Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Disgusted from New York

A COMPLETE DISAPPOINTMENT A TO Z

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Pros: Only the location
Cons: Everything.....in particular...the night clerk. He was the genius that I made the request for the wake up call and taxi.
I recently had the misfortune of choosing to stay at the Louvre Montana. Not only wasn't it worthy of its four star rating, the service was abysmal. Upon arrival, we were told our room was ready...however, we reserved twin beds but were given a room with a double.....I for one do not like sharing a double bed with my adult daughter. Had we chosen to wait an hour, they said they would rectify the issue. They did offer to hold our bags, but we did want to freshen up before heading out, so that was not an option. We were stuck with the double. It was a tiny, drab, depressing space.... and quite ugly, for lack of a less candid phrase. The furniture was cheap and had fake drawers. The carpet looked matted and dirty....perhaps it was just the color they chose. OK...this is my opinion. Now the hard cold facts.....There was no inside lock on the door. It had fallen off. We could lock the room when we went out BUT IT REMAINED UNLOCKED ALL NIGHT WHILE WE SLEPT. HOW UNSAFE. We requested a wake-up call, so that we might catch our flight home. NO ONE EVER CALLED. We requested a taxi for 8 AM....NONE WAS EVER CALLED. It was only after I called downstairs to remind them they had any inkling that we were in need of a cab. Upon departure, I requested a receipt, as they had an imprint of my credit card AND THEY DID NOT WANT TO GIVE ME ONE. Only after I insisted, one was provided.......so if you want 4 star prices for 1 star service and decor....check right in. I for one would like a refund
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jeff from pawleys island,sc

If the Louvre is on your list, then stay here

Posted Dec 19, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Not much at all
Just a great place to stay, close to louvre (2 blocks) and metro, as well as restaurants and shopping. Staff is amazing, very accommodating and most spoke decent English which was a great help. The room we had (classic of standard) was suitable for us, not very big but clean and comfy with an updated very nice bathroom.
Comment from
Jan 13, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comment about your stay. Specially about our staff who is always here to make you feel home and about our rooms. Looking forward to welcome you again at Hotel Louvre Montana. Best regards. Sylvain PLANELLES.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sarah0108 from San Diego, CA

Great All Around

Posted Dec 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
We picked the Hotel Louvre Montana based on its location and I have to say we were still shocked by how well situated it is! Just off Rue di Rivoli and across from Tuileries Gardens, the hotel is easy access to everything we wanted in Paris. We took the metro from Gare du Nord to Tuileries and only had to walk across the street to the hotel. To get to the Eiffel Tower it's a lovely walk across the park (or in front of the Louvre) to the metro station at the Musee d'Orsay. We even took advantage of the Louvre's late hours on Wednesday because we were only a five minute walk back to the hotel afterwards. The staff at the hotel were wonderful and recognized us on only the second day. The bed was soooooo comfortable. The pillows were just right - not too flat, too firm, too soft, too squishy, or bumpy like a lot of hotels. Also go down the street to Auberge du St. Roch for dinner. The side of beef is expensive but delicious.
Comment from
Jan 13, 2014
Dear Guest, We thank you about your comment and we are pleased to see how you enjoyed your stay and the location that is just perfect. Looking forward to maybe welcome you again at Hotel Louvre Montana. Best regards. Sylvain PLANELLES - Manager
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Debbie from Lancaster

Never felt the need to review before, but...

Posted Dec 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel in great location. However, paid the same rate for 2 rooms, for myself and my mother in law. We arrived an hour early and were kindly allowed to have the keys to one room. I made that my mother in laws room and simply left my bags in her room to then transfer to mine later. Arriving back in the evening I went to my room on the floor above. It was the most awful room I have ever stayed in...at £125 for the privilege. Not particularly the size...but the decor which was so dark and oppressive. It was also poorly maintained and I took a lot of photos. Wallpaper ripping, chips on the tables, bathroom floor edging coming away, curtain falling off and so on. Just awful. I complained to the man at reception who told me that my mother in laws room had been upgraded, but not mine! I was apparently getting what I had paid for. What a shame this hadn't been explained to me on arrival.I was offered another room for the 2nd evening which was lovely.Just lack of communication here. I appreciate rooms can be small and we are aware of that, but the room I first stayed in was very badly maintained.The breakfast was wonderful and location perfect for what we wanted to see in Paris.
Comment from
Jan 2, 2014
Dear Debbie, Thank you for taking the time to write a commentary on Hotels.com about your stay at Louvre Montana. We are really sorry to know that your stay wasn’t meeting with your expectation. Our classic rooms are situated on the court yard, but we have also Superior and Deluxe Rooms that are situated on the street. As per the front desk staff you reserved a Classic room, and because we was fully booked and you reserved 2 rooms we decided to offer you a free upgrade for one of two rooms. Your first night it was possible to give you another room, but once we had availability we change you the room. We are really sorry for the inconvenient, but you have to understand that in center of Paris the rooms are small and our hotel is situated in a historical area so we cannot change more. We hope to welcome you again and to give you the possibility to discover another room category from our Cosy, Superior and Deluxe room. Don’t hesitate to contact us! Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2013
Great central location. Lovely quaint features with real French feel. Rooms can be a little small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rich from midwest

In the heart of Paris

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Pros: Minutes to Louvre/ musee d'orcy/L'orangerie/ 2 stops from Notre Dame de Paris and St Chappele. Walk to opera du garner/ comedie francais.
Cons: The towels were thin
Location: See above.
Stayed here 10'years ago when it was a 3 star hotel. Since renovation it added a star. Smallish but very comfortable room with excellent bed. Large clean bathroom. Staff very helpful and speaks several languages. 3 minutes from Metro stop and Tuilleries garden at end of street. Parisvision tours next street over. They do every tour you might want.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great location; great room

Posted Oct 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Paris was the last leg of our European stay, so we had grown used to small, cramped rooms. Imagine our surprise when we arrived at Hotel Louvre Montana and found the room to be spacious and beautiful! The concierge staff was courteous and helpful, and the location to many of Paris' major tourist destinations was convenient. Our only two tiny complaints were that a) the temperature in the shower was very much affected by whether someone else in the hotel happened to be flushing their toilet and b) compared to our other hotel stays, the breakfast pricing was high for what you actually got. Other than that, this place was tops, and I'd highly recommend it to anyone!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Thefrizz from Singapore

Tiny Tiny Room but excellent service and location

Posted Oct 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
we got the tiniest room on the 6th floor which was literally my 6ft2 husband lengthwise. Other than that, the hotel staff were excellent and very attentive to details. Allowed us a late checkout and were helpful in providing directions to far off places as well as recommendations on good restaurants in the vicinity. Location was very central as well , near a Metro station and near a superb café called Angelina's which is a must try. Other than that, my advice is to not get the standard room and pay a bit more for a bigger room especially for travellers whom are not tiny sized Parisians!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Patricia from Ireland

Check details

Posted Oct 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Check if breakfast is included or not. We were disappointed that it was not.