Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow, UK

Nice cheap hotel, dodgey neighbourhood!!

Posted Oct 9, 2011
I had went for this hotel through secret saver hotel, never am i doing that again. Saw the pics and really BAD reviews of the hotel got me worried. Got to the hotel, reception looked tiny, the lobby was not even a proper lobby in which you can ONLY use wifi there. After having read the reviews, my experience didn't turn out too bad with this hotel: - the showerhead worked unlike for some other travellers - there were NO bed bugs - location was perfect as it was 30 secs walk from the metro - room was cleaned and towels were changed everyday - The staff were ok friendly The only negatives was that: - Neighbourhood looked TERRIBLY DODGEY at night (looked like the ghetto/bronx) - Our room was TINY for a double bedroom Overall the hotel wasn't too bad, BUT 3 star is just over-rating the hotel, maximum i would give it 1 1/2 to 2 stars. I will not go back to that hotel again, and to ask travellers to avoid this hotel as the neighbourhood itself doesn't look safe!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Not bad but not Great

Posted Sep 26, 2011 on Hotels.com
The hotel was not so great but the staff was very nice and the location was very convenient to the metro. Kind of a scary neighborhood. Not quite worth the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Bathroom needs to be redone

Posted Jun 29, 2011 on Hotels.com
Hotel was a bit crappy but in line with the quality of what Paris offers at that price-point. The reason I would recommend avoiding it is the bathroom. Simply unfit for use. Find another hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix,AZ

Garden Opera Disappoints

Posted Jun 27, 2011
This was our 11th trip to Paris and we used to live in Europe so we are accustomed to small hotel rooms. We are also familiar with the hotel rating system. This was no 3 star hotel. The only positive things we can say about the hotel was that the linens were clean and the staff was friendly. The shower head did not work. The shower door would not close completely. The bathroom was too small for a larger person. I am 5 foot 6 inches and of small stature and I had problems navigating in the bathroom. The neighborhood is questionable at best. You certainly would not want to be returning to the hotel in the dark. I would definitely recommend that this hotel be rated lower and that Expedia customers avoid it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Singapore

I will come back to this hotel again

Posted Jun 27, 2011
My family and I really enjoyed our 3 nights' stay in this hotel which is just a minute walk from the nearby metro station. It's conveniently located in an area with restaurants, cafes, shops and buget supermarket 'Monoprix'. The friendly hotel staff speaks english well and was very attentive. Our check in to the hotel at 1pm was very smooth without any hassel. The room was surprisingly clean, comfortable and quiet. The air-con and TV worked pretty well too. The toilet was clean except that the shower was not strong enough. We will certainly love to go back to this hotel again. Thank you to all the staffs in Hotel Garden Plaza for making our stay in Paris a memorable and a pleasant one. Merci! Singapore 27-Jun-2011
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

You can definitely find better the same amount

Posted Apr 3, 2011
This is the first time I have tried the option where Expedia offers a deal for a hotel you would know until after you have taken the deal. I will definitely no try that again as what I got for the special price was definitely not worth the deal. The hotel was just really awful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Hotel Garden Opera- Decent hotel in a ghetto

Posted Mar 28, 2011 on Hotels.com
The Hotel Garden Opera was a great deal, everything that was listed on here was correct, and for the price it is a great place to rest your head. The only issue was the location of the hotel. It was indeed within walking distance of some of the big attractions in Paris, but it was most defiantly in the GHETTO! If I had been staying there alone then I would not have had any issue walking through the area, but walking out of the hotel at night with my wife and mother into a crowd of "Professional Ladies", and hood rats was not quite what I had expected. If you stay here you will be calling a cab to get in and out, so be prepared for that.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles CA

Great location very small rooms

Posted Jan 9, 2008
clean and helpful staff. small rooms and no hot water in the morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Mannheim, Germany

Fun Small Hotel

Posted Dec 19, 2007
First of all, if you want to complain about this hotel, you can find a reason. However, for what I wanted the hotel/price/location was perfect. It served as an excellent crash pad during a couple days of fast-paced sightseeing. The room was smaller than many other European hotels I've seen, but the bed was comfortable and I slept well after all that walking. Be aware that "large" guests may find it difficult or impossible to navigate the bathroom which was about 3x5 feet. The elevator only fits 2 people with luggage. The immediate area is filled with hair salons, bars, and wig shops -- quite a sight on Saturday night when they are PACKED. The room was made up daily, and it's easy to find breakfast cheap on the street. Turn left when you leave the hotel and go to the bar located 50 feet down the sidewalk. The bartender is really cool, the Stella Artois is cheap, and the music and crowd were perfect.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Convenient location, the street it is on is not very appealing

Posted Jun 27, 2007
The hotel staff is very friendly and communicate well in English. The room and bathroom are small but OK for a single person. I was there for a week during mid June and the room was uncomfortably warm some days due the lack of air conditioning. The metro and 2 train stations (Gare du Nord and Gare d'Est) are within walking distance. There are several very good restaurants close by. If you like to walk, you will be able to get to many of the sights without taking public transportation.