and lots of great cafe's.
Tired, old place in a great location for walking downtown Paris and the sights. It worked well for us. Noisy on the street side as the angle of the street creates a short cut for cabs all night long.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by JJ from USA

No Elevator but great location

Posted Jun 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Note that there is NO elevator at this property. My room was on the 5th french floor [which is a US 6th floor]. Maneuvering my small pilot suitcase on the winding narrow staircase after a 12 hour flight was awful at best. It also made me never want to return to the hotel even to change my clothes or grab an umbrella. Indeed, I only returned at night, as I couldn't bear scaling for Mount Everest. So I bought another umbrella instead. The owner of the hotel is very unfriendly [and I used to live in the same Paris neighborhood and speak fluent French]. He reminded me of the French circa 1975 with a typical air of superiority; bad karma for an innkeeper. Upon checkout, he insisted he run my credit card saying I hadn't yet paid. Fortunately, I somehow managed to have on me my receipt from Hotels.com which reflected full payment. Not good. That said, the location was superb and the rest of the staff were kind, helpful and friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by JJ from USA

Great location

Posted Jun 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Note that there is NO elevator at this property. My room was on the 5th french floor [which is a US 6th floor]. Maneuvering my small pilot suitcase on the winding narrow staircase after a 12 hour flight was awful at best. It also made me never want to return to the hotel even to change my clothes or grab an umbrella. Indeed, I only returned at night, as I couldn't bear scaling for Mount Everest. So I bought another umbrella instead. The owner of the hotel is very unfriendly [and I used to live in the same Paris neighborhood and speak fluent French]. He reminded me of the French circa 1975 with a typical air of superiority; bad karma for an innkeeper. Upon checkout, he insisted he run my credit card saying I hadn't yet paid. Fortunately, I somehow managed to have on me my receipt from Hotels.com which reflected full payment. Not good. That said, the location was superb and the rest of the staff were kind, helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location in St Germain with great staff!

Posted Jun 4, 2013
Nothing fancy but the location is good and the staff is very accommodating and speaks great English.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MapleLeaf from London, UK

Good location, fine as a base for days out in town

Posted May 29, 2013
Pros: Location, cleanliness, traditional character
Cons: Wall-to-wall carpet, fake fur blanket, no street view from inner rooms
Location: Handy for metro, comfortable walking distance to other central sites, choice of local restaurants, VERY quiet outside shop hours
This is a classic, affordable Parisian hotel of the old school (small rooms, steep stairs, immaculate sheets, mismatched towels, shabby-chic furniture) with some critical improvements on the previous model (good mattress, tiny but freshly tiled and fitted bathroom, plenty of hot water, TV with remote control, phone). The fake-fur bedspread / blanket was bit creepy, but certainly warm. The rooms facing the deep courtyard/lightwell are amply provided with windows, it not with sunshine. There are several restaurants and bistros on this very street, and more within a few minutes' walk on Saint-Germain-des-Prés, but for anyone from a 24-hour city, it's astonishingly quiet from early evening until late morning (i.e. not a lot by way of handy corner shops). However, for anyone who likes walking the city, it's not that far to the fleshpots of Saint-Michel, or indeed any point in the central core, which makes for ideal tourism and the opportunity to pop back to the room during a busy day. The very first receptionist was extremely helpful, taking a message and making a call on my behalf, and all his colleagues were attentive and friendly. This isn't the greatest hotel you'll ever use, but it's well located and perfectly comfortable if you just need a convenient base within easy reach of anywhere else in central Paris.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Amanda from Napa, CA

Great for easy going solo travelers and couple's

Posted Sep 26, 2012
Pros: Friendly staff; mostly great furnishings; comfy beds! Good wireless connection, Good water pressure in showers, room was always spotless
Cons: walls seemed thin (thats what you get with an old building though); small, steep stairs
Location: Easy access to metro; Great little boulangerie across the street and three doors down; Beautiful shops (you're in the fashion district)
I had originally planed on staying for 5 days and booked a Standard Room, and later decided to add on a day at the beginning of my trip. There were no Standard rooms left, so I went with a Single room. I arrived right around check-in time and was able to get right into my room. I will admit here, that when I first walked in I thought of Whoopi Goldberg's room from Sister Act. This room was SMALL and very basic, and looked like it had never been updated. The bathroom was also small and took some acrobatics climbing in and out of the shower (over the toilet). However the bed was extremely comfy and I had no problems sleeping that night. The next day I was moved into my Standard room that contained a full/queen size bed, as opposed to the double I booked (no complaints here!) This room was large, freshly renovated and amazing. The bathroom absolutely blew me away! It had top of the line amenities and came with a tub, rather than a shower, which took some getting used to. (They did provide a small soap bar and packet of shampoo, but just bring your own). The stairs are as steep as everyone implies. If you have multiple bags, this could be a problem (especially when leaving with full suitcases) and the walls are pretty thin. Bring ear plugs just in case. But the beds were comfy, the staff extremely friendly and nice and really just a perfect area to stay in. St. Sulpice is the closest station, and it's easy to get to any major attractions. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.