Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from sheffield

Very good, clean small hotel in good location

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable and friendly staff
Cons: Can't think of anything, even the service before arrival was good. Only downside is another good review might limit the availability for next time!
Location: Good location with metro hub republique only 5-10mins walk down the canal
Very happy with the hotel and the location. We had a great stay and all the staff are really friendly and very helpful. Would definitely recommend the hotel and would return again to explore the canal area further, as we tended to hit the main tourist sites. Thanks for a great stay. Matt and Laura Also the smarty phone was ace!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Niles from Lyme, NH

Very comfortable and close to Metro stations (5min

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Free wifi, significant free amenities other hotels charge for, staff was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: None.
Location: 5 minutes from the Metro (Jacques Bonsergent). Many, many good restaurants nearby (well, it's Paris).
My family and I felt very welcomed here, almost as if we were family. The staff were very helpful, cheerful and friendly (basically they were almost every point of the Boy Scout Law). We had forgotten a power adaptor for our electronic portables, and they had one on hand. They also a free-to-use iPad with the room, and a 5 Euro/day phone for Paris. Beverages in the mini-bar (beer and carbonated beverages) were free, as well. All in all, very thoughtful ideas. The room was beautiful and looked out onto the street. Road noise could have been a problem, but ear-plugs were also supplied in the bathroom. Once again, very thoughtful. Breakfast was also included, and was more than sufficient and quite tasty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice small boutique with good vibe, helpful staff. Was there one night but looks like it's next to a fun zone that will be noisy at nights along the canal. Breakfast was great and included.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by DrewP from Melbourne, Australia

A beautiful designer retreat

Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is beautifully decorated, light and airy. It is incredibly clean and the staff are the friendliest and most helpful I have ever come across in France in my more than a dozen visits to the French capital. The area around Canal St Martin in the 10eme is very cool and chic. The French call it "bobo" - bourgeois bohemian - and it is a good fit for the hip area the hotel is in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by McLernon from Fremantle, Australia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small and perfectly formed

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Had a lovely stay in Paris in this hotel. Rooms are small, but that's a given in Paris, and have only rated comfort at 4 because the bed was a bit squishy in the middle and we kept rolling into each other - other than that, it was all high-quality, thoughtful and above and beyond standard. Great breakfast, nice glass of wine in the evening, free minibar with some nice things in, excellent shower and towels etc, soft good-quality bedding, and very friendly and helpful staff. Very nice location right on the canal with some great bars and restaurants around, and only 10 mins walk to Place de la Republique with about 5 metro lines and the Marais only another 5 mins walk. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bikeeandy from Dunfermline

Great stay

Posted Jul 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very pleasant stay. Hotel in a lively location, away from the main tourist areas. Room not very big, not much space around the bed. The included breakfast was pretty decent. Nice to have the included mini-bar too. Unfortunately the phone in the room was broken, so didn't get a chance to make use of the free worldwide phone calls. Staff very good, all pleasant and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Iriseyes from US

Wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Posted May 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Outstanding customer service rivals if not surpasses that of big luxury hotels. My stay was six nights. Close to metro. Free long distance phone calls, breakfast included as well as wine hour in the evening. Free use of iPad and free wifi. Bed very comfortable. Nice size bathroom. Good restaurants nearby. Don't pass up staying at this wonderful boutique hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jenna

An Perfect Week

Posted Feb 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
I've been to Paris before,but had never been in charge of making arrangements. I was looking for a small, modern, affordable, non-kitchy hotel in an interesting neighborhood. Le Citizen was all of that. In fact, largely due to the wonderful staff, this hotel far exceeded our expectations.The staff helped me make dinner reservations for several chic eateries before I arrived. They advised us (when asked) while we were there and were willing and generous about researching on our behalf. There was breakfast each morning (long hours 7:30-11.... great if you've got jetlag or sleep in) which was made as we requested it. The room itself was small... we may have has the smallest in the hotel (Room 5), but it was bright, and clean, and very comfortable. We had a pretty view of the canal (all the rooms do). I would definitely return. Many thanks to Laure, Patrick and John (at the front desk and via email) in particular.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Pbox

Good hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great hotel but room too small, a bit expensive.